Fact Sheet - Kanesatake

Since 1990, progress has been achieved at Kanesatake in order to address the historical grievances of the Mohawks of Kanesatake and bring greater certainty in the Kanesatake/Oka area and the surrounding municipalities.

March 6, 1991 Agreement concluded on the Agenda and Process Negotiations between Kanesatake and Canada that set out the framework and issues for negotiations to resolve land-related grievances.

Between 1991 and 2007 Purchase of 179 properties by Canada to be integrated as part of the interim land base including lands in the area known as "The Pines" for the extension of the Mohawk cemetery at the heart of the Oka crisis. The purchase of these properties was one of the subject matters identified in the Agenda and Process Negotiations to respond to the uniqueness of the community's checkerboard land base, with a view to creating a unified land base.

July 20, 1992 and August 20,1993 Implementation of two healing processes along with a modification to the processes in March 5, 1997.

December 19, 1994 Signing of a Memorandum of Understanding between Kanesatake and Canada to create a framework for resuming negotiations in an attempt to settle the grievances of the Mohawks of Kanesatake related to the Seigneury of the Lake of Two Mountains. This included, among other things, the acquisition of land to complete a territorial land base and discuss issues of policing and peacekeeping.

1994 to 1995 Construction of a health centre.

April 1996 Resumption of formal negotiations between Canada and the Mohawks of Kanesatake. Negotiations continued up to April 2008. The negotiations were temporarily placed in abeyance due to a governance dispute in Kanesatake.

December 19, 1996 An Interim Tripartite Policing Agreement concluded between the Mohawk Council of Kanesatake, the Government of Québec and the Government of Canada. It established the authority of the Kanesatake Mohawk police force to maintain peace, order and public security within a patrol zone agreed to by the parties. The agreement provided Kanesatake with professional and culturally sensitive policing services. The Agreement was extended for one year in 1997.

November 1, 1997 Inauguration of the Kanesatake Mohawk police station.

June 30, 1999 Property Management Agreement between Canada, the Kanesatake Orihwáshon:a Development Corporation and the Mohawk Council of Kanesatake led to the establishment of the Corporation. It was responsible for the management of all properties purchased by Canada for the use and benefit of the Corporation and the Mohawk Council of Kanesatake. This Agreement was amended in 2001 at the request of the Mohawk Council of Kanesatake to permit the development of a transparent and open allotment process.

August 19, 1999 Permanent Tripartite Policing Agreement was concluded and extended in March 31, 2002 and March 26, 2003.

October 2, 1999 Inauguration of an Elders Home in Kanesatake.

December 1999 Mohawks of Kanesatake take over responsibility for elementary education services and school facilities.

October 13, 2000 Construction of a youth centre.

June 21, 2000 Initialing of the Land Governance Agreement. The Land Governance Agreement recognized an interim land base for Kanesatake as well as their legal status under section 91(24) of the Constitution Act, 1867. The Agreement called for the harmonization of certain Kanesatake laws and Municipality of Oka by-laws, and brought legal certainty over the status of those lands.

December 21, 2000 Signing of the Land Governance Agreement.

October 14, 2001 Ratification of the Land Governance Agreement by the band membership.

June 14, 2001 Royal Assent of The Kanesatake Interim Land Base Governance Act, which gave effect to the Land Governance Agreement.

March 19, 2004 The Mohawk Council of Kanesatake, the Government of Québec and the Government of Canada concluded new Tripartite Policing Agreement.

November 2006 Mohawk Council of Kanesatake tabled their legal arguments in support of their claim to the Seigneury of the Lake of Two Mountains claim.

January 15, 2007 Acquisition of an additional 34.7 hectare property that was set aside for the use and benefit of Kanesatake and added to the interim land base, as per the 1991 agreement concluded on the Agenda and Process Negotiations.

March 2007 The Municipality of Oka and the Mohawk Council of Kanesatake concluded an Agreement-in-Principle for the harmonization of laws and by-laws for the Mohawk and non-Mohawk lands in the Village of Oka. The parties have not yet signed the agreement.

April 14, 2008 The Government of Canada accepted Kanesatake's Specific Claim to part of the Seigneury of the Lake of Two Mountains.

January 15, 2009 Appointment of a Chief Federal Representative in order to conduct exploratory discussions on the current grievances of the Mohawks of Kanesatake regarding the Seigneury and their willingness to negotiate the claim under the Specific Claims policy.

August 14, 2009 Appointment by Canada of a Chief Federal Representative to outline scope of acceptance and parameters of the Seigneury specific claim.

May 1, 2010 Appointment of a Chief Federal Representative to work with the Mohawk Council of Kanesatake and departmental representatives to identify the unresolved issues of the 1991 agreement on the Agenda and Process Negotiations and the 1994 Memorandum of Understanding.

July 9, 2010 Appointment of Fred Caron as Chief Federal Negotiator for negotiations on the Mohawks of Kanesatake's Seigneury of Lake of Two Mountains specific claim.

Fiche d'information - Kanesatake

Depuis 1990, des progrès ont été accomplis à Kanesatake en vue de répondre aux griefs historiques des Mohawks de Kanesatake et d'instaurer une plus grande certitude dans le secteur de Kanesatake/Oka et les municipalités environnantes.

6 mars 1991 Accord conclu entre Kanesatake et le gouvernement du Canada sur un ordre du jour et la procédure des négociations pour régler les griefs relatifs aux questions territoriales.

De 1991 à 2007 Achat de 179 propriétés par le gouvernement du Canada pour ajout à l'assise territoriale provisoire dont des terres dans le secteur connu sous le nom de « La Pinède » afin d'agrandir le cimetière mohawk, au cœur de la crise d'Oka. L'achat de ces terres était une des questions indiquées dans l'ordre du jour et le processus de négociation pour traiter la situation unique de l'assise territoriale en blocs de la collectivité, afin de créer une assise territoriale unifiée.

20 juillet 1992 et 20 août 1993 Mise en place de deux processus de guérison avec modifications apportées à ces processus le 5 mars 1997.

19 décembre 1994 Signature d'un protocole d'entente entre Kanesatake et le gouvernement du Canada afin d'établir une entente-cadre pour reprendre des négociations visant à régler les griefs des Mohawks de Kanesatake sur la Seigneurie du Lac-des-Deux-Montagnes. Cela incluait, entre autres, l'acquisition de terres pour compléter l'assise territoriale et une discussion sur les enjeux de service policier et de maintien de la paix.

1994 à 1995 Construction d'un centre de soins de santé.

Avril 1996 Reprise des négociations officielles entre le gouvernement du Canada et les Mohawks de Kanesatake. Les négociations se sont poursuivies sans interruption jusqu'en avril 2008. Les négociations avaient été suspendues temporairement en raison d'un différend sur la gouvernance à Kanesatake.

19 décembre 1996 Une entente tripartite provisoire sur la création d'un service policier à Kanesatake est conclue par le Conseil mohawk de Kanesatake, le gouvernement du Québec et le gouvernement du Canada. Elle reconnaissait aux policiers de Kanesatake l'autorité de maintenir la paix, l'ordre et la sécurité publique sur une zone de patrouille convenue entre les parties. Cette entente assurait à Kanesatake des services professionnels de maintien de l'ordre adaptés à la culture. L'entente a été prolongée d'une année en 1997.

1er novembre 1997 Inauguration du poste de police de Kanesatake.

30 juin 1999 L'accord de gestion foncière conclu par le Canada, la société de développement Kanesatake Orihwáshon:a et le Conseil mohawk de Kanesatake mène à la création de la société. Cette société est chargée de la gestion des propriétés acquises par le Canada pour l'utilisation et le bénéfice de la société et du Conseil mohawk de Kanesatake. Ce contrat a été modifié en 2001 après que le Conseil mohawk de Kanesatake a demandé la permission d'élaborer un processus d'affectation transparent et ouvert.

19 août 1999 Entente permanente tripartite sur la création et le maintien d'un corps policier à Kanesatake. Cette entente a été prolongée le 31 mars 2002 et le 26 mars 2003.

2 octobre 1999 Inauguration d'une résidence pour personnes âgées à Kanesatake.

Décembre 1999 Les Mohawks de Kanesatake prennent l'entière responsabilité des services d'éducation primaire et des installations scolaires.

13 octobre 2000 Construction d'un centre pour les jeunes.

21 juin 2000 Paraphe de l'Entente concernant l'exercice de pouvoirs gouvernementaux par Kanesatake sur son assise territoriale provisoire. Cette entente établissait une assise foncière provisoire pour les Mohawks de Kanesatake ainsi que leur statut légal en vertu du paragraphe 91(24) de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1867. L'entente prévoyait l'harmonisation de certains règlements de Kanesatake avec ceux de la ville d'Oka et met fin à l'incertitude juridique entourant le statut de ces terres.

21 décembre 2000 Signature de l'Entente concernant l'exercice de pouvoirs gouvernementaux.

14 octobre 2001 Les membres de Kanesatake ont entériné l'Entente concernant l'exercice de pouvoirs gouvernementaux par Kanesatake sur son assise territoriale provisoire lors d'un vote de ratification.

14 juin 2001 La Loi sur le gouvernement du territoire provisoire de Kanesatake recevait la sanction royale, ce qui mettait en œuvre l'Entente concernant l'exercice des pouvoirs gouvernementaux.

19 mars 2004 Le Conseil mohawk de Kanesatake, le gouvernement du Québec et le gouvernement du Canada ont conclu une nouvelle entente tripartite sur la création d'un service de police.

Novembre 2006 Le Conseil mohawk de Kanesatake dépose ses arguments juridiques pour appuyer sa revendication de la Seigneurie du Lac-des-Deux-Montagnes.

15 janvier 2007 Acquisition de 37,4 hectares additionnels mis de côté pour l'utilisation et le bénéfice de Kanesatake et ajoutés à l'assise territoriale temporaire, conformément à l'accord conclu en 1991 sur l'ordre du jour et la procédure des négociations.

Mars 2007 La municipalité d'Oka et le Conseil mohawk de Kanesatake ont conclu une entente de principe sur l'harmonisation des lois et règlements pour les terres mohawks et non mohawks situées dans le village d'Oka. Les parties n'ont toujours pas signé l'entente.

14 avril 2008 Le gouvernement du Canada acceptait la revendication particulière de la Seigneurie du Lac des-Deux-Montagnes, soumise par le Conseil mohawk de Kanesatake, sur une partie de celle-ci.

15 janvier 2009 Nomination d'un représentant fédéral en chef afin de mener des discussions exploratoires sur les griefs actuels des Mohawks de Kanesatake concernant la Seigneurie du Lac-des-Deux-Montagnes et sur leur volonté de négocier la revendication en vertu de la Politique sur les revendications particulières.

14 août 2009 Nomination d'un représentant fédéral en chef pour donner un aperçu de l'étendue de l'acceptation et les paramètres de la revendication particulière sur la Seigneurie.

1er mai 2010 Nomination d'un représentant fédéral en chef qui travaillera avec le Conseil mohawk de Kanesatake et les fonctionnaires ministériels pour cerner les éléments résiduels de l'entente de 1991 sur un ordre du jour et la procédure des négociations ainsi que du protocole d'entente de 1994.

9 juillet 2010 Nomination de M. Fred Caron à titre de négociateur fédéral en chef dans le cadre des négociations de la revendication particulière de la Seigneurie du Lac-des-Deux-Montagnes des Mohawks de Kanesatake.