Fact Sheet: 2006 Census Aboriginal Demographics

  • The Aboriginal identity population reached 1,172,785 in 2006 of which 53% are Registered Indians, 30% are Métis, 11% are Non-status Indians and 4% are Inuit. Overall the Aboriginal identity population represents 4% of the Canadian population.

  • Since 1996, the Aboriginal population has increased by 47% compared to 8% for non-Aboriginals.

  • Eight out of 10 Aboriginal people currently reside in Ontario and the four Western provinces.

  • Over half (54%) of Aboriginal people reside in urban areas (81% for non-Aboriginals). In major cities, the concentration of Aboriginal people is highest in Winnipeg (10%) followed by Regina and Saskatoon (9%).

  • Forty-eight percent of Aboriginal people are less than 25 years old (31% for non-Aboriginals). The median age of the Aboriginal population is 27 compared with 40 for non-Aboriginals.

Education

  • The Aboriginal population aged 25-64 lags behind in educational attainment with 34% having less than high school (50% on reserve) compared with 15% of non-Aboriginals of the same age.

  • The Aboriginal population aged 25-64 with a university degree has increased slightly since 2001 (from 6% to 8%). However, they still lag far behind the non-Aboriginal population (23%) and the gap between the two populations continued to widen between 2001 and 2006.

Labour market activity

  • Since 2001, the Aboriginal population 15-64 yrs (i.e. of working age) increased by 25%, compared with 6% for other Canadians, to reach 767,420 individuals of which 512,365 participated in the labour force.

  • Since 2001, the employment rate for Aboriginal people aged 25-64 has increased (from 58% to 63%) but it still remains much lower than for non-Aboriginals (76%).

  • Despite an important decline since 2001, the unemployment rate for Aboriginal people aged 25-64 remains almost three times the rate for non-Aboriginals in 2006 (13% vs. 5%). It exceeds the national rate in every region.

  • Aboriginal youth represent a wealth of future labour resources. Between 2001 and 2026, more than 600,000 Aboriginal youth will come of age to enter the labour market. The 15-29 age group, in particular, is projected to grow by 37% compared with 6% for the general Canadian population (Hull, 2008).

  • By 2026, 36% of the population 15-29 years old in Saskatchewan is expected to be Aboriginal. In Manitoba, this proportion is projected to be 28% (Hull, 2008).

References:

Hull, Jeremy. 2008. "Aboriginal Youth in the Canadian Labour Market."     p. 40-44 in: Hope or Heartbreak: Aboriginal Youth and Canada's Future, Horizons

Statistics Canada. Aboriginal Peoples in Canada in 2006: Inuit, Métis and First Nations, 2006 Census. Catalogue no. 97-558-XIE.

Statistics Canada, 2006 Census, INAC tabulations.

Fiche d'information - Démographie des Autochones selon le recensement de 2006

  • En 2006, la population ayant une identité autochtone s'élevait à 1 172 785 personnes, dont 53 % sont des Indiens inscrits, 30 %, des Métis, 11 %, des Indiens non inscrits et 4 %, des Inuits. Dans l'ensemble, la population autochtone représente 4 % de la population canadienne.

  • Depuis 1996, la population autochtone s'est accrue de 47 %, comparé à 8 % chez les non Autochtones.

  • Huit Autochtones sur dix vivent actuellement en Ontario et dans les quatre provinces de l'Ouest.

  • Plus de la moitié (54 %) des Autochtones vivent dans une région urbaine (81 % pour les non Autochtones). Parmi les grandes villes, Winnipeg est celle qui présente la plus grande concentration d'Autochtones (10 %), suivie de Regina et Saskatoon (9 %).

  • Quarante-huit pour cent des Autochtones ont moins de 25 ans (31 % chez les non Autochtones). L'âge médian des Autochtones est de 27 ans, comparativement à 40 ans pour les non Autochtones.

Scolarité

  • Le niveau de scolarité des Autochtones âgés de 25 à 64 ans est inférieur à celui des non Autochtones; dans ce groupe d'âge, 34 % des Autochtones ne possèdent pas de diplôme d'études secondaires (50 % dans les réserves), comparativement à 15 % chez les non Autochtones.

  • La proportion d'Autochtones âgés de 25 à 64 ans qui possèdent un diplôme universitaire a légèrement augmenté depuis 2001 (de 6 % à 8 %). Toutefois, ce taux reste inférieur à celui de la population non autochtone (23 %), et l'écart entre les deux populations a continué de s'élargir entre 2001 et 2006.

Activité sur le marché du travail

  • Depuis 2001, la population autochtone âgée de 15 à 64 ans (c.-à-d. en âge de travailler) s'est accrue de 25 %, comparativement à 6 % chez la population non autochtone, atteignant 767 420 individus parmi lesquels 512 365 individus faisaient partie de la population active.

  • Le taux d'emploi des Autochtones âgés de 25-64 ans a augmenté depuis 2001 (de 58 % à 63 %), mais il demeure beaucoup moins élevé que celui des non Autochtones (76 %).

  • Malgré une baisse considérable depuis 2001, le taux de chômage de la population autochtone âgée de 25-64 ans était toujours de presque trois fois supérieur à celui de la population non autochtone en 2006 (13 % comparativement à 5 %). Il excède le taux national dans toutes les régions.

  • Les jeunes autochtones offriront une abondante source de main-d'œuvre dans l'avenir. Entre 2001 et 2026, plus de 600 000 jeunes autochtones atteindront l'âge d'entrée sur le marché du travail. La population autochtone âgée de 15 à 29 ans en particulier pourrait augmenter de 37 %, comparativement à 6 % pour la population canadienne dans son ensemble (Hull, 2008).

  • On estime qu'en 2026, 36 % de la population âgée de 15 à 29 ans en Saskatchewan sera autochtone. Au Manitoba, on prévoit que cette proportion atteindra 28 % (Hull, 2008).

Références :

Hull, Jeremy. 2008. « Les jeunes autochtones et le marché du travail canadien     », Horizons, Entre espoir et adversité : la jeunesse autochtone et l'avenir du Canada, p. 40-44.

Statistique Canada. Peuples autochtones du Canada en 2006 : Inuits, Métis et Premières nations, Recensement de 2006. No 97 558 XIF au catalogue.

Statistique Canada, Recensement de 2006, tableaux d'AINC.