Tools for Governance

Practical tools are available to organizations seeking to improve their internal governance processes.

Governance Tools for Communities

Resources for communities include self-assessment tools which can be used to set priorities for organizational capacity development, guidebooks, and examples of policies used in First Nations communities. Tools known to Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada are organized according to ten practical functions of core governance.

For more information, consult the Governance Capacity Planning Tool

Governance Tools for Institutions

Resources are also available for larger organizations, such as First Nations institutions and crown corporations. Many of these resources are based on models of governance used in the Canadian federal government.

Governance Reference Documents

Many organizations, such as the Aboriginal Financial Officers Association, continue to develop materials which are useful for strengthening core governance. Many make these available through their websites.

Outils pour la gouvernance

Outils de gouvernance pour les collectivités

Parmi les ressources offertes aux collectivités, on compte un outil d'auto-évaluation, qui sert à établir les priorités en matière de développement de la capacité organisationnelle, des guides ainsi que des exemples de politiques en vigueur dans les Premières nations. Les outils connus d’Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada sont organisés selon dix fonctions de gouvernance essentielles.

Pour plus d'information, consultez l'outil de planification de la capacité de gouvernance

Outils de gouvernance pour les institutions

Il existe également des ressources pour les organisations de plus grande ampleur, comme les institutions des Premières nations et les sociétés d'État. Beaucoup des ressources disponibles se fondent sur les modèles de gouvernance du gouvernement fédéral.

Documents de référence sur la gouvernance

De nombreuses organisations, comme l'Association des agents financiers autochtones du Canada, continuent à élaborer du matériel pertinent sur le renforcement de la gouvernance centrale qu'elles rendent disponible sur leur site Web.