Inuit are the Aboriginal people of the Arctic. The word Inuit means "the people" in the Inuit language of Inuktitut. The singular of Inuit is Inuk.

Choose a topic:

Inuit population and language

Three-quarters of Inuit in Canada live in 53 communities across the northern regions of Canada in Inuit Nunangat, which means "the place where Inuit live." Inuit Nunangat is comprised of four regions: Inuvialuit (NWT and Yukon), Nunavut, Nunavik (Northern Quebec) and Nunatsiavut (Labrador).

Approximately 43,455 Inuit live in these regions. 

  • In Inuvialuit, there are 3,310 Inuit
  • In Nunavut, 27,070
  • In Nunavik, 10,750
  • In Nunatsiavut, 2,325.

In total, approximately 155,000 Inuit live in Canada, Greenland, Alaska and Russia.

Growth of urban Inuit

Urban Inuit are the fastest growing and youngest urban Aboriginal group. According to the 2011 National Household Survey, about 15,985 live outside of Inuit Nunangat, with 7,095 residing in Canada's cities.

As of 2011, the urban centres with the largest Inuit populations are Edmonton (1,115), Montreal (900), Ottawa (735), Yellowknife (735) and St. John's (680).

Find out more


Throughout Inuit Nunangat, Inuktitut is spoken; however, each region has its own dialect(s). There are two written styles of Inuktitut: syllabics and roman orthography.

Syllabics use symbols to represent sounds rather than letters. Roman orthography uses the English alphabet to sound out the words in Inuktitut.

"Thank you" can be written and pronounced in a variety of ways, dependant on the dialect.

How to say "thank you" in four Inuktitut dialects
Dialect (region) Roman orthography Syllabics
Uqqurmiut (southern Baffin Island) Nakurmiik! ᓇᒃᑯᖕᒦᒃ          
Aggurmiut (northern Baffin Island) Qujannamiik! ᖁᔭᓐᓇᒦᒃ
Inuvialuktun (Western Arctic) Quyanainni! ᖁᔭᓇᐃᓐᓂ
Inuttitut (Nunatsiavut Region) Nakummek! ᓇᒃᑯᒥᒃ

Building Inuit economic success, including art

According to the 2011 National Household Survey, the Inuit population is young, with a median age of 23. The Government of Canada has several programs and initiatives to help young Inuit fully participate in the Canadian economy.

The First Nations and Inuit Youth Employment Strategy supports initiatives that provide Inuit and First Nations youth with work experience, information about career options and opportunities to develop skills that help them gain employment and develop careers.

The Federal Framework for Aboriginal Economic Development was launched in 2009 to guide federal actions towards increasing the participation of Inuit, First Nations and Métis in the Canadian economy. This was followed by the Strategic Partnerships Initiative, in 2010, which helps to increase Aboriginal participation in complex economic opportunities.

As well, Inuit in Nunavut are currently participating in the construction of the Canadian High Arctic Research Station. More than 65% of the construction packages have been awarded so far to Inuit-owned or Nunavut Tunngavik Inc. registered firms.

Inuit art

The arts are a vital element of Inuit culture and traditions. Cape Dorset in Nunavut is known as the "Capital of Inuit Art" and one out of five workers here are employed in the arts.

For decades, Inuit art has played an integral role in the Northern economy and contributed millions of dollars to the regional economy.

AANDC provides financial assistance to the Inuit Art Foundation. The foundation supports Inuit artists and the development and appreciation of Inuit art. It is the only national organization that promotes Inuit artists from all four northern regions (Inuvialuit, Nunavut, Nunavik and Nunatsiavut) in Canada and internationally.

AANDC is developing a comprehensive analysis of the Inuit arts economy (i.e. fine arts, music, film, theatre and other forms). The study is intended to include a full economic analysis of the Inuit arts economy in each of the four Inuit regions, as well as southern Canada.

Find out more

Devolution and land claims agreements in Inuit Nunangat

Northern governance and placing more control into the hands of Northerners have been a major part of Canada's Northern Strategy.

Inuit land claims agreements have been signed in all four Inuit regions:

Under their respective land claims agreements, Inuit were granted title to certain blocks of land. The four land claims regions cover about 40 per cent of Canada's land mass.

  • Under the Western Arctic (Inuvialuit) Claims Settlement Act, Inuvialuit of the Inuvialuit Settlement Region [pdf], have title to approximately 91,000 square kilometres of land.
  • Under the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement Act, Inuit in Nunavut have title to 352,191 square kilometres of land.
  • Inuit of Nunavik have title to 8,152 square kilometres of land and exercise some rights over 992,307.58 square kilometres of land. They also have title to approximately 5,100 square kilometres of land on the islands in the Nunavik marine region.
  • Under the Land Claims Agreement between the Inuit of Labrador and Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Newfoundland and Labrador and Her Majesty the Queen in Right Canada, Inuit of Nunatsiavut have title to approximately 15,800 square kilometres of land within the Labrador Inuit Settlement Area and rights over 72,520 square kilometres of land in northern Labrador.

Government of Canada's apology for the Inuit High Arctic relocation

In August 2010, the Minister of AAND apologized to Inuit families who were relocated in the 1950s to the High Arctic. During these relocations, Inuit families from Port Harrison (Inukjuak) in Northern Québec and Pond Inlet in Nunavut were moved to the High Arctic communities of Resolute Bay and Grise Fiord (Craig Harbour) in Nunavut.

Inuit who were relocated had to adapt to colder climates and longer periods of total light or darkness. Inuit were separated from home communities and extended family were not provided with adequate shelter and supplies and were not properly informed of where they would be located or for how long.

The 2010 apology helped Inuit affected by the relocation continue to move towards healing and reconciliation.

Find out more

Nanilavut: Let's find them

Tuberculosis in Canada was at epidemic proportions in the early twentieth century and peaked between the 1940s and 1960s. A significant number of Inuit were affected and sent away from their communities to undergo treatment.

Many patients were treated and returned home. Others succumbed to the illness and were buried in cemeteries near the treatment facilities.

It is unclear how many Inuit passed away at that time and information about their burial was not always effectively communicated back to the patients' communities and families. To this day, some families do not know what became of their loved ones who were sent away for medical treatment.

Since 2008, AANDC has been working with key stakeholders and in 2010, established a multi-stakeholder working group, called Nanilavut (‘Let's find them' in Inuktitut). Nanilavut assists in the search for family members who passed away while undergoing medical treatment. The goal is to help bring closure and begin the healing process for Inuit families and communities.

Success stories

Learn more about community driven efforts that improve the lives of Inuit individuals, families and communities.

AANDC's role

AANDC negotiates and implements Acts, agreements, treaties and land claims on behalf of the Government of Canada. The department is also responsible for fulfilling obligations in historic treaties. Strong partnerships among Aboriginal people, governments and the private sector continue to emerge as we address outstanding land claims and treaty issues and work toward self-government.

AANDC works with Inuit organizations, and territorial and provincial governments to build social well-being, economic prosperity and healthy communities for the Inuit of Nunatsiavut, Nunavik, Nunavut and the Inuvialuit Settlement Region. This includes support for the Nunavik Housing Policy and coordinating the Nunatsiavut Housing Needs Assessment (issues that are outside of negotiated land claims agreements and are not covered through on-reserve housing policies and programs).

AANDC promotes circumpolar cooperation and plays a role in the Arctic Council

Inuit organizations

AANDC partners with many Inuit organizations, including:

Date modified:

Inuit

Les Inuit sont le peuple autochtone de l'Arctique. Le mot « Inuit » signifie « peuple » en inuktitut, la langue inuite. Le singulier d'Inuit est Inuk.

Choisir un sujet :

Population et langue inuite

Les trois quarts des Inuit au Canada vivent dans 53 collectivités des régions du Nord du Canada dans l'Inuit Nunangat, qui signifie « l'endroit où vivent les Inuit ». L'Inuit Nunangat est composé de quatre régions : l'Inuvialuit (Territoires du Nord-Ouest et Yukon), le Nunavut, le Nunavik (Nord du Québec) et le Nunatsiavut (Labrador).

Environ 43 455 Inuit vivent dans ces régions.

  • en Inuvialuit, on compte 3 310 Inuit
  • au Nunavut, 27 070
  • au Nunavik, 10 750
  • au Nunatsiavut, 2 325

Au total, environ 155 000 Inuit habitent au Canada, au Groenland, en Alaska et en Russie.

Nombre accru d’Inuit vivant en milieu urbain

Les Inuit vivant en milieu urbain sont le groupe autochtone le plus jeune et dont la croissance est la plus rapide. Selon l'Enquête nationale auprès des ménages de 2011, environ 15 985 Inuit vivent à l'extérieur de l'Inuit Nunangat, dont 7 095  dans les villes canadiennes.

En 2011, les centres urbains comptant les plus importantes populations inuites sont : Edmonton (1 115), Montréal (900), Ottawa (735), Yellowknife (735) et St. John's (680).

Pour en savoir davantage

Inuktitut

Dans l'ensemble de l'Inuit Nunangat, l'inuktitut est la langue parlée; toutefois, chaque région a son ou ses propres dialectes. On peut écrire l'inuktitut de deux façons : soit avec les caractères syllabiques, soit avec l'orthographe romaine.

L'écriture syllabique utilise des symboles qui représentent des sons plutôt que des lettres. L'orthographe romaine se sert du même alphabet que le français pour transcrire la prononciation des mots en inuktitut.

« Merci » peut s'écrire et se prononcer de différentes façons, selon le dialecte.

Comment dire "merci" en quatre dialectes différents de l'inuktitut
Dialecte (région) Orthographe romaine Écriture syllabique
Uqqurmiut (sud de l’île de Baffin) Nakurmiik! ᓇᒃᑯᖕᒦᒃ
Aggurmiut (nord de l’île de Baffin) Qujannamiik! ᖁᔭᓐᓇᒦᒃ
Inuvialuktun (Arctique de l’Ouest) Quyanainni! ᖁᔭᓇᐃᓐᓂ
Inuttitut (région du Nunatsiavut) Nakummek! ᓇᒃᑯᒥᒃ

Développer le succès économique des Inuit, incluant l’art

Selon l'Enquête nationale auprès des ménages de 2011, la population Inuite est jeune, l'âge médian se situant à 23 ans. Le gouvernement du Canada compte plusieurs programmes et initiatives qui aident les jeunes Inuit à participer pleinement à l'économie canadienne.

La Stratégie d'emploi pour les jeunes Inuit et les jeunes des Premières Nations permet de financer des initiatives visant à donner aux jeunes Inuit et aux jeunes des Premières Nations une expérience professionnelle, de l'information sur les possibilités de carrière et des occasions d'acquérir des compétences qui les aideront à développer une carrière et obtenir un emploi.

Le Cadre fédéral pour le développement économique des Autochtones a été lancé en 2009 afin d'orienter les mesures fédérales vers un accroissement de la participation des Inuit, des Premières Nations et des Métis à l'économie canadienne. Il a été suivi, en 2010, par l'Initiative sur les partenariats stratégiques qui aide à augmenter la participation des Autochtones à des projets économiques complexes.

De plus, les Inuit du Nunavut participent actuellement à la construction de la Station canadienne de recherche dans l'Extrême-Arctique. Plus de 65 % des travaux de construction ont été attribués à des sociétés détenues par des Inuit ou inscrites au registre des entreprises de la Nunavut Tunngavik Inc.

Art inuit

Les arts constituent un élément vital de la culture et des traditions inuites. Cape Dorset au Nunavut est connue comme la « capitale de l'art inuit », et une personne sur cinq travaille dans le domaine des arts.

Pendant des décennies, l'art inuit a joué un rôle de premier plan dans l'économie du Nord et a généré des millions de dollars dans l'économie régionale.

AANC offre de l'aide financière à la Fondation de l'art inuit (site Web non disponible en français). La Fondation appuie les artistes inuits et le développement et l'appréciation de leur art. C'est la seule organisation nationale qui fait la promotion des artistes inuits des quatre régions du Nord (l'Inuvialuit, le Nunavut, le Nunavik et le Nunatsiavut), au pays et sur la scène internationale.

AANC élabore actuellement une analyse exhaustive de l'économie liée à l'art inuit (c.-à-d. les beaux-arts, la musique, le cinéma, le théâtre et autres formes d'art). L'étude vise à inclure une analyse complète de l'économie liée à l'art inuit pour chacune des quatre régions inuites, ainsi que pour le Sud du Canada.

Pour en savoir davantage

Entente sur le transfert des responsabilités et accords sur les revendications territoriales dans l’Inuit Nunangat

La gouvernance du Nord et le contrôle accru donné aux habitants du Nord font partie intégrante de la Stratégie pour le Nord du Canada.

Des accords sur les revendications territoriales ont été signés dans les quatre régions inuites :

En vertu de leurs accords respectifs sur les revendications territoriales, les Inuit ont obtenu les titres sur certaines portions de territoire. Les quatre régions visées par des revendications territoriales couvrent environ 40 % de la masse continentale du Canada.

  • Aux termes de la Loi sur le règlement des revendications des Inuvialuit de la région ouest de l'Arctique, les Inuvialuit de la région désignée des Inuvialuit (PDF) (site Web non disponible en français) détiennent les titres sur environ 91 000 kilomètres carrés de terres.
  • En vertu de la Loi concernant l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut, les Inuit du Nunavut ont des titres sur 352 191 kilomètres carrés de terres.
  • Les Inuit du Nunavik détiennent les titres sur 8 152 kilomètres carrés de terres et exercent certains droits sur 992 307,58 kilomètres carrés de terres. Ils ont aussi des titres sur environ 5 100 kilomètres carrés de terres dans les îles de la région marine du Nunavik.
  • En vertu de l'Accord sur les revendications territoriales entre les Inuit du Labrador et Sa Majesté la Reine du chef de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador et Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, les Inuit du Nunatsiavut possèdent des titres sur environ 15 800 kilomètres carrés de terres à l'intérieur de la région du règlement des Inuit du Labrador, ainsi que des droits sur 72 520 kilomètres carrés de terres dans le nord du Labrador.

Excuses du gouvernement du Canada relatives à la réinstallation d’Inuit dans l’Extrême Arctique

En août 2010, le ministre d'Affaires autochtones et developpement du nord a présenté des excuses aux familles inuites qui ont été réinstallées dans l'Extrême-Arctique dans les années 1950. Durant cette période, les familles inuites de Port Harrison (Inukjuak) dans le Nord du Québec et de Pond Inlet au Nunavut ont été déplacées dans l'Extrême-Arctique, dans les collectivités de Resolute Bay et de Grise Fiord (Craig Harbour) au Nunavut.

Les Inuit qui ont été réinstallés ont dû s'adapter à un climat plus froid et à des périodes de lumière ou d'obscurité totale plus longues. Ils ont été retirés de leurs communautés d'origine et de leurs familles élargies. On ne leur a pas fourni les logements et les fournitures dont ils avaient besoin, et on ne leur a pas bien expliqué à quel endroit ils vivraient et pendant combien de temps.

Les excuses de 2010 ont aidé les Inuit touchés par la réinstallation à poursuivre le processus de guérison et de réconciliation.

Pour en savoir davantage

Nanilavut : Retrouvons-les Inuit disparus

Au Canada, au début du vingtième siècle la tuberculose a atteint des proportions épidémiques, atteignant un sommet entre les années 1940 et 1960. Un nombre important d'Inuit ont été atteints de la maladie et furent envoyés loin de leur collectivité, pour suivre un traitement.

De nombreux patients ont été traités puis renvoyés chez eux. D'autres ont succombé à la maladie et ont été enterrés dans des cimetières situés près des établissements de traitement.

Nous ignorons le nombre exact d'Inuit décédés à cette époque et les renseignements sur leur enterrement n'ont pas toujours été efficacement transmis à la collectivité et à la famille des défunts. Certaines familles ne savent toujours pas ce qui est advenu des êtres chers qui ont été envoyés à l'extérieur de leur collectivité pour se faire soigner.

Depuis 2008, AANC travaille avec des intervenants clés et, en 2010, il a mis sur pied un groupe de travail multipartite, appelé Nanilavut (« Retrouvons-les » en inuktitut). Nanilavut appuie la recherche de proches décédés pendant leur traitement médical. L'objectif est d'aider les familles et les collectivités inuites à faire leur deuil et à entamer le processus de guérison.

Histoires de réussite

Pour en savoir davantage sur les efforts communautaires déployés pour améliorer la vie des personnes, des familles et des collectivités inuites.

Rôle d’AANC

AANC assure la négociation et la mise en œuvre de lois, ententes, traités et revendications territoriales au nom du gouvernement du Canada. Le Ministère est également responsable du respect des obligations concernant les traités historiques. De solides partenariats se forment entre les peuples autochtones, les gouvernements et le secteur privé au fur et à mesure que nous travaillons à résoudre les questions en suspens liées aux revendications territoriales et aux traités, pour cheminer vers l'autonomie gouvernementale.

AANC travaille avec les organisations inuites et les gouvernements territoriaux et provinciaux pour renforcer le bien-être social, la prospérité économique et la santé des collectivités inuites des zones de règlement de revendication territoriale du Nunatsiavut, du Nunavik, du Nunavut et de la région désignée des Inuvialuit. Il appuie la politique sur le logement du Nunavik et assure la coordination de l'évaluation des besoins en matière de logement au Nunatsiavut (questions non incluses dans les ententes négociées sur les revendications territoriales ni dans les politiques ou les programmes pour le logement dans les réserves).

AANC fait la promotion de la collaboration circumpolaire et joue un rôle au sein du Conseil de l'Arctique.

Organisations inuites

AANC s'associe à de nombreuses organisations inuites, notamment :

Date de modification :