About National Aboriginal Day

Learn about National Aboriginal Day and why it was created. Find out more about the support that the Government of Canada provides for National Aboriginal Day celebrations.

Table of contents

What is National Aboriginal Day?

On June 21 National Aboriginal Day is celebrating 20 years of strong vibrant cultures and traditions. This is a day for all Canadians to recognize and celebrate the unique heritage, diverse cultures and outstanding contributions of First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples. The Canadian Constitution recognizes these three groups as Aboriginal peoples, also known as Indigenous Peoples.

Although these groups share many similarities, they each have their own distinct heritage, language, cultural practices and spiritual beliefs.

In cooperation with Indigenous organizations, the Government of Canada chose June 21, the summer solstice, for National Aboriginal Day. For generations, many Indigenous Peoples and communities have celebrated their culture and heritage on or near this day due to the significance of the summer solstice as the longest day of the year.

What led to the creation of National Aboriginal Day?

National Aboriginal Day was announced in 1996 by then Governor General of Canada, Roméo LeBlanc, through the Proclamation Declaring June 21 of Each Year as National Aboriginal Day. National Aboriginal Day was the result of consultations and statements of support for such a day made by various Indigenous groups.

How does the Government of Canada support National Aboriginal Day?

National Aboriginal Day is part of the Celebrate Canada program, which also includes Saint-Jean-Baptiste Day (June 24), Canadian Multiculturalism Day (June 27) and Canada Day (July 1).

While all Government of Canada departments support National Aboriginal Day, Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) and Canadian Heritage work together to promote it. INAC provides resources and ideas for events, while Canadian Heritage provides funding opportunities for community celebratory events.

Date modified:

À propos de la Journée nationale des Autochtones

Découvrez la Journée nationale des Autochtones et pourquoi elle a été créée. Apprenez-en plus sur l'appui offert par le gouvernement du Canada aux festivités de la Journée nationale des Autochtones.

Sur cette page

Qu'est-ce que la Journée nationale des Autochtones?

Le 21 juin est la Journée nationale des Autochtones. C'est une occasion spéciale de souligner, pour tous les Canadiens, le patrimoine unique, la diversité culturelle et les réalisations remarquables des Premières Nations, des Inuit et des Métis. La Constitution canadienne reconnaît ces trois groupes comme peuples autochtones.

Bien qu'il y ait beaucoup de points communs entre ces groupes, chacun d'entre eux a son patrimoine, sa langue, ses pratiques culturelles et ses croyances spirituelles.

En collaboration avec les organisations autochtones nationales, le gouvernement du Canada a choisi le 21 juin, date du solstice d'été, pour célébrer la Journée nationale des Autochtones. Pendant des générations, de nombreux groupes et collectivités autochtones ont célébré leur culture et leur patrimoine à cette date ou à cette période de l'année étant donné la signification que revêt le solstice d'été : le jour le plus long de l'année.

Pourquoi avoir créé la Journée nationale des Autochtones?

La Journée nationale des Autochtones a été annoncée en 1996 par le gouverneur général de l'époque, Roméo LeBlanc, grâce à la Proclamation désignant le 21 juin de chaque année comme Journée nationale des Autochtones. Cette journée a été créée à la suite de consultations auprès de divers groupes autochtones, qui ont fait des déclarations d'appui à cet égard.

Comment le gouvernement du Canada appuie-t-il la Journée nationale des Autochtones?

La Journée nationale des Autochtones fait partie des festivités de Canada en fête, qui incluent également la Saint-Jean-Baptiste (le 24 juin), la Journée canadienne du multiculturalisme (le 27 juin) et la fête du Canada (le 1er juillet).

Bien que tous les ministères fédéraux appuient la Journée nationale des Autochtones, Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada  (AANC) et Patrimoine canadien collaborent à sa promotion. AANC fournit les ressources et les propositions d'événements, alors que Patrimoine canadien est responsable des occasions de financement pour les événements festifs communautaires.

Date de modification :