Indian Residential Schools

Important

The Web site deals with topics that may cause trauma invoked by memories of past abuse. The Government of Canada recognizes the need for safety measures to minimize the risk associated with triggering.

A National Indian Residential School Crisis Line has been set up to provide support for former Residential School students. You can access emotional and crisis referral services. You can also get information on how to get other health supports from the Government of Canada.

Please call the Crisis Line at 1-866-925-4419 if you or someone you know is triggered while reading the content on this web site.

Key Milestones

Learn more about the history of Indian Residential Schools, as well as key milestones leading up to the present day, by visiting our online visual presentation.

Apply today for your Personal Credit of up to $3000 for educational, language or cultural programs.

Postcard PDF (124 Kb, 1 Page)

Individuals who received a Common Experience Payment for attending an Indian Residential School are eligible for up to $3000 in Personal Credits for education programs and services at universities, colleges, trade or training schools or community-based language and culture programs. Personal Credits can be used by an eligible recipient, shared with up to two family members or pooled for group education services. The deadline to apply is October 31, 2014. Help with completing the Personal Credits Acknowledgment Form is available.

Find out more at Indian Residential Schools Settlement or by phone:

  1. Main information line: 1-866-343-1858
  2. Assembly of First Nations: 1-866-869-6789
  3. Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated, Iqaluit: 1-888-646-0006
  4. Inuvialuit Regional Corporation, Inuvik: 1-867-777-7092
  5. Makivik Corporation, Quebec: 1-418-522-2224

Note

As per the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement, the deadline to apply for the Independent Assessment Process (IAP) and for Common Experience Payment (CEP) under exceptional circumstances was September 19, 2012. The deadline has now passed.

Former students who have already applied to CEP can obtain more information about their application by calling 1-866-565-4526.

IAP applicants can call 1-866-879-4913 for more information.

What Information is Available?

Résolution des pensionnats indiens

Important

Ce site Internet traite de sujets pouvant être traumatisants pour le lecteur. Le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît le besoin de prendre certaines mesures de sécurité afin de réduire le risque de déclencher une réaction à l'évocation de violences passées.

Une ligne d'écoute téléphonique des pensionnats indiens a été établie pour offrir un soutien aux anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens. Vous pouvez avoir accès aux services de référence en cas de crise émotionnelle. Vous pouvez également obtenir de l'information sur la façon d'obtenir d'autres services d'appui à la santé du gouvernement du Canada.

Appelez la ligne d'écoute téléphonique au 1-866-925-4419 si vous ou quelqu'un que vous connaissez souffre d'un traumatisme en lisant le contenu de ce site Web.

Jalons importants

Pour en apprendre davantage sur l'histoire des pensionnats indiens ainsi que sur les jalons importants franchies à ce jour, visionnez notre présentation en ligne.

Crédits personnels :

Le 31 octobre 2014, date limite initiale et approuvée par la Cour et toutes les parties pour présenter une demande afin d'obtenir des crédits personnels, est passé. Le Canada et ses partenaires travaillent en collaboration pour demander une prolongation à la Cour. Ultimement, la décision pour prolonger la date limite sera prise par la Cour suprême de la Colombie-Britannique. Des renseignements mis à jour seront affichés lorsque la décision sera rendue.

Note

Conformément à la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens, la date limite pour soumettre une demande pour le Processus d'évaluation indépendant (PEI) et le Paiement d'expérience commune (PEC) dans les cas de circonstances exceptionnelles était le 19 septembre 2012. La date limite est maintenant passée.

Les anciens élèves ayant déjà appliqués pour le PEC, peuvent obtenir plus d'information concernant leur demande en téléphonant au 1-866-565-4526.

Les demandeurs du PEI peuvent téléphoner au 1-866-879-4913 pour de plus amples renseignements.

Renseignements disponibles