Métis and Non-Status Indian Relations

The Minister works with Métis and Non-Status Indian organizations, as well as with provincial governments where appropriate, to find practical ways to improve the life chances of Métis and Non-Status Indians.

AANDC provides funding to support bilateral and tripartite processes and to support Métis, Non-Status Indian and off-reserve Aboriginal organizations.

Bilateral discussions provide a forum where these organizations can meet federal ministers to discuss priority issues with respect to the people they represent, helping to inform federal policies, raise political awareness of the concerns and interests of Métis and Non-Status Indians.

In addition, the Minister is responsible for federal participation in tripartite negotiation processes that involve Métis and off-reserve Aboriginal organizations and provinces.

Tripartite negotiation processes enable provincial, regional and urban Métis and off-reserve Aboriginal organizations to engage with provincial and federal governments to build effective partnerships and to participate in negotiations of practical measures to strengthen organizational governance capacity, support their service delivery institutions and discuss better access to federal and provincial programs and services.

What Information is Available?

In 2003, the Supreme Court of Canada made a ruling in favour of two Métis men which affirmed Métis Aboriginal rights in Canada. In this section learn more about the Powley case by consulting the Powley Frequently Asked Questions and the Frequently Asked Questions for general information on Métis.

You may also be interested in:

Contact Us

AANDC Public Enquiries Contact Centre
Phone: (toll-free) 1-800-567-9604
TTY: (toll-free) 1-866-553-0554
Fax: 1-866-817-3977

Relations avec les Métis et les Indiens non inscrits

Le ministre travaille avec les organisations des Métis et des Indiens non inscrits ainsi qu'avec les gouvernements provinciaux s'il y a lieu, afin de trouver des moyens concrets d'améliorer les perspectives d'avenir des Métis et des Indiens non inscrits.

AADNC octroie du financement pour appuyer les processus bilatéraux et tripartites de même que les organisations des Métis, des Indiens non inscrits et des Autochtones hors réserve.

Les discussions bilatérales permettent à ces organisations de rencontrer les ministres fédéraux afin de discuter de dossiers prioritaires qui concernent les gens qu'elles représentent, contribuant ainsi à étoffer les politiques fédérales et à sensibiliser la classe politique aux préoccupations et aux intérêts des Métis et des Indiens non inscrits.

En outre, le ministre est responsable de la participation du gouvernement fédéral aux processus de négociations tripartites qui mobilisent les organisations des Métis et des Autochtones hors réserve et les provinces.

Les processus de négociations tripartites permettent aux organisations des Métis et des Autochtones hors réserve à l'échelle provinciale, régionale et urbaine de dialoguer avec les gouvernements provinciaux et fédéral. Ces processus permettent de créer des partenariats efficaces et de participer aux négociations visant l'adoption de mesures concrètes destinées à renforcer les capacités de gouvernance de ces organisations, à soutenir leurs institutions de prestation de services et à discuter des moyens d'améliorer l'accessibilité des programmes et services fédéraux et provinciaux.

Renseignements disponibles?

En 2003, la Cour suprême du Canada a statué en faveur de deux Métis, une décision qui a reconnu les droits ancestraux des Métis au Canada. Dans cette section, vous en apprendrez davantage sur l'affaire Powley sous les rubriques Foire aux questions – Powley et Questions générales fréquemment posées sur les Métis.

Autres liens d'intérêt

Pour nous joindre

Centre de renseignements au public d'AADNC
Téléphone : 1-800-567-9604 (sans frais)
ATS : 1-866-553-0554 (sans frais)
Télécopieur : 1-866-817-3977