Aboriginal arts

Aboriginal arts form the basis of a distinct and truly Canadian visual experience. Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) leads the way in its support of Aboriginal art and of those who create it.

Aboriginal arts resources

Aboriginal Art Centre

The Aboriginal Art Centre at AANDC is responsible for the development, preservation and promotion of the department's Aboriginal Art Collection which includes more than 4,000 works.

Lending Program

AANDC's Aboriginal Art Collection includes works by prominent, emerging and mid-career First Nations, Inuit and Métis artists. Artworks are used to promote the mandate of AANDC through loans to our offices at headquarters and at regional offices. Works of art are also loaned to Aboriginal cultural centres, and to regional and national art institutions for exhibition purposes. View the Aboriginal Art Centre's exhibition loan history from 2005 to 2013.

For more information on the art lending program for exhibitions, please contact the Aboriginal Art Centre at Art@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca.

AANDC’s Aboriginal Art Collection

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada was the first federal government institution to support the development of Canadian Aboriginal art in the 1960s. The more than 4000 artworks in the AANDC Aboriginal Art Collection were obtained through various acquisition and exhibition programs, as well as gifts and donations. The acquisition of art directly from the artists and their representatives over the past 50 years has made the AANDC Aboriginal Art Collection one of the most important and comprehensive art collections of contemporary Canadian Aboriginal art in Canada.

  • AANDC's Aboriginal Art Collection includes the Alberta Art Collection, the Archival Collection, the Dewdney Collection, the Inuit Art Collection, and the Resource Collection.
  • The Alberta Art Collection was acquired in 1990 from the Alberta Indian Arts and Crafts Society auction. The 220 works of art include cultural art forms, paintings, drawings, prints, and sculpture.
  • The Archival Collection includes artworks and original art books that are not for loan but for research purposes only.
  • The Dewdney Collection (181 pieces) includes various works of art by the artist Norval Morrisseau (1932-2007), and correspondence from 1960 to 1977 between Morrisseau and Selwyn H. Dewdney (1909-1979), authors of Legends of my People: The Great Ojibway (1965).
  • The Resource Collection includes traditional artwork, commercial prints and posters of contemporary artwork, documentation, videos and audio tapes that are used for educational/teaching purposes such as school visits and demonstrations.
  • Images of the artists' artworks in AANDC's Aboriginal Art Collection are protected by Canadian Copyright Law and require the artist's written permission for reproduction and exhibition. CARFAC fees are paid to the artists for reproduction and exhibition rights.
  • For more information on AANDC's Aboriginal Art Collection, contact Art@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Artist directory

This artist directory is a list of First Nations, Inuit and Métis artists whose works are included in AANDC's Aboriginal Art Collection.

The Aboriginal Art Acquisition Program

The AANDC Aboriginal Art Centre conducts an active, on-going acquisition program. Calls for submissions are initiated Canada-wide, inviting artists of First Nations, Métis or Inuit ancestry to submit works for selection by peer jury. Please see the links below for works acquired in the last decade through Art Acquisition Program. The deadline for the current Call for Submissions is September 15, 2014.

Results of the Aboriginal Art Acquisition Program

Resource Library

The Resource Library materials include:

  • Files for artists in the AANDC Aboriginal Art Collection;
  • 35 mm slides and digital images of the AANDC Aboriginal Art Collection;
  • exhibition catalogues from 1959 to the present;
  • reports and studies on Aboriginal art;
  • art magazines, periodicals and publications on Aboriginal art and culture; and
  • audio (cassette) and video (VHS) and DVD tapes.

Resource material in the AANDC Aboriginal Art Centre may not be borrowed and may be viewed onsite by appointment only.

AANDC Art Gallery

The Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada Art Gallery

Location:

Aboriginal Art Centre
Lobby, 10 Wellington Street
Gatineau, Québec

The Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada Art Gallery features works of art from the AANDC's Aboriginal Art Collection and is managed by the Aboriginal Art Centre. The Exhibition schedule lists the exhibits that have been recently featured.

Online art gallery

Welcome to Beyond Recognition: Aboriginal Abstractions, an online gallery complementing an exhibition curated by Michelle McGeough (Métis), and organized by the Aboriginal Art Centre. Beyond Recognition: Aboriginal Abstractions was originally exhibited in the AANDC Art Gallery in Gatineau, Quebec, from January 27 to April 25, 2014.

Contact us

For more information on any of our programs our services, please contact us:

Aboriginal Art Centre,
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada,
Les Terrasses de la Chaudière, Room 928,
10 Wellington Street.
Gatineau, Québec
K1A 0H4
CANADA

Art@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca
Telephone: (819) 994-1262
Facsimile: (819) 953-0165

(Access to research facilities by appointment only)

Arts autochtones

Les arts autochtones sont le fondement d'une véritable expérience visuelle canadienne. Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) est le chef de file du soutien de l'avancement de l'art autochtone et de ceux et celles qui créent ces œuvres.

Ressources des arts autochtones

Centre d'art autochtone

Le Centre d'art autochtone d'AADNC assure le développement, la conservation et la promotion de la collection d'art autochtone du ministère qui inclut plus de 4 000 œuvres.

Programme de prêt pour des expositions

La collection d'art autochtone d'AADNC présente les œuvres d'éminents artistes inuits, métis et des Premières Nations, ainsi que d'artistes en milieu de carrière et en devenir. Des œuvres d'art sont prêtées à nos bureaux de l'administration centrale et aux bureaux régionaux : ces œuvres font ainsi la promotion du mandat d'AADNC. Elles sont également prêtées à des centres culturels autochtones ainsi qu'à des établissements d'art régionaux et nationaux à des fins d'exposition. Consultez les Prêts d'œuvres d'art du Centre d'art autochtone de 2005 à 2013.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le programme de prêt pour des expositions, communiquez avec le Centre d'art autochtone à l'adresse suivante Art@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca.

Collection d'art autochtone d’AADNC

AADNC a été la première institution du gouvernement fédéral à appuyer l'avancement de l'art autochtone canadien, dans les années 1960. AADNC a enrichi sa collection de plus de 4 000 œuvres par l'intermédiaire de divers programmes d'acquisition et d'exposition et grâce à des cadeaux et des dons. En acquérant des œuvres directement auprès des artistes et de leurs représentants au cours des 50 dernières années, AADNC a constitué l'une des collections d'art autochtone canadien contemporaines les plus importantes et complètes.

  • La collection d'AADNC comprend la collection d'art de l'Alberta, la collection d'archives, la collection Dewdney, la collection d'art inuit et la collection de ressources.
  • La collection d'art de l'Alberta a été acquise en 1990 lors des enchères de la Société indienne d'art et d'artisanat de l'Alberta. Elle compte 220 œuvres d'art, dont des peintures, des dessins, des estampes, des sculptures et d'autres formes d'expression artistique culturelles.
  • La collection d'archives est composée d'œuvres et de livres d'art qui ne peuvent être empruntés, mais qui sont disponibles pour la recherche.
  • La collection Dewdney (181 œuvres) comprend diverses œuvres d'art de l'artiste Norval Morrisseau (1932-2007) et des pièces de correspondance de 1960 à 1977 entre Morrisseau et Selwyn H. Dewdney (1909-1979), auteurs de Legends of my People : The Great Ojibway (1965).
  • La collection des ressources comprend des œuvres d'art traditionnelles, des reproductions et des affiches publicitaires représentant des œuvres contemporaines, et des vidéos et des bandes sonores utilisées à des fins éducatives, par exemple pour des visites dans les écoles ou des présentations.
  • Les images des œuvres figurant dans la collection d'art autochtone d'AADNC sont protégées par la Loi sur le droit d'auteur; il faut donc obtenir la permission écrite de l'artiste pour en faire la reproduction ou l'exposition. Les sommes du CARFAC sont versées aux artistes à titre de droits de reproduction et d'exposition.
  • Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la collection d'art autochtone d'AADNC, communiquez avec nous à l'adresse suivante Art@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Répertoire des artistes

Le répertoire des artistes comprend des artistes inuits, métis et des Premières Nations dont les œuvres figurent dans la collection d'art autochtone d'Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada.

Programme d'acquisition d’œuvres d'art autochtones

Le Centre d'art d'Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada a un programme d'acquisition actif et permanent. Des demandes de présentation sont effectuées partout au Canada : on invite ainsi les artistes d'ascendance métisse, inuite et des Premières Nations à présenter des œuvres en vue d'une sélection par un comité formé de leurs pairs. Utilisez les liens ci-après pour prendre connaissance des œuvres d'art achetées au cours des dix dernières années par le biais du programme d'acquisition. La date limite de la prochaine soumission sera annoncé à une date ultérieure.

Résultats du programme d'acquisition

Centre de documentation

Ce matériel comprend les éléments suivants :

  • dossiers des artistes dont les œuvres d'art figurent dans la collection d'art autochtone d'AADNC;
  • diapositives 35 mm et images numériques des œuvres de la collection d'art autochtone d'AADNC;
  • catalogues d'expositions de 1959 à aujourd'hui;
  • rapports et études sur l'art autochtone;
  • magazines d'art, périodiques et publications sur l'art et la culture autochtones;
  • bandes sonores (cassettes) et vidéo (VHS) et disques DVD.

Le matériel documentaire du Centre d'art autochtone d'AANDC ne peut pas être emprunté; il doit être consulté sur place et sur rendez-vous.

Galerie d'art d'AADNC

La Galerie d’art d’Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada

Lieu :

Centre d'art autochtone
Foyer, 10, rue Wellington
Gatineau (Québec)

La Galerie d'art d'Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada présente des œuvres d'art de sa collection d'art autochtone. Elle est gérée par le Centre d'art autochtone. Le calendrier de l'exposition présente une liste des expositions présentées récemment.

Galerie d'art sur Internet

Bienvenue à Au-delà la reconnaissance : Œuvres autochtones abstraites, une galerie d'art en ligne qui complète l'exposition préparée par Michelle McGeough (Métisse) et organisée par le Centre d'art autochtone d'AADNC. Les œuvres d'Au-delà la reconnaissance : Œuvres autochtones abstraites ont d'abord été exposées a la galerie d'art d'Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada, a Gatineau (Québec), du 27 janvier au 25 Avril 2014.

Communiquer avec nous

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l'un ou l'autre de nos programmes et services, veuillez communiquer avec nous :

Centre d'art autochtone,
Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada,
Les Terrasses de la Chaudière, pièce 928,
10, rue Wellington.
Gatineau (Québec)
K1A 0H4
CANADA

Art@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Téléphone : (819) 994-1264
Télécopieur : (819) 953-0165

(Access aux services de recherche sur rendez-vous seulement)