Deputy Minister

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Hélène Laurendeau — Deputy Minister

Ms. Hélène Laurendeau was appointed Deputy Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada on April 4th, 2016.

Prior to her appointment as Deputy Minister, Ms. Laurendeau served as Associate Deputy Minister for the department, starting in December 2013.

In early 1991, Ms. Laurendeau joined the Public Service with the Department of Justice. She served as Legal Counsel and Senior Legal Counsel for four federal organizations. From 1999 until mid-2011, she held three different senior executive positions at the Treasury Board Secretariat, notably responsible for Labour Relations and Risk Management in Human Resources.

From September 2003 to October 2004, Ms. Laurendeau held the position of Special Advisor to the Clerk of the Privy Council on Cabinet confidences.

Most recently, she served as Senior Vice-President, Policy Branch, of the Public Service Commission of Canada. Her responsibilities there included delegation and accountability, political activities and non-partisanship and appointment policies.

Ms. Laurendeau graduated from the University of Ottawa in 1982 with a B.A. in Arts (Communication) and with a Law degree in 1985. She was called to the Québec Bar in 1986. Ms. Laurendeau practiced administrative, labour relations and human rights law in the private sector from 1986 to 1991.

Raised in the region of Lanaudière, Québec, but with deep roots in the Bas-Saint-Laurent region, Ms. Laurendeau completed her high school studies at Collège de l’Assomption. She is the proud mother of two dynamic young adults.


Diane Lafleur – Associate Deputy Minister

Diane Lafleur was appointed Associate Deputy Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada on May 9, 2016.

Prior to being appointed Associate Deputy Minister of INAC, Ms. Lafleur had served as Assistant Deputy Minister of Federal-Provincial Fiscal Relations and Social Policy at Finance Canada since 2013.

Ms. Lafleur joined the public service in 1997, working at Finance Canada, and has held several different positions leading up to her recent appointment to INAC.

Ms. Lafleur obtained a Bachelor of Arts in International Politics and Economics from Middlebury College. She then went on to complete a Master of Arts in Economics and Canadian Studies at the John Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies.

Date modified:

Sous-ministre

Hélène Laurendeau — Sous-ministre

Mme Hélène Laurendeau a été nommée sous-ministre d'Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada le 4 avril 2016.

Avant d'être nommée sous-ministre, Mme Laurendeau a occupé le poste de sous-ministre déléguée du ministère à partir de décembre 2013.

Mme Laurendeau est entrée à la fonction publique au début de 1991 pour le compte du ministère de la Justice. Elle a travaillé comme conseillère juridique et avocate-conseil principale au sein de quatre organismes fédéraux. De 1999 jusqu'au milieu de 2011, elle a occupé trois postes de cadre supérieur au sein du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, notamment dans les domaines des relations de travail et de la gestion des risques au chapitre des ressources humaines.

De septembre 2003 à octobre 2004, Mme Laurendeau a exercé les fonctions de conseillère spéciale auprès du greffier du Conseil privé sur les questions relatives aux documents confidentiels du Cabinet.

Plus récemment, elle a occupé le poste de vice-présidente principale de la Direction générale des politiques de la Commission de la fonction publique du Canada. À ce titre, ses responsabilités comprenaient la délégation de pouvoirs et la reddition de comptes, les activités politiques et non partisanes, de même que les politiques de nomination.

Mme Laurendeau a obtenu un baccalauréat ès arts (communications) de l'Université d'Ottawa en 1982, puis un diplôme en droit en 1985. Elle a été admise au Barreau du Québec en 1986. Mme Laurendeau a exercé sa profession d'avocate dans le secteur privé, dans les domaines du droit administratif, des relations de travail et des droits de la personne de 1986 à 1991.

Bien qu'elle ait grandi dans la région de Lanaudière au Québec, Mme Laurendeau a des racines profondes dans la région du Bas-Saint-Laurent et a achevé ses études secondaires au Collège de l'Assomption. Elle est également fière d'être la mère de deux jeunes adultes dynamiques.


Diane Lafleur – Sous-ministre déléguée

Mme Diane Lafleur a été nommée sous-ministre déléguée d’Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada le 9 mai 2016.

Avant d’être nommée sous-ministre déléguée d’AANC, Mme Lafleur occupait le poste de sous-ministre adjointe à la Direction des relations fédérales-provinciales et de la politique sociale au Ministère des Finances Canada, depuis 2013.

Mme Lafleur est entrée à la fonction publique en 1997, au service du Ministère des Finances Canada et y a occupé différents emplois jusqu’à sa récente nomination pour AANC.

Mme Lafleur a obtenu un baccalauréat ès arts (politique internationale et économie) du Middlebury College. Elle a poursuivi ses études pour compléter une maîtrise ès arts en études économiques et canadiennes à la John Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies.

Date de modification :