Bilateral Relationships

The Minister maintains a bilateral relationship with each of the two national Aboriginal Representative Organizations which represent Métis and Non-Status Indians: The Métis National Council and the Congress of Aboriginal Peoples.

Métis Nation Protocol

On April 29, 2013, the Government of Canada and the Métis National Council renewed the 2008 Métis Nation Protocol and signed a new Governance and Financial Accountability Accord.

The renewed Protocol re-established a bilateral process for the Government of Canada and the Métis Nation to conduct discussions on a range of key issues and objectives, including:

  • jurisdictional issues related to federal and provincial responsibilities;
  • access to benefits and settlements by Métis veterans; and,
  • economic development.

The Governance and Financial Accountability Accord formalizes the transparency and accountability measures related to the Métis National Council's fiscal arrangement with Canada.

Political Accord

On February 28, 1994, the Congress of Aboriginal Peoples (CAP), the Federal Interlocutor for Métis and Non-Status Indians and the Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development signed a Political Accord.  The essence of the Political Accord is to provide a forum through which Federal Ministers can be apprised of the views of the CAP and its membership on specified subjects arising out of the commitments set out in Creating Opportunity, rather than specified outcomes. This accord was renewed in June 1998, where it was also agreed that the Political Accord supersedes the Protocol for Bilateral Discussions signed in 1993.

The Accord on Cooperative Policy Development between the CAP and the Government of Canada was signed May 31, 2005, with the purpose of developing a cooperative approach to policy development and undertaking discussions on:

  • Processes to enhance the involvement of the Congress of Aboriginal Peoples in the development of federal policies which focus on, or have a significant specific impact on the Congress of Aboriginal Peoples' constituency; and
  • The financial and human resources and accountability mechanisms necessary to sustain the proposed enhanced involvement of the Congress of Aboriginal Peoples in policy development.

Relations bilatérales

Le ministre entretient des relations bilatérales avec chacune des deux organisations autochtones représentatives nationales qui représentent les Métis et les Indiens non inscrits, soit le Ralliement national des Métis et le Congrès des peuples autochtones.

Protocole avec la Nation métisse

Le 29 avril 2013, le gouvernement du Canada et le Ralliement national des Métis (site non offert en français) ont renouvelé le Protocole de 2008 avec la Nation métisse et signé un nouvel accord de gouvernance et de responsabilité financière.

Le protocole renouvelé a redéfini le processus bilatéral afin que le gouvernement du Canada et le Ralliement national des Métis puissent tenir des discussions sur toute une gamme de sujets et d'objectifs clés, notamment :

  • les questions sur les compétences fédérales et provinciales;
  • les avantages et les indemnités des anciens combattants métis;
  • le développement économique.

Pour sa part, l'accord de gouvernance et de responsabilité financière officialise les mesures favorisant la transparence et la responsabilité relativement à l'entente de financement conclue entre le Ralliement national des Métis et le Canada.

Accord politique

Le 28 février 1994, le Congrès des peuples autochtones (CPA), l'interlocuteur fédéral auprès des Métis et des Indiens non inscrits et le ministre des Affaires autochtones et du développement du Nord canadien ont signé un accord politique. Essentiellement, l'accord politique porte sur la création d'une tribune où les ministres fédéraux peuvent s'informer des points de vue du CPA et de ses membres sur des sujets précis qui découlent des engagements exposés dans Pour la création d'emplois, plutôt que des résultats. De plus, il a été convenu que l'accord politique, renouvelé en juin 1998, remplace le Protocole de discussions bilatérales conclu en 1993.

L'Accord de collaboration sur l'élaboration de politiques entre le Congrès des peuples autochtones et le gouvernement du Canada, signé le 31 mai 2005, vise à créer une approche concertée à l'élaboration de politiques, et renferme un engagement à discuter de ce qui suit :

  • de mesures permettant d'accroître la participation du Congrès des peuples autochtones à l'élaboration des politiques fédérales qui ciblent ses membres ou ont d'importantes répercussions sur eux;
  • des ressources humaines et financières et des mécanismes de reddition de comptes nécessaires pour  favoriser l'éventuelle participation accrue du Congrès des peuples autochtones en matière d'élaboration de politiques.