Aboriginal History in Canada

The history of Aboriginal peoples in Canada is rich and diverse. This history stretches long into the past before the arrival of the European newcomers with diverse interactions among different peoples, flourishing trade and fierce conflict, and competition for lands and resources. The history of First Nations, Inuit and Métis is essentially the very history of Canada as they have played, and continue to play important roles in its development and its future.

To learn more, please visit the virtual exhibit at the Canadian Museum of History and the First Nations in Canada historical e-book.

History: Crown–Aboriginal Relationships

The relationship between the Crown and Aboriginal people in Canada has been in near constant evolution since it was first established over 300 years ago. It has been affected by commercial and economic pressures, by shifting alliances and external threats, and by policies of protection and subordination. Read more about the history of Aboriginal people, the history of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada, and the treaty relationship.

Royal Proclamation of 1763

On October 7, 1763, King George III issued a Royal Proclamation for the administration of British territories in North America. The Royal Proclamation of 1763 set out the core elements of the relationship between First Nations and the Crown, established the recognition of First Nation rights in Canada, and laid the foundation of the treaty-making process and Canada's territorial evolution.

Read more about the Royal Proclamation.

Treaty-Making in Canada

The impact of treaty-making in Canada has been wide-ranging and long standing. The treaties the Crown has signed with Aboriginal peoples since the 18th century have permitted the evolution of Canada as we know it and form the basis for the ongoing treaty relationship. This treaty-making process, which has evolved over more than 300 years between Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal people in Canada, has its origins in the early diplomatic relationship developed between European settlers and Aboriginal people. These diplomatic proceedings were the first steps in a long process that has led to today's comprehensive claims agreements between the Crown and Aboriginal people.

Read more about Treaty-Making in Canada.

Aboriginal Contributions to the War of 1812

Throughout Canada's history, Aboriginal peoples have helped shape this land into the country we know today. During the War of 1812, First Nations warriors and Métis fighters played important roles in the defence of these British territories against invading American forces. Thousands of First Nations warriors and Métis fighters fought beside British troops and Canadian settler militias during the war. More than 10,000 First Nations warriors from the Great Lakes region and the St. Lawrence Valley participated in nearly every major battle.

Read more about Aboriginal peoples contributions during the War of 1812.

Residential Schools

For over a century Aboriginal children were removed from their families and homes, sometimes forcibly, and taken to residential schools where they were housed and educated under the authority of the Government of Canada. The establishment of Indian residential schools began in the 1870s. The Government of Canada was involved in the funding and operation of many of these schools, along with various religious organizations, including the Anglican, Presbyterian, United and Roman Catholic churches. Two primary objectives of the residential schools system were to remove and isolate children from their homes, families, traditions and cultures, and to assimilate them into the dominant culture. In all, some 150,000 First Nations, Inuit and Métis children were removed and separated from their families and communities to attend residential schools. While most Indian residential schools ceased to operate by the mid-1970s, the last federally run school closed in the late 1990s.

On June 11, 2008, Prime Minister Stephen Harper offered an historic Apology to former students of Indian residential schools and their families, and sought forgiveness for the suffering and the long-lasting impact the schools have had on First Nations, Inuit and Métis culture, heritage and language. Alongside the 2008 Apology, the successful ongoing implementation of the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement is a key factor in the Government of Canada’s efforts to forge a new relationship between Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal Canadians.

Read more about Indian Residential Schools.

First Canadian Arctic Expedition

The Canadian Arctic Expedition (CAE) marked a significant turning point in Canada's Arctic territorial history and helped shape Canada into a nation, strong and free. By asserting Canadian control over thousands of square kilometers and confirming Canada's modern Northern border, the Expedition and its activities laid the foundation for the future of Canada's development in the Arctic. It further defined Canada's northern boundaries and provided significant scientific and cultural knowledge of the Arctic and of Northern peoples.

Read more on the first Canadian Arctic Expedition.

Aboriginal contributions during the First World War

During the First World War, thousands of Aboriginal people voluntarily enlisted in the Canadian military. They served in every major theatre of the war and participated in all of the major battles in which Canadian troops fought. Hundreds were wounded or lost their lives on foreign battlefields. Aboriginal soldiers served valiantly; many distinguished themselves as talented and capable soldiers and at least 50 were awarded medals for bravery and heroism.

Read more on Aboriginal Contributions during the First World War.

National Aboriginal History Month

In 2009, June was declared National Aboriginal History Month, following the passing of a unanimous motion in the House of Commons. This provides an opportunity to recognize not only the historic contributions of Aboriginal peoples to the development of Canada, but also the strength of present-day Aboriginal communities and their promise for the future.

Every June, Canadians celebrate National Aboriginal History Month, which is an opportunity to honour the heritage, contributions and cultures of First Nation, Inuit and Métis communities across Canada. Canadians are also invited to celebrate National Aboriginal Day on June 21st each year.

L’histoire des Autochtones au Canada

L’histoire des Autochtones au Canada est riche et diversifiée. Elle remonte à loin dans le passé, avant l’arrivée des colons européens, et elle raconte les interactions variées entre divers peuples, le commerce florissant et les conflits intenses, et la concurrence pour les terres et les ressources. L’histoire des Premières Nations, des Inuit et des Métis est essentiellement l’histoire du Canada, car ces peuples ont joué, et continuent de jouer, des rôles importants dans le développement et l’avenir de notre pays.

Pour en apprendre plus, visitez l’exposition virtuelle du Musée canadien de l’histoire et le livre électronique historique Les Premières Nations au Canada.

Historique des relations entre la Couronne et les Autochtones

Au Canada, la relation entre la Couronne et les Autochtones est en évolution presque constante depuis ses débuts, il y a plus de 300 ans. Cette relation a été touchée par des pressions commerciales et économiques, des alliances changeantes, des menaces extérieures et des politiques de protection et de subordination. Apprenez-en davantage sur l’histoire des Autochtones, d’Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord et des relations découlant des traités.

Proclamation royale de 1763

Le 7 octobre 1763, le roi George III a publié une proclamation royale pour la gestion des territoires britanniques en Amérique du Nord. La Proclamation royale de 1763 établit les éléments essentiels de la relation entre les Premières Nations et la Couronne, de même que la reconnaissance des droits des Premières Nations au Canada, et elle jette les bases du processus de règlement des traités et de l’évolution territoriale du Canada.

Apprenez en davantage sur la Proclamation royale.

L’établissement des traités au Canada

Au Canada, l’établissement des traités a eu des répercussions vastes et de longue durée. Les traités que la Couronne a signés avec les Autochtones depuis le 18e siècle ont contribué à bâtir le Canada que nous connaissons aujourd’hui, et ils sont à la base de la relation actuelle fondée sur les traités. Ce processus d’établissement des traités entre les Autochtones et les non Autochtones au Canada, qui a évolué sur une période de plus de 300 ans, découle des premières relations diplomatiques entre les Européens qui sont arrivés au pays et les Autochtones. Ces rapports diplomatiques ont constitué les premières étapes d’un long processus qui a mené aux accords sur les revendications globales qui existent actuellement entre la Couronne et les Autochtones.

Apprenez en davantage sur l’établissement des traités au Canada.

Les contributions des Autochtones pendant la guerre de 1812

Les Autochtones ont marqué l’histoire du Canada, contribuant à transformer notre territoire en ce pays que nous connaissons aujourd’hui. Pendant la guerre de 1812, les guerriers métis et des Premières Nations ont joué un rôle crucial dans la défense des territoires britanniques contre l’invasion américaine. Des milliers de ces guerriers ont combattu aux côtés des troupes britanniques et de la milice canadienne. Au total, plus de 10 000 guerriers des Premières Nations de la région des Grands Lacs et de la vallée du Saint-Laurent ont participé à presque toutes les grandes batailles.

Apprenez en davantage sur les contributions des Autochtones pendant la guerre de 1812.

Pensionnats

Pendant plus d’un siècle, les enfants autochtones ont été retirés de leur famille et de leur foyer, parfois de force, et placés dans des pensionnats où ils étaient logés et éduqués sous l’autorité du gouvernement du Canada. Les pensionnats indiens ont vu le jour dans les années 1870. Le gouvernement du Canada a participé au financement et à la gestion d’un grand nombre de ces pensionnats, conjointement avec diverses organisations religieuses, dont les Églises anglicane, presbytérienne, unie et catholique romaine. Le système des pensionnats avait deux principaux objectifs : isoler les enfants et les soustraire à l’influence de leur foyer, de leur famille, de leurs traditions et de leur culture, et les intégrer par l’assimilation à la culture dominante. En tout, 150 000 enfants inuits, métis et des Premières Nations ont été retirés de leur famille et de leur collectivité pour fréquenter les pensionnats. Bien que la plupart des pensionnats indiens aient cessé d’exister vers le milieu des années 1970, le dernier pensionnat dirigé par le gouvernement fédéral a fermé ses portes à la fin des années 1990.

Le 11 juin 2008, le premier ministre Stephen Harper a présenté des excuses historiques aux anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens et à leurs familles, et il leur a demandé pardon pour leur souffrance et les répercussions à long terme des pensionnats sur la culture, les langues et le patrimoine inuits, métis et des Premières Nations. En plus des excuses de 2008, la mise en œuvre continue et réussie de la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens est un facteur clé des efforts du gouvernement du Canada en vue de bâtir une nouvelle relation entre les Canadiens autochtones et non autochtones.

Apprenez en davantage sur les pensionnats indiens.

La première expédition canadienne dans l’Arctique

L’expédition canadienne dans l’Arctique a marqué un tournant important de l’histoire territoriale de l’Arctique canadien et a contribué à faire du Canada un pays puissant et libre. En affirmant le contrôle du Canada sur des milliers de kilomètres carrés et en confirmant la nouvelle frontière septentrionale du pays, l’expédition et ses activités ont jeté les bases de l’avenir du développement du Canada dans l’Arctique. L’expédition a aussi permis de mieux définir les limites septentrionales du Canada et d’acquérir d’importantes connaissances scientifiques et culturelles sur l’Arctique et les résidants du Nord.

Apprenez-en davantage sur la première expédition canadienne dans l’Arctique.

Les contributions des Autochtones pendant la Première Guerre mondiale

Pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, des milliers d’Autochtones se sont enrôlés volontairement dans l’armée canadienne. Ils étaient présents dans tous les grands épisodes de la guerre et ont participé à toutes les batailles majeures aux côtés des troupes canadiennes. Des centaines d’entre eux ont été blessés ou ont perdu la vie sur les champs de bataille à l’étranger. Les soldats autochtones ont servi avec courage, et un grand nombre d’entre eux se sont distingués grâce à leur talent et à leur compétence. Au moins 50 soldats autochtones ont reçu des médailles pour leur bravoure et leurs gestes héroïques.

Apprenez en davantage sur les contributions des Autochtones pendant la Première Guerre mondiale.

Mois national de l’histoire autochtone

En 2009, le mois de juin a été déclaré Mois national de l’histoire autochtone à la suite d’une motion adoptée à l’unanimité à la Chambre des communes. Le Mois de l’histoire autochtone offre une occasion de souligner non seulement les contributions historiques des Autochtones à l’édification du Canada, mais aussi la force des collectivités autochtones actuelles et ce qu’elles nous promettent pour l’avenir.

Tous les mois de juin, les Canadiens célèbrent le Mois national de l’histoire autochtone, qui offre une occasion de souligner le patrimoine, les contributions et la culture des Premières Nations, des Inuit et des Métis partout au Canada. Les Canadiens sont aussi invités à célébrer la Journée nationale des Autochtones le 21 juin de chaque année.