Indian Government Support Programs

First Nations have assumed primary responsibility for delivering programs and services to their members. The Indian Government Support programs contribute to the ongoing costs of First Nation governments and institutions while also providing tools and support to help First Nation governments and institutions build on their capacity to govern.

Choose a topic:

About the programs

The Indian Government Support programs were created in the early 1980s to provide core funding to First Nation governments and tribal councils. The goal was to help these organizations assume administrative control over major programs such as education, housing and social assistance. These programs were formerly delivered by departments such as Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) or Health Canada.

Today, First Nations have assumed administrative responsibility for not only the vast majority of INAC programs but also a wide range of other federal and provincial programs in addition to many municipal-type services.

INAC provides governance and administration support to First Nation governments and Aboriginal organizations and institutions through four distinct but related grants and contributions programs, collectively known as the Indian Government Support programs:

Tools for governance

Practical tools are available to organizations seeking to improve their internal governance processes.

The Governance Capacity Planning Tool can help a community design a plan based on its priorities, specifically in the area of governance. The tool helps a community recognize its strengths in governance, identify areas for further improvement, and design projects that support its long-term goals.

Governance tools for communities include self-assessment tools which can be used to set priorities for organizational capacity development, guidebooks, and examples of policies used in First Nations communities.

Governance tools for institutions are useful for larger organizations, such as First Nations institutions and crown corporations. Many of these resources are based on models of governance used in the Canadian federal government.

Governance reference documents are created by many organizations, such as AFOA Canada, and are made available through their websites.These documents are useful for strengthening core governance.

Date modified:

Programmes de soutien aux gouvernements indiens

Les Premières Nations sont les principales responsables de l'exécution des programmes et de la prestation des services à leurs membres. Les programmes de soutien aux gouvernements indiens contribuent à payer les coûts permanents de leurs gouvernements et institutions, tout en fournissant à ces derniers les outils et le soutien dont ils ont besoin pour renforcer leur capacité de gouverner.

Choisir un sujet :

À propos des programmes

Les programmes de soutien aux gouvernements indiens ont été créés au début des années 1980 afin d'offrir du financement de base aux gouvernements et aux conseils tribaux des Premières Nations. Ils visaient à aider ces organismes à exercer un contrôle administratif sur les principaux programmes dans divers domaines, notamment l'éducation, le logement et l'aide sociale. Ces programmes étaient auparavant exécutés par des ministères comme Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) ou Santé Canada.

Aujourd'hui, les Premières Nations assument la responsabilité administrative non seulement de la vaste majorité des programmes d'AANC, mais aussi d'un large éventail d'autres programmes fédéraux et provinciaux, en plus de nombreux services d'ordre municipal.

AANC offre du soutien en matière de gouvernance et d'administration aux gouvernements des Premières Nations et aux organismes et institutions autochtones dans le cadre de quatre programmes de subventions et de contributions distincts mais connexes, connus collectivement sous le nom de programmes de soutien aux gouvernements indiens :

Outils pour la gouvernance

Des outils pratiques sont à la disposition des organismes qui cherchent à améliorer leurs processus de gouvernance interne.

L'outil de planification de la capacité de gouvernance peut aider une collectivité à concevoir un plan axé sur ses priorités, particulièrement dans le domaine de la gouvernance. Il lui permet de reconnaître ses points forts en matière de gouvernance, de déterminer les secteurs à améliorer et d'élaborer des projets qui appuient ses objectifs à long terme.

Les outils de gouvernance pour les collectivités comprennent entre autres des outils d'auto-évaluation qui servent à établir les priorités relatives au développement de la capacité organisationnelle, des guides ainsi que des exemples de politiques en vigueur dans les collectivités des Premières Nations.

Les outils de gouvernance pour les institutions sont utiles aux organismes de grande taille, comme les institutions des Premières Nations et les sociétés d'État. Bon nombre de ces ressources se fondent sur les modèles de gouvernance du gouvernement fédéral.

Les documents de référence sur la gouvernance sont créés par de nombreux organismes, comme l'AFOA Canada, qui les rendent disponibles sur leur site Web. Ces documents contribuent à renforcer la gouvernance centrale.

Date de modification :