ARCHIVED - e-Bulletin, Issue 3 - March 2010

Archive: This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

 

Did you miss an edition of the e-Bulletin? If so, you can read it in the INAC media room



News

Speech from the Throne

On March 3rd, Her Excellency the Governor General Michaëlle Jean presented the Speech from the Throne, opening the Third Session of the 40th Parliament. Read the Speech.

Canada's Budget

On March 4th, Minister of Finance Jim Flaherty tabled Canada's 2010 Budget. As with all Canadians, Aboriginal people will benefit from the many measures in Budget 2010 to support jobs and economic growth and to sustain Canada's advantage now and into the future. Budget 2010 provides more than $900 million over the next two years to assist Aboriginal Canadians and their communities. Visit the Budget website.

Tripartite Education in Alberta

On February 24th, the Government of Canada, the Government of Alberta and the Assembly of Treaty Chiefs in Alberta announced the signing of an historic memorandum of understanding on education that provides a common vision for strengthening learning and educational success for First Nation learners.

Site Visits Resume for the National Assessment of First Nations Water and Wastewater Systems

The National Assessment will provide valuable information to help the government, together with First Nations, identify the water and wastewater needs for 607 First Nations across the country. Approximately 264 site visits were conducted in 2009 and the remainder will take place beginning in March 2010.  Read About the National Assessment.

Unprecedented Aboriginal Participation: Vancouver 2010

The 2010 Olympic Winter Games have left many stories of achievement. In sport, culture, entertainment and hospitality, Canada took centre stage. A special section of the INAC website highlights these achievements, which were realized in partnership with the Government of Canada to ensure that the 2010 Games would leave a legacy of economic and social benefits for Aboriginal peoples across Canada.

Launch of First Nation Profiles Interactive Map

INAC has launched a new user-friendly tool to make it easier to find existing information about First Nation communities. It's an interactive web map that allows visitors to easily view and access data such as a community's name, location, electoral system and level of federal funding.

Appointments

On February 11th, Minister Strahl appointed Peter Kusugak as a member on the Nunavut Wildlife Management board.




Regional Focus: Ontario

In each issue of the e-Bulletin, a different region will be highlighted in the Regional Focus section.

Webequie Megawatt Diesel Generating Station

On February 25th, MP Greg Rickford, on behalf of Minister Strahl, announced that the Webequie First Nation awarded the contract for its new 1.0 megawatt diesel generating station. The Government of Canada invested approximately $16.4 million in core capital funding for the facility.

Investing in Education: Funding for New Schools

Wabaseemoong First Nation
In October 2009, with funding from Canada's Economic Action Plan, the Wabaseemoong First Nation celebrated the beginning of construction of its new $25 million Kindergarten to Grade 12 school. The Mizhakiiwetung Memorial School will accommodate 460 students. Read the News Release.

Lac Seul and Cat Lake First Nations
In July 2009, INAC announced that funding from the Government's Building Canada Plan would help build new Kindergarten to Grade 8 schools at Lac Seul and Cat Lake First Nations. The Lac Seul school will accommodate approximately 112 students. Construction is scheduled to begin in 2009-2010 and to be completed in February 2011. The Cat Lake school will accommodate approximately 138 students. Construction is scheduled to begin in 2011 and to be completed by September 2012. Read the News Release.

North Spirit Lake First Nation
On February 26th, the Department announced that the North Spirit Lake First Nation awarded the contract for its new school, a project made possible through Canada's Economic Action Plan. This new Kindergarten to Grade 9 facility will accommodate 90 students.

Supporting Communities and Infrastructure: Lac Seul First Nation's New Causeway

In September 2009, Lac Seul First Nation celebrated the grand opening of its new 600 metre causeway, a vital transportation link between the First Nation's three reserves. It will also improve year-round accessibility for the communities of Frenchmen's Head, Kejick Bay and Whitefish Bay. INAC provided $3 million towards the $4.5 million project through the proposal-based First Nation Infrastructure Funds program. Read the News Release.

The Source of Life: New Water Treatment Plant at Kingfisher Lake First Nation

In September 2009, the Kingfisher Lake First Nation celebrated the grand opening of its new water treatment plant. INAC was pleased to partner with the First Nation by providing $8.3 million for the new plant. Read the News Release.

Supporting Communities: 93 Ontario First Nations Benefit from Strong Investment in Firefighting

In September 2009, Indian and Northern Affairs Canada invested $3.1 million in funding for the purchase of fire trucks, firefighting equipment and training for 93 Ontario First Nations.  Read the News Release.




Distribution Note

Please note: subscribing to the RSS feed will not remove you from the email distribution list; to be removed from the email list, unsubscribe.

Bulletin électronique, numéro 3 - Mars 2010

Avez-vous manqué un numéro du Bulletin électronique? Si c'est le cas, vous pouvez le lire dans la salle des médias d'AINC.



Nouvelles

Discours du Trône

Le 3 mars, Son Excellence la gouverneure générale Michaëlle Jean a prononcé le discours du Trône qui a ouvert la troisième session de la 40e législature du Canada. Lire le discours  .

Budget 2010

Le 4 mars, le ministre des Finances, Jim Flaherty, a présenté le budget du Canada pour 2010. Comme tous les Canadiens, les Autochtones bénéficieront des nombreuses mesures prévues dans le budget de 2010 pour favoriser les emplois et la croissance économique et pour maintenir l'avantage du Canada aujourd'hui et dans l'avenir. Le budget de 2010 prévoit plus de 900 millions de dollars sur les deux prochaines années pour aider les Canadiens autochtones et leurs collectivités. Consulter le budget  .

Éducation tripartite en Alberta

Le 24 février, le gouvernement du Canada, le gouvernement de l'Alberta et l'Assemblée des chefs de Premières nations signataires d'un traité en Alberta, ont annoncé la conclusion d'un protocole d'entente historique sur l'éducation, qui expose une vision commune du renforcement de l'apprentissage et des réussites scolaires des apprenants des Premières nations.

Reprise des visites dans le cadre de l'évaluation nationale des réseaux d'approvisionnement en eau potable et de traitement des eaux usées des Premières nations

L'évaluation nationale produira de précieux renseignements qui aideront le gouvernement, avec l'aide des Premières nations, à cerner les besoins de 607 Premières nations de tout le pays en approvisionnement en eau et en traitement des eaux usées. Quelque 264 visites sur place ont été réalisées en 2009, et les autres visites auront lieu à compter de mars 2010. Consulter l'évaluation nationale.

Vancouver 2010 : Participation autochtone jamais égalée

Les Jeux olympiques d'hiver de 2010 sont maintenant chose du passé, et de nombreuses histoires de réussite restent. En ce qui a trait aux sports, à la culture, aux divertissements et à l'hospitalité, le Canada s'est placé à l'avant‑scène. Une section spéciale du site Web d'AINC a été aménagée pour raconter ces histoires de réussite, que nous avons réalisées tous ensemble en partenariat avec le gouvernement du Canada, de sorte que les Jeux de 2010 fassent rejaillir des retombées économiques et sociales sur les peuples autochtones de toutes les régions du Canada.

Inauguration de la carte interactive des profils des Premières nations

AINC a lancé un nouvel outil convivial qui simplifie la recherche de renseignements au sujet des collectivités des Premières nations. Il s'agit d'une carte interactive sur le Web qui facilite la consultation et l'accès des visiteurs à des données telles que le nom d'une collectivité, son emplacement, son système électoral et le niveau de financement fédéral qu'elles obtiennent.

Nominations

Le 11 février, le ministre Strahl a nommé Peter Kusugak à titre de membre du Conseil de gestion des ressources fauniques du Nunavut. Lire le communiqué.




Point de mire sur l'Ontario

Dans chaque numéro du bulletin électronique, une région différente sera mise en valeur dans la section Point de mire sur la région.

Centrale électrique au diesel pour la production de mégawatts à Webequie

Le 25 février, agissant au nom du ministre Strahl, le député Greg Rickford a annoncé que la Première nation de Webequie a attribué un contrat pour la construction d'une nouvelle centrale électrique au diesel de 1,0 mégawatt. Le gouvernement du Canada a fourni des fonds applicables aux dépenses de base en capital d'environ 16,4 millions de dollars pour la construction. Lire le communiqué.

Investir dans l'éducation : Financement de nouvelles écoles

Première nation de Wabaseemoong
En octobre 2009, grâce à des fonds provenant du Plan d'action économique du Canada, la Première nation de Wabaseemoong a célébré le début de la construction de sa nouvelle école. Au coût de 25 millions de dollars, l'école commémorative Mizhakiiwetung accueillera 460 élèves de la maternelle à la 12e année. Lire le communiqué.

Premières nations du lac Seul et de Cat Lake
En juillet 2009, au moyen de fonds puisés dans le plan Chantiers Canada, l'AINC a annoncé le financement de nouvelles écoles au sein des Premières nations du lac Seul et de Cat Lake. La nouvelle école de la Première nation du lac Seul recevra environ 112 élèves de la maternelle à la 8e année. Sa construction devrait s'étaler de 2009‑2010 à février 2011. La nouvelle école de la Première nation de Cat Lake sera fréquentée par près de 138 élèves de la maternelle à la 8e année. Sa construction est censée débuter en 2010, et devrait être terminée d'ici à septembre 2012. Lire le communiqué.

Première nation de North Spirit Lake
Le 26 février, le Ministère a annoncé que la Première nation de North Spirit Lake avait décerné un contrat pour la construction de sa nouvelle école, un projet rendu possible grâce au Plan d'action économique du Canada. La nouvelle école de North Spirit Lake est destinée à quelque 90 élèves de la maternelle à la 9e année. Lire le communiqué.

Appuyer les collectivités et l'infrastructure : Nouvelle chaussée pour la Première nation du lac Seul

En septembre 2009, la Première nation du lac Seul a inauguré sa nouvelle chaussée de 600 mètres de long. La chaussée constitue une voie de transport essentielle entre les trois réserves de la Première nation, et elle améliore l'accès à l'année aux collectivités de Frenchmen's Head, Kejick Bay et Whitefish Bay. Le projet de chaussée et de pont de 4,5 millions de dollars a été financé en partie par AINC, qui y a injecté 3 millions de dollars dans le cadre du Fonds d'infrastructure pour les Premières nations. Lire le communiqué.

Source de vie : Nouvelle station de traitement des eaux usées pour la Première nation de Kingfisher Lake

En septembre 2009, la Première nation de Kingfisher Lake a célébré l'ouverture de sa nouvelle station de traitement des eaux usées. AINC était fier de s'associer à la Première nation pour ce projet, et il y a consenti 8,3 millions de dollars. Lire le communiqué.

Appui accordé aux collectivités : 93 Premières nations de l'Ontario ont droit à d'importants investissements dans la lutte contre les incendies

En septembre 2009, AINC a investi 3,1 millions de dollars dans l'achat de camions incendie et d'équipement de pompier, et dans la formation de 93 Premières nations de l'Ontario. Lire le communiqué.




Options de distribution

Veuillez noter que l'abonnement au fil RSS ne vous soustrait pas automatiquement de la liste de distribution par courriel; pour ce faire, veuillez cliquer sur désabonnement.