Aboriginal arts, culture & heritage

Learn about the Aboriginal arts, culture and heritage that are woven into the fabric of our country. Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) works with Aboriginal partners to help celebrate, raise awareness of, and preserve Aboriginal arts, culture and heritage. As well, AANDC supports Aboriginal people (First Nations, Inuit and Métis) and Northerners in their efforts to: improve social well-being and economic prosperity; develop healthier, more sustainable communities and participate more fully in Canada's political, social and economic development — to the benefit of all Canadians.

Aboriginal arts

Find out more about AANDC's extensive Aboriginal art collection, Art Lending Program, artist directory.


Renewing the relationship between Aboriginal people and all Canadians.

National Aboriginal Day

National Aboriginal Day is an occasion for all Canadians to celebrate the rich contributions Aboriginal people have made to Canada. Find resources and suggested events to help you celebrate this special day.

Aboriginal history in Canada

Learn about the history of Aboriginal peoples in Canada, Aboriginal contributions to the War of 1812, the First Canadian Arctic Expedition and more.

Success stories

From Manitobah Mukluks to Rock Festivals and Cultural Centres, learn about community-driven efforts to improve the lives of Aboriginal and northern peoples and communities.

Kids' Stop

A fun zone for kids loaded with information about Aboriginal history, culture and languages, games and stories and classroom resources for teachers.


Search our database for reports, publications, videos and other resources about Aboriginal arts, culture and heritage.

Project Naming

Share your knowledge! Most of the First Nation, Métis and Inuit individuals depicted in these photo collections were never named. Help identify them, enrich Canada’s historical records and connect community members with their past.

Date modified:

Art, culture et patrimoine autochtones

Découvrez l'art, la culture et le patrimoine autochtones, qui font partie intégrante de notre pays. Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) travaille avec des partenaires autochtones pour aider à célébrer, à faire connaître et à préserver l'art, la culture et le patrimoine autochtones. De même, AANC appuie les Autochtones (membres des Premières Nations, Inuits et Métis) ainsi que les résidants du Nord dans leurs efforts pour améliorer leur bien-être social et leur prospérité économique, établir des collectivités saines et durables et participer pleinement au développement politique, social et économique du Canada — au profit de tous les Canadiens.

Art autochtone

Apprenez-en sur la vaste collection d'œuvres d'art autochtone, le programme de prêt d'œuvres d'art, le répertoire des artistes d'AANC, et plus encore.

Réconciliation

La nouvelle relation de nation à nation entre les peuples autochtones et le gouvernement du Canada est fondée sur la reconnaissance des droits, le respect, la coopération et le partenariat.

Journée nationale des Autochtones

La Journée nationale des Autochtones est l'occasion pour tous les Canadiens de souligner les contributions importantes des Autochtones au Canada. Trouvez des ressources et des événements suggérés pour vous aider à célébrer cette journée spéciale.

L’histoire des Autochtones au Canada

Apprenez-en sur les peuples autochtones du Canada, les contributions des Autochtones à la guerre de 1812, la première expédition dans l'Arctique canadien et plus encore.

Histoires de réussite

De l'entreprise Manitobah Mukluks aux festivals rock, en passant par les centres culturels, apprenez-en sur les efforts communautaires visant à améliorer la vie des peuples et des collectivités autochtones et nordiques.

Carrefour jeunesse

Un coin de divertissement pour les jeunes, qui y apprendront beaucoup de faits intéressants sur l'histoire et les langues autochtones, des jeux et des récits; ainsi que des outils pédagogiques pour les enseignants.

Publications

Cherchez pour trouver des rapports, des publications, des vidéos et d'autres ressources sur les arts, la culture et le patrimoine autochtones.

Un visage, un nom

Partagez vos connaissances! La plupart des Métis, des Inuit et des membres des Premières Nations qui apparaissent dans ces collections de photos n'ont jamais été identifiés. En nous aidant à le faire, vous enrichissez les documents historiques du Canada tout en permettant aux membres de ces communautés de renouer avec leur passé.

Date de modification :