Kumik - Council of Elders

Information Sheet

Background and Objectives

On September 6, 1990, former Deputy Minister Harry Swain met with Aboriginal employee representatives to discuss some significant concerns. These centred around the difficult working conditions experienced by certain Aboriginal employees during the turbulent summer of 1990. It was decided that Aboriginal Elders would be contacted and contracted to provide essential guidance and counselling services to both Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal employees of this department in the National Capital Region. Services of this sort are unique and can only be provided by Aboriginal Elders, given their training and experience in matters pertaining to Aboriginal culture, philosophy, practises and the holistic approach to life.

The Council of Elders was established and operated under the joint auspices of the Office of the Director General of Human Resources and the Executive of the Committee for the Advancement of Native Employment (CANE). The Council is located in the Elder's Lodge, referred to in the Algonquin language as 'Kiche Anishnabe Kumik', and for brevity referred to as the "Kumik".

The purpose of the Council is to provide Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal employees with instruction and counsel in dealing with problems arising in the work place which have developed because of unfavourable attitudes and cultural differences.

The Council is here to stimulate among all departmental employees a greater understanding and appreciation of Aboriginal culture, philosophy and practises.

Who Are the Elders?

There is a large number of First Nations across the country, embracing some 55 languages and major dialects, and constituting 11 linguistic families. The definition of an Elder varies from nation to nation. For example, the Six Nations' definition of their Elders include: Faith Keepers, Clan Mothers, Hereditary Chiefs and Spiritual Leaders. The Algonquin Nation in their teachings an Elder is defined as someone who possesses spiritual leadership which is given by one's cultural and traditional knowledge. This knowledge is found in the teachings and responsibilities associated with sacred entities such as the Pipe, Wampum belt, Drum and Medicine people. In addition to the spiritual recognition given by the Creator and the Spirit World, and elder is given the title and recognition as elder by other elder of his/her respective community and nation. Also one does not have to be a senior citizen to be an elder. The gifted individual is given the position of elder by spiritual and human acceptance and must commit to fulfill his/her responsibilities and respect of the Creator's teachings. Other nations have their own definitions, but their functions are basically the same: to ensure that traditional values, principles and other teachings are passed along, and to provide instruction to help individuals live in the right way.

The Elders who participate in the Council have been invited by members of their nation or linguistic group who are currently employed at INAC. Names of Elders who might be able to come to Ottawa for short periods of time are initially put forward by cultural centres across the country, or are nominated by Aboriginal employees here or by other Elders. Invitations are extended based on availability to participate.

Scope of Work

The Elders, who form the Council, come from across North America. They are selected based on their experience as mediators, their spiritual and traditional knowledge and their capacity to pass on these experiences to others.

The Elder

In the performance of these activities, the Elder is assisted by the Elder's Helper. The Elders provide, from time to time, verbal reports of their Council of Elders activities to the Departmental Representative.

What Is the Kumik?

Why Was the Kumik Established?

Who Will Be Interested in the Kumik?

All employees of the Department or anyone working in intercultural situations, especially those working with Aboriginal people, employees, bands, Native associations, and so on.

Benefits to Participants

Participants in the Kumik:

Participants can:

Activities Within the Kumik

Elders are here on a continuing basis, each staying for a period of two weeks. Other persons may participate by way of assisting the Elders as guest speakers. The Kumik is open daily during the week, with activities as follows:

9:00 a.m. Opening ceremonies
9:10 - 10:00 a.m. Individual Visit with Elder
10:00 - 11:00 a.m. Individual Visit with Elder
11:00 - 12:00 noon Elder's Lunch Hour
12:00 - 1:00 p.m. Open Discussion/Teaching
1:00 - 2:00 p.m. Individual Visit with Elder
2:00 - 3:00 p.m. Individual Visit with Elder
3:00 - 4:00 p.m. Individual Visit with Elder
4:00 p.m. Closing Ceremonies

These activities are arranged out of respect for the work schedule of INAC employees.

Schedules of activities are posted near each elevator at Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, Les Terrasses de la Chaudière, 10 Wellington, Gatineau, Quebec. Private interviews with Elders are held in the counselling room.

For further information, please contact:

(819) 953-2913 or by fax at (819) 994-7171

Date modified:

Kumik - Conseil des aînés

Renseignements généraux

Renseignements généraux et objectifs

Le 6 septembre 1990, M. Harry Swain, alors sous-Ministre des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien, a rencontré les représentants des employés autochtones pour discuter de diverses préoccupations. Celles-ci touchaient les difficiles conditions de travail qu'avaient subies certains employés autochtones pendant les bouleversements de l'été 1990. À cette occasion, il a été décidé d'un commun accord que l'on communiquerait avec des aînés autochtones et que l'on retiendrait leurs services par contrat pour qu'ils fournissent des services de counseling aux employés autochtones et non autochtones du Ministère dans la région de la capitale nationale. Ces services sont uniques et ne peuvent donc être fournis que par des aînés autochtones qui puisent dans leur formation et leur expérience pour traiter de questions relatives à la culture autochtone, leur philosophie, à leurs façons de faire et à leur approche holistique de la vie.

Le Conseil des aînés a été fondé et est géré conjointement par le bureau du directeur général des Ressources humaines et la direction du Comité de l'avancement des employés autochtones. Le Conseil est situé dans le salon des aînés qui, en langue algonquin, se dit Kiche Anishnabe Kumik et que l'on abrège pour des raisons de commodité en « Kumik ».

Le Conseil a pour mandat de conseiller et d'informer les employés autochtones pour les aider à faire face à tout problème lié au travail et qui est attribuable aux différences culturelles et aux attitudes défavorables à leur endroit.

Le Conseil vise aussi à favoriser parmi les employés du Ministère une meilleure compréhension de la culture, de la philosophie et des façons de faire autochtones.

Qui sont les aînés?

Il y a au Canada un grand nombre de Premières nations dont les membres parlent quelque 55 langues et dialectes principaux, regroupés en 11 familles linguistiques. La définition du mot « aînés » varie d'une nation à l'autre. Pour les Six Nations, par exemple, le mot aîné désigne : les gardiens de la foi, les mères de clans, les chefs héréditaires et les dirigeants spirituels. La Nation Algonquine, pour sa part, définit ses aînés, dans leurs enseignements comme quelqu'un qui possède les qualités de Chef Spirituel lequel est acquis par la connaissance de la culture et des traditions. Cette connaissance est trouvé dans les enseignements et responsabilités associés avec des entités sacrés tel que la Pipe, les ceinture Wampum, le Tambour et les Guérisseurs. En plus de la reconnaissance spirituelles donné par le Créateur et le monde spirituel, la reconnaissance du titre d'aîné est donné par les autres aînés de sa communauté et Nation respective. Aussi un Sage n'est pas nécessairement une personne âgée de 60 ans et plus. L'individu doué lui est donné la position d'aîné par l'acceptation spirituelle et humaine et doit s'engager a remplir ses responsabilités et respecter les enseignement du Créateur. D'autres nations ont leur propre définition, mais les fonctions sont essentiellement les mêmes, à savoir veiller à ce que les valeurs, les principes et les enseignements traditionnels sont transmis d'une génération à l'autre et donner des enseignements pour aider les membres de la communauté à vivre selon de bons principes.

Les aînés qui participent au Conseil ont été invités par les membres de leur nation ou groupe linguistique qui travaillent actuellement aux AANC. À l'origine, des noms d'aînés qui seraient susceptibles de pouvoir venir à Ottawa pour de courtes périodes de temps ont été proposés par des centres culturels d'un bout à l'autre du pays, par des employés autochtones du Ministère ou par d'autres aînés. Des invitations ont été envoyées selon la disponibilité des personnes visées.

Description des activités

Les aînés qui forment le Conseil peuvent provenir de partout en Amérique du Nord. Il sont choisis en fonction de leur expérience de médiateur, de leurs connaissances spirituelles et traditionnelles, ainsi que de leur aptitude à transmettre ces connaissances.

Les aînés

Dans l'accomplissement de ces activités, les aînés peuvent compter sur l'aide de l'assistant de l'aîné. Périodiquement, les aînés font un compte rendu oral des activités du Conseil des aînés au représentant du Ministère.

Qu'est-ce que le Kumik?

Pourquoi le Kumik a-t-il été créé?

Qui s'intéressera au Kumik?

Tous les employés du Ministère ou quiconque doit effectuer son travail dans des situations interculturelles, surtout les personnes qui travaillent avec des employés autochtones, qui ont affaire avec les bandes indiennes, des associations autochtones, etc.

Avantages pour les participants

La participation au Kumik :

Les participants peuvent :

Les activités du Kumik

Les activités du Kumik seront continues. Les aînés y participeront pendant des périodes de deux semaines. D'autres personnes pourront aussi aider les aînés à titre de conférenciers invités. Le Kumik est ouvert tous les jours et l'horaire des activités est le suivant:

9 h 00 Cérémonie d'ouverture
9 h 10 - 10 h 00 Rencontres individuelles avec l'aîné ou sessions de groupe
10 h 00 - 11 h 00 Rencontres indibiduelles avec l'aîné ou sessions de groupe
11 h 00 - 12 h 00 Diner pour le Sage
12 h 00 - 13 h 00 Discussions libres
13 h 00 - 14 h 00 Rencontres individuelles ou sessions de groupe
14 h 00 - 15 h 00 Rencontres individuelles ou sessions de groupe
15 h 00 - 16 h 00 rencontres individuelles ou sessions de groupe
16 h 00 Cérémonie de fermeture

Ces activités ont été organisées en fonction de l'horaire de travail des employés d'AANC.

L'horaire des activités sera affiché près de chaque ascenseur aux Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada, Les Terrasses de la Chaudière, 10, rue Wellington, Gatineau (Québec). Les rencontres individuelles avec les aînés se déroulent dans la salle de counseling.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer au :

(819) 953-2913 ou par télécopieur au (819) 994-7171.

Date de modification :