ARCHIVED - Sprouts Day Camp, Iqaluit, Nunavut

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Using traditional Inuit practices to engage children in the learning of science, the Sprouts Day Camp in Iqaluit, Nunavut has been changing the lives of youths aged 7-15 for over 10 years. See how the Qikiqtani Inuit Association in partnership with Actua Canada promotes education, cultural awareness and healthy lifestyles through this highly successful program.

Transcript: Sprouts Day Camp, Iqaluit



See other Aboriginal success stories from across Canada.



Transcript: Sprouts Day Camp, Iqaluit

Iqaluit

For centuries, Inuit families have moved through the tundra with the seasons developing a unique culture and way of life.

Today, this small, remote hamlet on the southwest tip of Baffin Island in Nunavut is Canada’s newest capital city… home to almost 7,000 people.

Welcome to Iqaluit and home to the Qikiqtani Inuit Association, or QIA. The QIA’s Youth Department has thrived, developing and delivering successful programs that promote education, cultural awareness and healthy lifestyles.

It has welcomed partnerships that enrich the experiences it provides to its children.

The Sprouts Day Camp is a model program providing care, fun and education for Iqaluit’s children throughout the summer.

The Sprouts Program started about 11 years ago and it was very small, it was five or six kids, and now we have nine full-time staff, we have a full- time cook. We have partners like Actua, who do, you know, amazing rich programming, other community partners and it’s just really grown and flourished, and really blossomed as a program and it’s become kind of a mainstay in Iqaluit.

Actua, a national charity, delivers a series of week-long summer day camps, through its Aboriginal Outreach Program… that engage youth in unique, innovative, and culturally relevant science, engineering and technology activities.

With the huge mineral, oil and gas potential of Nunavut, developing capacity in Science and Technology is critical… so that Nunavumiut can fully participate in Nunavut’s development… and it all starts with the children.

The main goal of the program is to expose youth to possibilities that exist for them, to bring Science and Technology into their lives so that they understand that there are many opportunities for them down the road to further their studies, to further their career opportunities.

A full curriculum of fun hands-on science activity awaits the children each day:

They learn how arctic mammals keep warm through the insulation properties of blubber by making blubber mitts from household lard and immersing their hands in freezing water.

oh my is it cold ? very
what about this side ? it’s warm"

They explore the properties of sound and discover how a Beluga whale hears, by making their own Beluga ears using spoons and string.

Traditional Inuit throat singing, coupled with an oscilloscope helps explain sound waves and the kids see how their own voices create vibrations.

An outdoor scavenger hunt and hike employing GPS technology is the perfect springboard for a discussion about the inuksuk… used by many generations of Inuit for guidance and orientation on the land.

An important component of Actua’s camp delivery is the inclusion of graduates, as instructors, from the Nunavut Sivuniksavut Program, or NS.

Based in Ottawa, the NS is an eight-month college program for Inuit youth from Nunavut to prepare for educational and career opportunities that are being created through the new government of Nunavut.

I see that the kids see me as a role model, an Inuit role model… I’ve done presentations and told them that they could do the same things -- like graduate from high school… go further with their education… get involved with the community… help around… do volunteering. I’ve shown them that I could do it and I told them that they could do the same things.

With its dedicated staff, positive role models, and special relationships with partners like Actua, the Qikqitani Youth Department is making great strides fostering a passion for Science and Technology.

And guiding the children of Iqaluit to make positive choices for their futures with a deep understanding of their heritage and identity.

 

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Le camp de jour Sprouts, Iqaluit, Nunavut

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Au moyen de pratiques traditionnelles inuites visant à encourager les enfants à apprendre la science, le camp de jour Sprouts, à Iqaluit (Nunavut), change la vie des jeunes âgés entre 7 et 15 depuis plus de 10 ans . Découvrez comment la Qikiqtani Inuit Association en partenariat avec Actua Canada font la promotion de l’éducation, de la sensibilisation culturelle et de modes de vie sains par l’intermédiaire de ce programme très fructueux.

Transcription : Le camp de jour Sprouts, Iqaluit



Consultez d'autres histoires de réussite autochtones du Canada.



Transcription : Le camp de jour Sprouts, Iqaluit

Iqaluit

Depuis des siècles, des familles inuites ont parcouru la toundra au gré des saisons et se sont forgé une culture et un mode de vie uniques.

Aujourd’hui, ce petit hameau éloigné, situé à la pointe sud-ouest de l’île de Baffin, au Nunavut, est la plus récente capitale canadienne. Plus de 7,000 personnes y vivent.

Bienvenue à Iqaluit! et ville d’attache de l’Association inuite du Qikiqtani, ou AIQ. Le secteur jeunesse de l’AIQ s’est développé. On a mis au point d’excellents programmes d’éducation, de sensibilisation aux cultures et de promotion de saines habitudes de vie.
L’AIQ a formé des partenariats qui enrichissent les expériences offertes aux enfants.

Le camp de jardinage est un programme modèle dans lequel des enfants d’Iqaluit sont pris en charge tout l’été et participent à des activités amusantes et éducatives.

Le camp de jardinage a débuté il y a environ onze ans, avec à peine cinq ou six enfants. Aujourd’hui, nous avons neuf employés à temps plein, un cuisinier à temps plein, des partenaires comme Actua qui, vous le savez, ont une programmation incroyablement riche, ainsi que d’autres partenaires communautaires. Le programme s’est vraiment développé et connaît un bel essor. Il est devenu un véritable pilier à Iqaluit.

Dans le cadre de son programme d’action autochtone, Actua, un organisme de bienfaisance national, offre une série de camps d’été de jour d’une semaine qui invite les jeunes à participer à des activités uniques, novatrices et adaptées à leur culture, dans les domaines de la science, de l’ingénierie et de la technologie.

Compte tenu de l’immense potentiel minéral, pétrolier et gazier du Nunavut, il est essentiel de renforcer les capacités dans le domaine des sciences et de la technologie … pour que les résidants du Nunavut puissent participer pleinement au développement du Territoire. Et cela commence avec les enfants.

Le principal objectif du programme est de présenter aux jeunes les options possibles, de les familiariser avec les sciences et la technologie pour qu’ils comprennent les nombreuses possibilités qui leur seront offertes, pour qu’ils poursuivent leurs études et améliorent leurs perspectives de carrière.

Tout un programme d’activités scientifiques pratiques est offert aux jeunes chaque jour:

Les enfants apprennent comment les mammifères se tiennent au chaud dans l’Arctique grâce aux propriétés isolantes de la graisse en confectionnant des mitaines de graisse domestique et en plongeant les mains dans l’eau glacée.

Oh là là! Est-ce que c’est froid? Très froid.
Et de ce côté-ci? C’est chaud.

Ils explorent les propriétés du son et découvrent comment les bélugas entendent en confectionnant leurs propres oreilles de béluga avec des cuillères et de la corde.

Le chant guttural inuit traditionnel et un oscilloscope aident à faire comprendre les ondes sonores.

Et les enfants voient comment leur voix crée des vibrations.
L’utilisation de la technologie GPS lors d’une randonnée et d’une chasse au trésor à l’extérieur est un prétexte parfait pour amorcer une discussion sur l’inuksuk utilisé depuis des générations pour s’orienter dans le territoire.

Un volet important du camp d’Actua est l’inclusion de diplômés du programme Nunavut Sivuniksavut, ou NS, comme moniteurs de camp.

Le NS est un programme collégial de huit mois, offert à Ottawa, dans lequel de jeunes Inuits du Nunavut se préparent à saisir des possibilités éducatives ou professionnelles crées par le nouveau gouvernement du Nunavut.

Je vois que les enfants me considèrent comme un modèle de comportement, un modèle inuit. Dans mes présentations, je leur ai dit qu’ils pouvaient faire comme moi, obtenir un diplôme d’études secondaires, faire des études, participer à la vie communautaire, donner un coup de main, faire du bénévolat. Je leur ai montré que je pouvais le faire et qu’ils pouvaient y arriver à leur tour.

Grâce à un personnel dévoué, des modèles de comportement positifs et des liens particuliers avec des partenaires comme Actua, le secteur jeunesse de l’Association inuite du Qikiqtani progresse rapidement.
éveille la passion des sciences et de la technologie

et guide les enfants d’Iqaluit afin qu’ils fassent des choix positifs pour leur avenir forts d’une connaissance profonde de leur patrimoine et de leur identité.

 

Date de modification :