Remuneration of Elected Officials in First Nations Communities

Setting Salaries and Disclosure of Salary Information

The determination of an elected official's remuneration in a First Nation community is ultimately established by that First Nation's government. Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) encourages First Nations to practice sound fiscal management by setting remuneration at reasonable levels commensurate with the duties and responsibilities of the position, and mindful of the overall needs of the community.

There are a number of factors that are typically considered by a First Nation in determining the remuneration for their elected officials, including: their responsibilities and duties; the size of the community; the complexity of the business operations in the community; the own-source revenue of the community, etc.

In addition to federal funding, First Nations may derive revenue from other sources, such as band-owned businesses and arrangements with other levels of government. This revenue may be used in a variety of ways, including salaries for elected officials. As with other levels of government, duly elected officials of First Nations are responsible for determining their compensation.

In accordance with provisions in their funding agreements, First Nation Councils must provide the Department with annual Audited Consolidated Financial Statements. The Government of Canada passed into law the First Nations Financial Transparency Act in 2013, which supports more effective, transparent and accountable governments, and contributes to stronger, more self-sufficient and prosperous communities. The Act states that First Nations are required to submit Audited Consolidated Financial Statements and the Schedule of Remuneration and Expenses for Chiefs and Councillors for each financial year. Financial statements must be posted online 120 days following the end of the fiscal year beginning April 1, 2013 and ending March 31, 2014 (and for fiscal years thereafter). Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada is also required to publish on the departmental website, the Audited Consolidated Financial Statements and the Schedule of Remuneration and Expenses for each First Nation, when they are received.

The Audited Consolidated Financial Statements, Schedules of Remuneration and Expenses, and the Schedules of Federal Government Funding are available in the First Nation Profiles section of the AANDC website. The Schedules of Federal Government Funding report the funding received by a First Nation and expenditures made against those funds for government funded programs.

Salaire des représentants élus des collectivités des Premières nations

Établir les salaires et diffuser l'information sur les salaires

Les salaires des représentants élus des collectivités des Premières Nations sont établis par le gouvernement des Premières Nations concernées. Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) encourage les Premières Nations à adopter des pratiques de gestion financière saines et à fixer les salaires à des niveaux raisonnables en tenant compte des devoirs et des responsabilités liés aux postes et des besoins de la collectivité en général.

Différents facteurs sont généralement considérés par une Première Nation pour déterminer la rémunération de leurs représentants élus, notamment leurs responsabilités et leurs tâches, la taille de la collectivité, la complexité des affaires de la collectivité, ses propres sources de revenus, etc.

En plus du financement fourni par le gouvernement fédéral, les Premières Nations peuvent tirer des revenus d'autres sources, par exemple des entreprises appartenant à la bande ou des ententes conclues avec d'autres niveaux de gouvernement. Ces revenus peuvent être utilisés de différentes façons, y compris pour verser les salaires des représentants élus. Comme pour les autres niveaux de gouvernement, les représentants élus des Premières Nations sont chargés d'établir leur rémunération.

Conformément aux dispositions de leurs accords de financement, les conseils des Premières Nations doivent présenter tous les ans à AADNC des états financiers consolidés annuels vérifiés. Le gouvernement du Canada a adopté la Loi sur la transparence financière des Premières Nations en 2013. Cette loi favorise le développement de gouvernements plus efficaces, transparents et responsables, tout en contribuant à l'essor de collectivités plus autosuffisantes et prospères. En vertu de la Loi, les Premières Nations sont tenues de présenter les états financiers consolidés vérifiés et l'annexe des rémunérations et des dépenses du chef et des conseillers pour chaque exercice. Les états financiers doivent être publiés en ligne 120 jours suivant la fin de l'exercice débutant le 1er avril 2013 et prenant fin le 31 mars 2014 (il va de même pour les exercices suivants). Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada doit aussi publier sur son site Web les états financiers consolidés vérifiés ainsi que l'annexe des rémunérations et des dépenses pour chaque Première Nation dès qu'il les reçoit.

Les états financiers consolidés vérifiés, l'annexe des rémunérations et des dépenses et les tableaux sur le financement fédéral sont accessibles dans la section Profils des Premières Nations du site Web d'AADNC. Les tableaux sur le financement fédéral indiquent le financement fédéral reçu par une Première Nation et la façon dont ces fonds sont dépensés dans des programmes financés par le gouvernement.