Canada's Métis & Non-Status Indian Population Fact Sheet

According to 2001 Census, of the 976,305 people identifying themselves as members of at least one of Canada's Aboriginal groups 291,000 identified as Métis[Note 1] and 104,000 as Non-status Indians. 

For 2007, projections (based on 2001 Census data) for the Métis population are expected to reach nearly 300,000 and for Non-Status Indians, just over 126,000.[Note 2] This represents a growth rate of 9% and 14% respectively.  The growth for the Métis can be attributed to a number of common demographic factors, such as: fertility, mortality and migration.  Another important growth factor for this population is “ethnic mobility”. Ethnic mobility occurs when individuals change the reporting of their ethnic/cultural affiliation from one census to the next, e.g. from a non-Aboriginal identity to an Aboriginal one, e.g. to Métis. 

Both the Métis and non-Status Indian populations are very young.  It is projected that, in 2007, 26%  and 37% of these two populations will be under the age of 15, which is more than double the projected share for the total Canadian population.

A socio-economic overview

Métis and Non-Status Indian populations changed residences within their community or moved between communities in the year before the 2001.  For example, 22% of Métis and 25% of Non-Status Indians reported moving within one year, compared to one in eight non-Aboriginal people.  This high rate of mobility creates certain challenges for accessing and providing services such as education, employment training and housing.

In 2001, unlike their registered Indian counterparts who have more women (55%) than men (45%) residing off reserves, Métis and Non-Status Indians both have a more balanced gender ratio in non-reserve locations.

Socio-economic indicators such as school attendance, post-secondary completion, employment, and income levels for Canada's Métis and Non-Status Indian populations are still lagging their non-Aboriginal counterparts.

Selected Indicators Métis population Non-Status Indian population Non-Aboriginal population
% of population aged 15-19 < high school 23% 24% 15%
% of population aged 25-44 with university degree 7% 6% 22%
Employment rate (aged 15+) 60% 56% 62%
Unemployment rate (aged 15+) 14% 15% 7%
Average total income (all sources) $   22,395 $   21,460 $   30,060
Average employment (full time) income $   33,822 $   33,978 $  42,619
% receiving government transfer payments 15% 16% 12%

SOURCE: Statistics Canada, 2001 Census, custom tabulations.

 

Age & Gender Distribution for the Métis, Non-Status Indian Populations in 2007 and Non-Aboriginal Population in 2006, Canada

Age & Gender Distribution for the Métis, Non-Status Indian Populations in 2007 and Non-Aboriginal Population in 2006, Canada

Age & Gender Distribution for the Métis, Non-Status Indian Populations in 2007 and Non-Aboriginal Population in 2006, Canada

SOURCES: Statistics Canada, 2006 Population Projections; Statistics Canada, Population Projections for Canada, Provinces and Territories 2005-2031  Table 8.1.

Indian and Northern Affairs Canada, «Aboriginal Population Projections for Canada, Provinces and Regions: 2001 – 2026», prepared by Stewart Clatworthy, Four Directions Project Consultant, September, 2006

Footnotes:

  1. The Métis count includes about 30,000 Métis who also have legal Indian status, according to the Indian Act of Canada. These are likely Métis woman who would have gained Indian status through marriage to a status Indian man prior to 1985 and their offspring.(return to source paragraph...)

  2. Indian and Northern Affairs Canada, «Aboriginal Population Projections for Canada, Provinces and Regions: 2001 – 2026» (forthcoming 2007). Note the growth rates are based on 2001 Census counts adjusted for undercoverage and other factors.(return to source paragraph...)

Feuillet d'information sur la population de Métis et d'Indiens non inscrits du Canada

Selon le recensement de 2001, des 976 305 personnes s'identifiant comme membres d'au moins un des groupes autochtones du Canada, 291 000 se sont identifiés comme Métis[Note 1] et 104 000 comme Indiens non inscrits.

Il est prévu (selon les données du recensement de 2001) qu'en 2007, la population de Métis devrait atteindre près de 300 000 et celle des Indiens non inscrits, un peu plus de 126 000.[Note 2] Il s'agit d'un taux de croissance de 9 % et 14 % respectivement. L'augmentation des Métis peut être attribuée à un certain nombre de facteurs démographiques communs tels que la fertilité, la mortalité et la migration. Un autre facteur important de croissance de cette population est la « mobilité ethnique » provenant du changement de l'affiliation ethnique ou culturelle rapportée par des particuliers d'un recensement à un autre, par exemple d'une identité non autochtone à une identité autochtone, par exemple à une identité de Métis. 

Les populations de Métis et d'Indiens non inscrits sont très jeunes. On prévoit qu'en 2007, 26 % et 37 % de ces deux populations auront moins de 15 ans, ce qui est plus que le double de la proportion prévue pour l'ensemble de la population canadienne.

Aperçu socioéconomique

Les populations de Métis et d'Indiens non inscrits ont changé de résidences dans leurs collectivités ou d'une collectivité à une autre l'année avant 2001. Par exemple, 22 % des Métis et 25 % des Indiens non inscrits ont rapportés avoir déménagé pendant une année, à comparer à une personne sur huit non autochtone. Ce taux élevé de mobilité suscite des défis d'accès et de prestation de services tels qu'en éducation, formation à l'emploi et logement.

En 2001, contrairement à leurs homologues Indiens qui ont plus de femmes (55 %) que d'hommes (45 %) résidant hors des réserves, les Métis et les Indiens non inscrits ont un ratio sexuel plus équilibré dans les endroits qui ne sont pas des réserves.

Les indicateurs socioéconomiques tels que l'inscription scolaire, l'obtention d'un diplôme secondaire, l'emploi et le revenu des populations de Métis et d'Indiens non inscrits du Canada sont toujours décalés à comparer à ceux de leurs homologues non autochtones.

Indicateurs sélectionnés Population de Métis Population d'Indiens non inscrits Population non autochtone
% de la population âgée 15-19 < secondaire 23% 24% 15%
% de la population âgée 25-44 avec diplôme universitaire 7% 6% 22%
Taux d'emploi (âgés 15+) 60% 56% 62%
Taux de chômage (âgés 15+) 14% 15% 7%
Revenu moyen total (toutes les sources)    22 395 $    21 460 $    30 060 $
Revenu d'emploi (plein temps) moyen    33 822 $   33 978 $    42 619 $
% recevant des paiements de transfert gouvernementaux 15% 16% 12%

SOURCE : compilations spéciales tirées du recensement de 2001 de Statistique Canada

 

Répartition selon l'âge et le sexe des populations de Métis et d'Indiens non inscrits en 2007 et de la population non autochtone en 2006, Canada

Répartition selon l'âge et  le sexe des populations de Métis et d'Indiens non inscrits en 2007 et de la population  non autochtone en 2006, Canada

SOURCES : Prévisions démographiques de Statistique Canada, 2006; Statistique Canada, Projections des populations autochtones, Canada, provinces et territoires 2005-2031,  Tableau 8.1.

Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada, « Aboriginal Population Projections for Canada, Provinces and Regions: 2001 – 2026 », préparé par Stewart Clatworthy, Four Directions Project Consultant, septembre 2006

 

Notes en bas de page :

  1. Le dénombrement des Métis inclut environ 30 000 Métis qui ont aussi le statut juridique d'Indien selon la Loi sur les Indiens du Canada. Ce sont probablement des femmes métisses ayant obtenu le statut d'Indiennes par le mariage à un Indien inscrit avant 1985 et leurs enfants. (retournez au paragraphe source...)

  2. Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada, « Projections des populations autochtones, Canada, provinces et régions : 2001 – 2026 » (sous presse 2007). Remarquez que les taux de croissance sont fondés sur les dénombrements du recensement de 2001 ajustés pour le sous-dénombrement et autres facteurs. (retournez au paragraphe source...)