Employee Benefits

This program (formerly Band Employee Benefits) provides funding to eligible First Nation and Inuit employers to support the employer's share of contributions to eligible employees' pension plans. These may include the costs of employer sponsored pension plans, the Canada/Quebec Pension Plan (CPP/QPP) and any additional employee benefits.

Choose a topic:

About the program

The Employee Benefits program supports eligible First Nation and Inuit employers in attracting and keeping the qualified staff needed to manage and deliver programs and services taken over from the federal government. The program enables eligible employers to establish competitive employee benefit packages comparable to other employers (such as federal, provincial and municipal governments, school boards, etc.). This also supports Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC)’s goal of transferring control of program management and program delivery to band communities.

In communities where the Employee Benefits program is available, employers must provide employee benefits to all employees, including those not funded under the Employee Benefits program.

To receive Employee Benefits program funding, pension plans must meet the requirements of Revenue Canada Taxation (for CPP/QPP) and the Pension Benefits Standards Act, 1985 administered by the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions.

The maximum amount payable is determined by a funding formula.  The employee's share of the cost of employer-sponsored pension plans will be, at minimum, equal to the employer's share.  The employer's share will be contributed by the department.  Only the three existing defined benefit pension plans may vary from this maximum amount payable.

Who can apply?

First Nation and Inuit employers with employees involved in delivering programs funded by the department.

However, employees are not eligible if they:

Deadline

Varies by region between January and March 31 of each year. Contact your INAC regional office.

How to apply

Recipients must complete an annual application form.  If a recipient assumes management of a new program, or wishes to receive an increase in funding, an application form must be submitted again.

If you are applying on behalf of a First Nation, use the First Nation Application for Indian Government Support Programs.

If you are applying on behalf of a Tribal Council, use the Tribal Council Consolidated Application for Funding.

If you are applying on behalf of an organization other than a First Nation or Tribal Council, use the Application For Band Employee Benefits – Organizations Other Than First Nations And Tribal Councils.

When applying, consult the Employee Benefits Program Policy for more information.

Submit a complete application form to your regional office.  All forms must be accompanied by a list of eligible employees.

The department will review applications to determine the maximum eligible funding level for the new fiscal year.

For more information on how to develop governance capacity in your community, consult Tools for Governance.

Date modified:

Programme des avantages sociaux des employés

Ce programme (anciennement Programme des avantages sociaux des employés des bandes) fournit des fonds aux employeurs inuits et à ceux des Premières Nations pour les aider à assumer leur contribution aux régimes de retraite des employés qui y ont droit. Cela peut inclure les coûts des régimes de pension pris en charge par l'employeur, les régimes de pension du Canada et du Québec (RPC/RRQ) et les autres avantages sociaux supplémentaires destinés aux employés.

Choisir un sujet :

À propos du programme

Le Programme des avantages sociaux des employés aide les employeurs inuits et ceux des Premières Nations admissibles à être concurrentiels lorsqu'ils veulent attirer et maintenir en poste les employés qualifiés dont ils ont besoin pour administrer et gérer les programmes et services que le gouvernement fédéral leur a transférés. Le programme permet aux employeurs admissibles d'offrir à leurs employés des avantages sociaux comparables à ce qui est offert par d'autres employeurs (gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux, administrations municipales, conseils scolaires, etc.). Il appuie aussi l'objectif d'Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) de transférer aux bandes le contrôle de la gestion et de l'exécution des programmes.

Pour recevoir des fonds du Programme des avantages sociaux des employés, les régimes de pension doivent respecter les exigences des règles de retenue des cotisations au RPC/RRQ de l'Agence du revenu du Canada et de la Loi de 1985 sur les normes de prestation de pension. Ces régimes sont administrés par le Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières.

Le maximum payable est établi au moyen d'une formule de financement. La part des cotisations aux régimes de pension pris en charge par l'employeur qui est assumée par l'employé doit être au moins égale à la part de l'employeur. La part de l'employeur sera assumée par le Ministère. Seuls les trois régimes de pension à prestations déterminées existants peuvent être différents du montant maximal payable.

Qui peut présenter une demande?

Les employeurs inuits et ceux des Premières Nations qui ont des employés participant à l'exécution des programmes financés par le Ministère.

Cependant, les employés ne sont pas admissibles s'ils :

Date limite

Varie selon les régions, entre janvier et le 31 mars de chaque année.  Veuillez communiquer avec votre bureau régional d'AANC.

Comment présenter une demande?

Chaque année, les bénéficiaires doivent remplir un formulaire de demande. Si un bénéficiaire assume la gestion d'un nouveau programme ou s'il souhaite obtenir une augmentation du financement, il doit soumettre un nouveau formulaire.

Si vous présentez une demande au nom d'une Première Nation, utilisez la Demande de financement des Premières Nations dans le cadre des programmes de soutien aux gouvernements indiens.

Si vous présentez une demande au nom d'un conseil tribal, utilisez la Demande de financement consolidé d'un conseil tribal.

Si vous présentez une demande au nom d'une organisation autre qu'une Première Nation ou qu'un conseil tribal, utilisez la Demande de financement pour les avantages sociaux des employés des bandes des organisations autres que les Premières Nations et les conseils tribaux.

Avant de présenter votre demande, consultez la Politique du Programme des avantages sociaux des employés pour obtenir plus de renseignements.

Présentez la demande à votre bureau régional. Une liste des employés admissibles doit être jointe à tous les formulaires.

Le Ministère examinera les demandes pour déterminer le niveau de financement maximal pour le nouvel exercice.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur la manière de renforcer les capacités de gouvernance dans votre collectivité, consultez les Outils pour la gouvernance.

Date de modification :