Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) supports First Nation communities in the implementation of strong, effective and sustainable governments. Research has shown that effective governance is the single greatest contributing factor to a community's socio-economic progress and its overall well-being.

Good governance and institutions help First Nation communities to:

  • take greater control over the decisions that affect their lives;
  • carry out effective relationships with other governments;
  • take advantage of economic development opportunities;
  • improve programs and services; and,
  • enhance their social and economic well-being.

Governance structures among First Nation communities are at different stages of maturity and development. Some First Nations have self-government agreements with Canada while others have minimal governance structures. Many First Nations fall somewhere in between.

AANDC engages in wide-ranging activities to help support communities in their transition to stronger, more effective governance systems, including:

  • Negotiating and implementing self-government and land claim agreements.
  • Providing funding to Band offices and Tribal Councils for core operations, such as office space, salaries and benefits, as well as for advisory services and professional and institutional development.
  • Amending relevant laws and regulations to help support First Nation institutions, organizations and governments.
  • Building cooperative relationships with First Nation governments through the use of modern and historic treaties.

In addition to these activities, AANDC also supports the governance capacity of First Nations through tools and resources for governance.

AANDC supports the development of First Nations institutions and governance capacity, while respecting Canada's constitutional and statutory obligations concerning First Nations. The Department oversees the implementation and administration of governance processes under the Indian Act, while at the same time reviewing these processes to respond to new challenges and court decisions such as the landmark Corbiere decision, which extended voting rights to all Band members regardless of residency.

Gouvernance

Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) appuie les collectivités autochtones dans la mise en œuvre de gouvernements solides, efficaces et durables. Des recherches montrent qu'une gouvernance efficace est le principal facteur contribuant au progrès socioéconomique d'une collectivité et à son bien-être général.

Une gouvernance et des institutions efficaces aident les collectivités des Premières Nations à :

  • mieux contrôler les décisions qui déterminent leur existence;
  • maintenir des relations efficaces avec les autres gouvernements;
  • saisir les occasions de développement économique;
  • améliorer les programmes et les services;
  • favoriser leur bien-être social et économique.

Les structures de gouvernance au sein des diverses collectivités des Premières Nations en sont à différentes étapes de maturité et de développement. Certaines d'entre elles ont conclu des accords d'autonomie gouvernementale avec le Canada alors que d'autres ont établi des structures de gouvernance minimales. Bon nombre de Premières Nations se situent entre ces deux pôles.

AANC entreprend différentes activités pour aider les collectivités dans leur transition vers des systèmes de gouvernance plus solides et plus efficaces, notamment :

  • négocier et mettre en œuvre des accords d'autonomie gouvernementale et de revendications territoriales;
  • fournir des fonds aux bureaux de conseil de bande ou aux conseils tribaux pour les besoins de leur fonctionnement de base, comme les espaces à bureaux, les salaires et les avantages sociaux, les services consultatifs, le perfectionnement professionnel et le renforcement institutionnel;
  • modifier les lois et les règlements pertinents pour appuyer les institutions, les organismes et les gouvernements des Premières Nations;
  • établir des liens de collaboration avec les gouvernements des Premières nations au moyen des traités modernes et historiques.

En plus de ces activités, AANC appuie aussi la capacité de la gouvernance des Premières Nations par moyen de d'outils et de ressources pour la gouvernance.

AANC appuie le renforcement des institutions et des capacités de gouvernance des Premières Nations, tout en respectant les obligations constitutionnelles et législatives du Canada envers les Premières nations. Le Ministère supervise la mise en œuvre et l'administration des processus de gouvernance en vertu de la Loi sur les Indiens, tout en revoyant ces processus à la lumière des nouveaux défis qui se posent et des décisions judiciaires, comme la décision rendue dans la cause type Corbiere, qui accordait le droit de vote à tous les membres d'une bande, sans égard à leur lieu de résidence.

Date de modification :