Memorandum of Understanding Between the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development (Canada) and the State Committee on Northern Affairs of the Russian Federation Concerning Cooperation on Aboriginal and Northern Development - Indian and Northern Affairs Canada

Table of contents

Introduction

The Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development of Canada (DIAND) and the State Committee on Northern Affairs of the Russian Federation (GOSKOMSEVER), hereinafter referred to as "the participants":

Recognizing that Canada and the Russian Federation, as Arctic states, are facing a wide range of common interests and issues peculiar to the Arctic and northern regions of both countries;

Conscious of the importance of promoting and ensuring sustainable development, including environmental protection, in the Arctic and the North;

Affirming the commitment of both countries to the well-being of its northern population, including the recognition of the unique interests and the special relationship of Aboriginal peoples of the Arctic;

Taking into account the federal responsibility and mandate of the Participants for northern and Aboriginal affairs in their respective countries;

Drawing on the long relationship between Canada and the Russian Federation in the area of Arctic and northern cooperation, and wishing to contribute further to the commitment of both countries to enhanced circumpolar cooperation in accordance with the objectives of the Arctic Council; and

Recognizing that for all activities undertaken under the Memorandum of Understanding, the Participants wish to optimize the participation of provincial/regional, territorial and local governments, Aboriginal organizations and other non-governmental organizations.

Have Reached the following Understanding:

Article I

  1. The Participants will develop further and strengthen bilateral cooperation concerning Aboriginal and northern issues on the basis of equality, reciprocity and mutual benefit, in the following areas:
    • northern policy development;
    • policy and legislation related to the situation of Aboriginal peoples;
    • socio-economic and cultural development of Aboriginal peoples;
    • northern environment and conservation;
    • capacity building through partnerships; and
    • any other areas as may be mutually agreed.
  2. A work program to carry activities in these areas will be developed by the Participants.

Article II

Cooperation between the Participants will take the following forms:

Article III

For the purpose of this Memorandum of Understanding, the Participants will encourage and facilitate, as appropriate, the direct contacts between regional, territorial and local governments, Aboriginal groups and organizations of the northern regions of both countries, academic and scientific institutions and the private sector, including the conclusion of working arrangements on the implementation of specific projects and programs.

Article IV

Cooperation under this Memorandum of Understanding will be realized in accordance with the laws and regulations of each country.

Article V

Unless otherwise arranged between the Participants, international travel expenses, as well as in-country travel expenses, will be borne by the Sending participant. Efforts will be made to develop, where it is appropriate, cost-sharing arrangements in support of work programs undertaken under the present Memorandum of Understanding.

Article VI

In proposed cooperative activities where it is foreseeable that intellectual property rights might arise, the Participants, in accordance with their national laws, will agree in advance as to the effective protection and allocation of those intellectual property rights.

Article VII

  1. To implement this Memorandum of Understanding, the Participants will establish a Joint Committee which will consist of equal numbers of representatives from Canada and Russia, designated by the Participants.
  2. The Co-chairs of the Joint Committee are:
    for the Canadian side:
    The Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development;
    for the Russian side:
    The Chairman of the State Committee on Northern Affairs
  3. The Committee will:
    • oversee the development of a co-operative work plan;
    • serve as a forum for the exchange of information, consultation and facilitating contacts between the Participants;
    • provide general directions and management for the Memorandum of Understanding; and
    • review, and report annually, on the achievements of the cooperation under this Memorandum of Understanding.
  4. The Joint Committee will meet at least once every year.
  5. Coordination of activities under the MOU will be conducted through the Secretariat designated by the Participants.
    For the Canadian side: The Circumpolar Liaison Directorate
    For the Russian side: International Affairs Division

Article VIII

Cooperation under this Memorandum of Understanding will be carried out in consideration of other existing agreements between Canada and the Russian Federation.

Article IX

  1. This Memorandum of Understanding will take effect upon signature by the Participants, and will be in effect for another period of three years, and may be extended with the consent of the Participants. It may be terminated at any time with a six month written notice.
  2. This Memorandum of Understanding may be amended at any time by mutual consent of the Participants.

Done at Ottawa, Canada in this 29th day of February 2000 and will replace the MOU between Participants signed on October 20, 1997 the Russian, French and English languages, all texts being of equal validity.

For the Department of Indian and Northern Affairs and Northern Development (Canada)

Robert Nault

For the State Committee on Northern AFfairs of the Russian Federation

Vladimir V. Goman

Annex A

In accordance with Article II and Article VII of the present MOU, and for the purpose of strengthening inter-ministerial links and northern cooperation, the Participants will undertake the following program of exchange of officials:

  1. The Canadian Participant will co-ordinate the involvement of Canadian Partners in the implementation of joint activities under the Work Plan.

    The Russian Participant, will co-ordinate the involvement of Russian Partners during the implementation of joint activities under the Work Plan.

    The Canadian Participant will be responsible for the expenses of the Russian Partners while in Canada. The Russian Participant will bear the expenses relating to domestic travel and international travel by Russian Partners to and from Canada.
  2. The determination of Joint activities will be conducted by Participants in consultation with members of the Joint Committee in accordance with Article VII.
  3. Annually, Participants will identify concrete activities targeted to enhance interministerial cooperation and sharing of relevant information on policy and strategic direction.

    In light of the above, Participants will coordinate an annual seminar program in Canada and in Russia to facilitate the exchange of information and to promote public awareness and understanding on northern and Aboriginal issues.

    Participants will also coordinate visits by and/or exchange of officials, experts, and northern peoples.
Date modified:

Protocole d'entente entre le Ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien et le ministre de la politique régionale de la fédération de Russie - Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada

Table des matières

Introduction

Le ministère des Affaires Indiennes et du Nord Canadien et le ministère de la politique régionale de la Fédération de Russie, ci-après nommés « les parties »

Reconnaissant que le Canada et la Fédération de Russie ainsi que les États arctiques partagent un vaste éventail d'intérêts et doivent résoudre une série de problèmes communs aux régions de l'Arctique et du Nord;

Conscients de la nécessité de promouvoir et d'assurer le développement durable ainsi que la protection environnementale dans le Nord;

Affirmant l'engagement des deux pays à l'égard du bien-être des peuples du Nord, notamment en reconnaissant les intérêts particuliers et la relation spéciale des peuples autochtones de l'Arctique;

Tenant compte de la responsabilité fédérale et du mandat des parties en ce qui concerne les affaires du Nord et les affaires autochtones dans leurs pays respectifs;

Tirant parti de la relation de longue date établie entre le Canada et la Fédération de Russie en matière de coopération dans l'Arctique et le Nord, et voulant renforcer l'engagement des deux pays à l'égard d'une meilleure coopération circumpolaire compte tenu des objectifs du Conseil arctique et

Reconnaissant que, pour toutes les activités entreprises aux termes du présent protocole d'entente, les parties souhaitent optimiser la participation des gouvernements provinciaux ou régionaux, territoriaux et locaux, des organisations autochtones et d'autres organisations non gouvernementales;

Ont convenu du protocole d'entente suivant :

Article I

  1. Les parties continueront à élaborer et à renforcer la coopération bilatérale concernant les questions autochtones et les questions du Nord, selon les principes de l'égalité, de la réciprocité et du bénéfice mutuel dans les domaines suivants :
    • la politique de développement du Nord,
    • les politiques et les lois concernant la situation des Autochtones,
    • le développement socio-économique et culturel des peuples autochtones,
    • l'environnement du Nord et sa conservation et
    • tout autre domaine dont ils pourraient convenir.
  2. Un programme de travail visant l'exécution d'activités dans ces domaines sera conçu par les parties.

Article II

La coopération entre les parties prendra les formes suivantes :

Article III

Aux fins du présent protocole d'entente, les parties encourageront et faciliteront, le cas échéant, les contacts directs entre les gouvernements régionaux, territoriaux et locaux, les groupes et les organisations autochtones des régions du Nord des deux pays, les institutions universitaires et scientifiques, notamment par la conclusion de modalités de travail au sujet de la mise en oeuvre de projets et de programmes précis.

Article IV

La coopération aux termes du présent protocole d'entente respectera les lois et la réglementation de chacun des deux pays.

Article V

Sauf autres modalités convenues entre les parties, les dépenses de voyage à l'étranger de même que les dépenses de voyage à l'intérieur d'un pays seront couverts par le pays d'envoi. Des efforts seront déployés en vue d'élaborer, le cas échéant, des ententes de partage des coûts à l'appui des programmes de travail entrepris dans le cadre du présent protocole d'entente.

Article VI

Dans les activités de coopération proposées où il est prévisible que des questions liées aux droits de propriété privée seront soulevées, les parties conviendront à l'avance de la protection efficace et de l'attribution de ces droits conformément à leur législation nationale.

Article VII

  1. Pour mettre en oeuvre le présent protocole d'entente, les parties établiront un comité mixte, qui se composera d'un nombre égal de représentants du Canada et de la Russie désignés par les deux parties.
  2. Les coprésidents et les membres du Comité seront :
    pour le Canada
    le ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien,
    pour la Russie
    le ministre de la politique régionale de la Fédération de Russie.
  3. Le Comité aura pour mandat de :
    • surveiller l'élaboration d'un plan de travail coopératif;
    • servir de cadre d'échange d'informations, de consultation et de facilitation des contacts entre les parties,
    • fournir des orientations et assurer une gestion générales relativement au protocole d'entente et
    • examiner les résultats obtenus grâce à la coopération aux termes du présent protocole d'entente et rendre compte de ces résultats.
  4. Le Comité se réunira au moins deux fois par an.
  5. La coordination des activités entreprises en vertu du Protocole sera assurée par le Secrétariat désigné par les parties participantes :
    Du côté canadien : La direction générale de la liaison circumpolaire ;
    Du côté russe : Division des affaires internationales.

Article VIII

La coopération aux termes du présent protocole d'entente tiendra compte des autres ententes conclues entre les Canada et la Fédération de Russie.

Article IX

  1. Le présent protocole d'entente entrera en vigueur à partir de la date de ratification par les deux parties. Il demeura en vigueur pour une première période de trois ans et pourra être prolongé avec l'accord des deux parties. Il pourra prendre fin à tout moment sur préavis écrit de six mois.
  2. Le présent protocole d'entente peut être modifié à tout moment par consentement mutuel des deux parties.

EN FOI DE QUOI, les soussignés ont ratifié en double les versions russe, française et anglaise du présent protocole d'entente ce .......... jour de ..........1999, toutes les versions étant de validité égale.

Pour le ministère des Affaire Indiennes et du Nord Canadien
Pour le ministère de la Politique régionale de la Fédération de Russie
Jane Stewart
Valerii Kirpichnickov

Annex A

Conformément à l'article II et à l'article VII de ce Protocole, aux fins utiles aux renforcement des liens entre ministères et de la coopération nordique, les parties participantes s'engageront dans le programme suivant d'échange de fonctionnaires :

  1. La partie participante canadienne coordonnera la participation de partenaires canadiens à la mise en oeuvre d'activités conjointes conformément au plan de travail.

    La partie participante russe coordonnera celle des partenaires russes durant cette mise en oeuvre.

    La partie participante canadienne supportera les dépenses des partenaires russes durant leur séjour au Canada. La partie participante russe, les frais des déplacements nationaux et internationaux des partenaires russes pour se rendre au Canada ou en revenir.
  2. Ce sont les parties participantes qui décideront des activités conjointes à exercer, âpre: consultation du Comité conjoint, conformément à l'article VII.
  3. Chaque année, les parties participantes détermineront quelles activités concrètes ils viseront pour renforcer la coopération et échanger une information pertinente sur leur politique et leurs stratégies.

    Compte tenu de ce qui précède, les parties participantes coordonneront un programme de séminaires annuels, au Canada et en Russie, pour faciliter les échanges d'information, conscientiser le public et faire mieux comprendre les questions nordique et autochtones.

    Les parties participantes coordonneront aussi des visites et/ou des échanges de fonctionnaires, d'experts et de résidants du Nord.
Date de modification :