Governance Tools for Communities

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Self-Assessment Tools

To find the governance tools that will be most useful, a community can first identify its strengths and flag the capacity gaps it wishes to correct. A number of self-assessment tools exist. The tools available through Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada and the British Columbia Assembly of First Nations are directly relevant to First Nations:

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada

British Columbia Assembly of First Nations

Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat

International Development Research Centre

Global Development Research Center

McKinsey and Company

Suggest a new governance tool.

Ten Core Functions of First Nation Governments

First Nations perform functions common to all governments. These have been described in different ways by organizations such as the United Nations (PDF) and the Institute on Governance. Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada provides funding and concrete help to First Nations communities interested in improving their governance systems. The department therefore uses a practical definition of governance which focuses on activities within ten core functions:

Table of contents

Here are some tools to help communities in each of these areas. Funding is also available through the Professional and Institutional Development Program when a community needs help that is not available through existing resources.

Leadership Tools

Leadership activities involve the fair and open leadership selection of government leaders, transparent compensation for their work, meetings of council, and the accountability of these leaders for government operations. Examples include leadership selection and election codes and processes, defining the roles and responsibilities of chiefs and councillors, and the government's policy-making processes.

Aboriginal Financial Officers Association of Canada

  • Resources, Toolkits, Best Practices & Reference Documents for Elected Leadership
  • Strategic Management & Accountability for First Nations – Best Practices to Consider

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada

Institute on Governance

Justice Canada

Suggest a new governance tool.

Membership Tools

Membership activities involve recognizing those individuals who are formal members of First Nation communities. Activities include developing and applying policies which decide who is a member, registering individuals, and maintaining membership lists.

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada

Suggest a new governance tool.

Law-Making Tools

Law-Making activities apply the legal powers of a First Nation such as through bylaws. Activities include drafting proposed community laws, passing and amending bylaws through meetings of council, and recording and making these laws public.

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada

Justice Canada

  • Indian Act: Powers Of The Council (by-laws)

Suggest a new governance tool.

Community Involvement Tools

Community Involvement activities allow First Nation members to participate in government decision-making and to stay informed. This is often done by applying policies and tools for communicating with band members and by offering community consultations, appeal mechanisms, and dispute resolution measures.

First Nations in British Columbia Portal

  • Policy Procedures for Community Based Decisions Template

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada

Nuu-chah-nulth Tribal Council

  • AHP-CII-UK (Going the Right Way) - A Handbook for Creating Lasting Change in First Nation Communities

Suggest a new governance tool.

External Relations Tools

External Relations involve the interaction of the community administration with other government organizations, non-governmental organizations, and the private sector. Activities include participating in intergovernmental forums and public-service professional associations and communicating with other governments and the broader Canadian public. Establishing and maintaining relationships with stakeholders can facilitate other important processes such discussions on land claims, resource rights, funding transfers, and public-private partnerships.

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada

Nuu-chah-nulth Tribal Council

  • AHP-CII-UK (Going the Right Way) - A Handbook for Creating Lasting Change in First Nation Communities

Suggest a new governance tool.

Planning and Risk Management Tools

Planning and Risk Management activities allow the First Nation government to organize, oversee, and report on its programs, to foster continuous improvement, and to plan ahead. This function includes ensuring services support a broader vision, identifying and mitigating risks, strategic planning, community planning, planning for capacity development, and monitoring, evaluating and reporting on program performance.

Aboriginal Financial Officers Association of Canada

  • Impact and Benefits Agreements Community Toolkit
  • Resources, Toolkits, Best Practices & Reference Documents in Applied Management
  • Strategic Management & Accountability for First Nations – Best Practices to Consider

British Columbia Assembly of First Nations

First Nations in British Columbia Portal

First Nations Emergency Services Society

  • Emergency Plan Template and Guide

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada

  • Comprehensive Community Planning Handbook for First Nations in British Columbia
  • First Nation Self-Evaluation of Community Programs – A Guidebook on Performance Management

International Development Research Centre (Ottawa),

Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat

Suggest a new governance tool.

Financial Management Tools

Financial Management entails planning, managing, and monitoring assets, liabilities, revenues and expenditures. Activities include setting financial policies, developing budgets, tracking financial transactions, completing and communicating audited financial statements, collecting revenues, and tendering and awarding contracts.

Aboriginal Financial Officers Association of Canada

  • Resources, Toolkits, Best Practices & Reference Documents
  • Sample models of First Nation financial codes
  • Sample templates and synopses of financial policies and procedures
  • Financial Reporting by First Nations
  • Workshop Presentation – Preparing Financial Statements Under the Common Government Reporting Model
  • Sample First Nation Operations Manual
  • Fiscal Planning Calendar

First Nations in British Columbia Portal

  • High Bar First Nation Finance Policy and Procedures Manual

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada

Suggest a new governance tool.

Human Resources Management Tools

Human Resources Management includes activities which hire, retain, and compensate the skilled people needed to meet the First Nation government's goals. This function includes developing policies (such as hiring processes, codes of ethics, and conflict of interest guidelines,) developing job descriptions, supporting volunteers, recruiting staff, organizing training, and administering salaries and benefits.

British Columbia First Nations Public Service Initiative

First Nations in British Columbia Portal

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada

Suggest a new governance tool.

Information Management and Information Technology Tools

Information Management and Information Technology activities manage the data systems and maintain the business practices which ensure that administrators and community leaders have access to reliable and secure information on the government's services and on the needs of the people it serves. This function includes developing and applying policies on data security, on access to information and privacy, on document management, and on the purchase and maintenance of computer hardware and software.

First Nation Technology Council

Basic Administration Tools

Basic Administration activities include the practices which govern the efficient day-to-day functioning of the community administration such as general office procedures and policies on core internal services.

Aboriginal Financial Officers Association of Canada

  • Sample First Nation Operations Manual

Suggest a new governance tool.

Date modified:

Outils de gouvernance pour les collectivités

Outils d'auto-évaluation

Pour trouver les outils de gouvernance les plus pertinents, une collectivité doit recenser ses forces et cibler les lacunes en matière de capacité qu'elle doit corriger. Il existe un certain nombre d'outils d'auto-évaluation. Les outils offerts par Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada et l'Assemblée des Premières nations de la Colombie-Britannique s'adressent directement aux Premières nations :

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada

British Columbia Assembly of First Nations

Centre de recherches pour le développement international

Global Development Research Center

McKinsey and Company

Secretariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada Secretariat

Suggérez-nous un nouvel outil de gouvernance.

Outils concernant dix fonctions essentielles des gouvernements des Premières nations

Les Premières nations s'acquittent de fonctions communes à tous les gouvernements. Celles-ci ont été décrites de diverses manières par des organisations comme les Nations Unies (PDF) et l'Institut sur la gouvernance. Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada dispense du financement et une aide concrète aux collectivités des Premières nations qui désirent améliorer leur système de gouvernance. À cette fin, le Ministère utilise une définition pratique de la gouvernance qui permet d'axer les activités autour de dix fonctions essentielles :

Table des matières

Voici quelques outils qui visent à aider les collectivités dans chacun de ces domaines. Les collectivités qui nécessitent une forme de soutien non prévue par les ressources existantes peuvent obtenir du financement dans le cadre du Programme de développement professionnel et institutionnel.

Outils concernant le Leadership

Les activités de leadership consistent à sélectionner les dirigeants gouvernementaux de manière juste et ouverte, à les rémunérer avec transparence, à tenir des réunions du conseil et à rendre compte des activités du gouvernement. Cette fonction comprend les codes et processus de sélection et d'élection des dirigeants, la détermination des rôles et responsabilités des chefs et des conseillers, ainsi que les processus gouvernementaux d'élaboration des politiques.

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada

Association des agents financiers autochtones du Canada

  • Ressources, trousses d'outils, pratiques exemplaires et documents de référence pou les chefs élus
  • Strategic Management & Accountability for First Nations – Best Practices to Consider

Institut sur la gouvernance

  • Clarifying Roles of Aboriginal Leaders and their Staff: A Model Governance Policy
  • Les cinq principes de la bonne gouvernance

Justice Canada

Suggérez-nous un nouvel outil de gouvernance.

Outils concernant l'appartenance

La fonction liée à l'appartenance consiste à reconnaître les personnes qui sont officiellement membres des collectivités des Premières nations. Les activités comprennent l'élaboration et l'application de politiques en matière d'appartenance, l'inscription des membres et la tenue à jour des listes de membres.

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada

Suggérez-nous un nouvel outil de gouvernance.

Outils concernant la compétence législative

Les activités relevant de la compétence législative sous-tendent l'application des pouvoirs légaux d'une Première nation, notamment au moyen de règlements. Cette fonction comprend la rédaction des règlements communautaires proposés, l'adoption et la modification de ces derniers lors des rencontres du conseil, de même que leur enregistrement et leur publication.

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada

  • Règlements Administratifs
  • Atelier des règlements administratifs

Justice Canada

Suggérez-nous un nouvel outil de gouvernance.

Outils concernant la participation communautaire

Les activités associées à la participation communautaire permettent aux membres d'une Première nation de participer à la prise de décisions par le gouvernement et de demeurer informer. Elles sont souvent rendues possibles grâce à l'application de politiques et d'outils axés sur la communication avec les membres de la bande, à la tenue de consultations communautaires, à la mise en place de mécanismes d'appel et à la prise de mesures de règlement des différends.

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada

Conseil tribal Nuu-chah-nulth

  • AHP-CII-UK (Going the Right Way) – A Handbook for Creating Lasting Change in First Nation Communities

First Nations in British Columbia Portal

  • Policy Procedures for Community Based Decisions Template

Suggérez-nous un nouvel outil de gouvernance.

Outils concernant les relations externes

La fonction liée aux relations externes touche les interactions entre les administrateurs d'une collectivité et les organismes gouvernementaux, les organismes non gouvernementaux et le secteur privé. Sont comprises la participation à des forums intergouvernementaux et à des associations professionnelles de la fonction publique ainsi que la communication avec les autres gouvernements et la population canadienne dans son ensemble. L'établissement et le maintien de relations avec les intervenants peuvent faciliter d'autres processus importants, comme les discussions sur les revendications territoriales, les droits aux ressources, les transferts de fonds et les partenariats publics-privés.

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada

Conseil tribal Nuu-chah-nulth

  • AHP-CII-UK (Going the Right Way) – A Handbook for Creating Lasting Change in First Nation Communities

Suggérez-nous un nouvel outil de gouvernance.

Outils concernant la planification et la gestion du risque

La planification et la gestion du risque permettent au gouvernement d'une Première nation d'organiser et de superviser ses programmes et de faire rapport à leur sujet de manière à favoriser l'amélioration continue et la planification. Cette fonction vise à garantir que les services appuient une vision globale. Elle prévoit aussi la détermination et l'atténuation des risques, la planification stratégique, la planification communautaire, la planification du développement des capacités, ainsi que la surveillance, l'évaluation du rendement des programmes et la production de rapports connexes.

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada

  • Guide de la Planification communautaire globale (PCG) pour les Premières nations de la Colombie Britannique

Association des agents financiers autochtones du Canada

  • First Nation Self-Evaluation of Community Programs – A Guidebook on Performance Management
  • Impact and Benefits Agreements Community Toolkit
  • Ressources, trousses d'outils, pratiques exemplaires et documents de référence sur la gestion appliquée
  • Strategic Management & Accountability for First Nations – Best Practices to Consider

British Columbia Assembly of First Nations

  • First Nations' Governance Community Engagement and Self-Assessment Tool – BCAFN Governance Tool (site Web non disponible en français)

Centre de recherches pour le développement international

First Nations Emergency Services Society

  • Emergency Plan Template and Guide

First Nations in British Columbia Portal

Secretariat du conseil du trésor Canada

Suggérez-nous un nouvel outil de gouvernance.

Outils concernant la gestion financière

La gestion financière sous-tend la planification, la gestion et la surveillance des éléments d'actif et de passif, des recettes et des dépenses. Elle comprend l'élaboration des politiques financières, la préparation des budgets, le suivi des opérations financières, l'élaboration et la transmission des états financiers vérifiés, la perception des recettes, la préparation des appels d'offres et l'attribution des contrats.

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada

Association des agents financiers autochtones du Canada

  • Ressources, trousses d'outils, pratiques exemplaires et documents de référence
  • Échantillons de modèles de codes financiers des Premières Nations
  • Sample templates and synopses of financial policies and procedures
  • Financial Reporting by First Nations
  • Présentation PowerPoint – Préparation des états financiers selon le modèle commun de présentation de l'information des gouvernements
  • Sample First Nation Operations Manual
  • Calendrier de planification financière de Premières nations

First Nations in British Columbia Portal

  • High Bar First Nation Policy and Procedures Manual

Suggérez-nous un nouvel outil de gouvernance.

Outils concernant la gestion des ressources humaines

La gestion des ressources humaines englobe toutes les activités liées à l'embauche, au maintien en poste et à la rémunération du personnel qualifié dont un gouvernement des Premières nations a besoin pour atteindre ses objectifs. Cette fonction comprend l'élaboration de politiques (p. ex. processus d'embauche, codes d'éthique et lignes directrices sur les conflits d'intérêts), la rédaction de descriptions de travail, l'appui des bénévoles, le recrutement du personnel, l'organisation de la formation et l'administration des salaires et des avantages sociaux.

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada

British Columbia First Nations Public Service Initiative

First Nations in British Columbia Portal

Suggérez-nous un nouvel outil de gouvernance.

Outils concernant la gestion de l'information et de la technologie de l'information

La gestion de l'information de la technologie de l'information comprend la gestion des systèmes de données et le maintien des pratiques opérationnelles qui permettent aux administrateurs et aux dirigeants de la collectivité d'avoir de l'information fiable, sûre et accessible quant aux services gouvernementaux et aux besoins des gens qu'ils servent. Cette fonction comprend l'élaboration et l'application de politiques sur ce qui suit : la sécurité des données, l'accès à l'information et la protection des renseignements personnels, la gestion des documents, et l'achat et la maintenance des logiciels et du matériel informatique.

First Nations in British Columbia, First Nations Technology Council

  • Community Technology Plan
  • Information Management Toolkit

Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, Office of the Chief Information Officer

Outils concernant l'administration de base

L'administration de base porte sur les pratiques qui gouvernent le bon fonctionnement d'une administration communautaire au quotidien, comme les procédures et politiques de bureau générales portant sur les services internes essentiels.

Association des agents financiers autochtones du Canada

  • Sample First Nation Operations Manual

Suggérez-nous un nouvel outil de gouvernance.

Date de modification :