ARCHIVED - Summative Evaluation of the First Nations Water Management Strategy - Follow-up Report Status Update as of September 25, 2008

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (49 kb, 6 Pages)

 

 
PROJECT TITLE
SUMMATIVE EVALUATION OF THE FIRST NATIONS WATER MANAGEMENT STRATEGY (200613)
ACTION PLAN APPROVAL DATE: 19/12/2007
PROGRAM
EDUCATION AND SOCIAL DEVELOPMENT PROGRAMS AND PARTNERSHIPS – COMMUNITY INFRASTRUCTURE
PROJECT RECOMMENDATION
1. The Department should continue to provide assistance to First Nations for the building, operation, and maintenance of their water and wastewater systems as well as for the training of system operators. The Department should commit to address, in the short term, the remaining major risk issues with water systems.
STATUS: Pending Implementation
ACTION PLAN EXPECTED COMPLETION DATE RESPONSE
Minister Prentice committed to reducing the number of high-risk drinking water systems to 49 by March 31, 2008 in March 2007.

The funding for the First Nations Water Management Strategy and the Plan of Action for Drinking Water in First Nations Communities expires March 31, 2008. INAC has renewed targeted water and wastewater support activities for two additional years. Once an engineering assessment of water and wastewater systems and needs in First Nations communities provides accurate information on the issues that remain, INAC will prepare a strategy to begin April, 2010, to support First Nations communities in bringing remaining systems to the standards outlined in the Protocol for Safe Drinking Water in First Nations Communities.

During the next two years, work with First Nations to address issues will continue, with health and safety risks being addressed on a priority basis.
01/04/2008



01/04/2010
As of 30/09/2008

INAC is implementing the First Nations Water and Wastewater Action Plan (FNWWAP) announced April 15, 2008 which provides $330 million over two years to continue assisting First Nations in delivering water and wastewater services.

INAC continues to publish progress reports on the targets set in 2006. As of December 2007, there were 85 high-risk community drinking water systems; down from 97 high-risk systems as of the March 2007 progress report. As of December 2007, 116 First Nations communities have water issues that need to be addressed.

Remedial plans have been developed for each of these communities, and currently vary in implementation from design phase to nearly completed. Currently, INAC plans to incorporate future measures to assist First Nations in addressing water and wastewater needs as of April 1, 2010.

PROJECT RECOMMENDATION
2. Monitoring and reporting practices should be enhanced to ensure that the First Nations and INAC have reliable information about drinking-water and wastewater systems in First Nations communities. In particular, INAC should:

  1. ensure that all funded systems undergo complete annual on-site inspections according to the "Guide for Annual Inspections of First Nations Drinking Water Systems" in the Protocol for Safe Drinking Water in First Nations Communities;
  2. report more clearly on the extent to which systems meet established design, construction and water-quality standards; and
  3. collect data that support basic cost-effectiveness measurement, e.g., cost per connection and cost per person served for capital expenditures and for operations and maintenance
STATUS:
a) The Protocol for Safe Drinking Water in First Nations Communities requires annual inspections of water systems by a qualified person from outside the operating First Nations. INAC will continue to provide funding for these annual inspections and ensure that they are completed. INAC will improve the inspection process, automating the data collection by creating an inspection form that can be automatically uploaded into the Integrated Capital Management System (ICMS) database. ICMS is web-accessible, which will make it easier for inspectors to upload the information directly into a central INAC database and for First Nations to access the resulting information. Additionally, by centralizing all the data, it will be easier for headquarters to monitor compliance and ensure that the inspection requirements have been met by the regional offices. 01/04/2008 Complete - INAC continues to provide funding and monitor for completion of annual inspections as required by the Protocol for Safe Drinking Water in First Nations Communities.

Complete - The Integrated Capital Management System (ICMS) is fully functional with respect to tracking water and wastewater system inspections.
b) With the introduction in 2006 of the Protocol, INAC introduced clear, measurable standards for design, construction, operation, maintenance, and monitoring of drinking water systems. INAC is developing a wastewater systems protocol. This is being reviewed with stakeholders and INAC plans to introduce the new wastewater protocol April 1, 2008. It would be added to funding agreement requirements beginning in fiscal year 2009/10. A key performance indicator on compliance with the drinking water/wastewater protocol will be added to ICMS to ensure that compliance is measured and tracked. INAC will report annually to Parliament on the water and wastewater situation in First Nations communities and will include reporting on compliance with the standards of the Protocol. 01/04/2008 and 01/04/2009 The draft wastewater systems protocol is being reviewed with stakeholders.

Complete. INAC will continue to report annually to Parliament on the water and wastewater situation in First Nations communities.
c) INAC will ensure that feasibility studies for new systems, reviewed by HQ, assess the cost per connection and determine the most suitable cost-effective option, including consideration of individual systems. Through the new Integrated Capital Management System (ICMS) water database, INAC will track the costs of system construction, upgrade, operations and maintenance funding provided, number of connections and people served by the system. In the context of the department's Smart Reporting Initiative, INAC intends to work with First Nations communities to improve broadband connectivity to enable reporting through ICMS to reduce the reporting burden. 31/03/2009 Revisions being drafted to the Corporate Systems Manual to incorporate small systems will require the most cost effective option suitable for the community be chosen when approving funding of new systems. Policy changes should be published during summer 2008 and a new Decentralized System Protocol by December 2008.

Development of additional tracking reports for the Integrated Capital Management System (ICMS) is underway. A preliminary module is in place in ICMS for project tracking, but it is being further enhanced to ensure it meshes with overall program procedures (this module will apply to all capital infrastructure projects, not just water and wastewater projects.)

PROJECT RECOMMENDATION
3) INAC should

  1. revise its funding agreements with First Nations to ensure that funds awarded for operation and maintenance are used for that purpose; and
  2. Take measures to ensure that the Maintenance Management Plans and Emergency Response Plans required under the Protocol are in place.
STATUS: Implemented
a) INAC will explore options to ensure that funding agreements with First Nations allow for an assessment of water and wastewater O&M funding in the year-end financial audit. Measures to assist First Nations communities in addressing any deficiencies in compliance will be developed in collaboration with Audit and Assurance Services Branch. Options for improved Operation and Maintenance tracking and accountability will be explored and implementation of initial measures will begin April 1, 2008 As of 30/09/2008

Regional offices are currently being consulted on options for improving accountability for Operation and Maintenance funding.
b) The Protocol for Safe Drinking Water in First Nations Communities requires Maintenance Management Plans and Emergency Response Plans be implemented. Compliance with the Protocol is part of INAC's funding agreements with First Nations communities. As part of INAC's commitment to measure compliance with the Protocol, implementation of these plans will be tracked and measures will be taken to address any shortfalls. Compliance measures will be developed for implementation as of 01/04/2010. Steps to ensure compliance with the Protocol will continue on an ongoing basis. Complete. Implementation of plans is being tracked through Asset Condition Reporting System and Integration Capital Management System.
PROJECT RECOMMENDATION
4) INAC must significantly improve operator training and certification by substantially upgrading the Circuit Rider Training Program or by implementing a superior alternative
STATUS: Pending Implementation
INAC will expand the Circuit Rider Training Program to allow all regions to hire more (CRTP) circuit riders, to improve remuneration and working conditions for circuit riders, to expand the role of circuit riders in mentoring and assisting system operators, and to offer these expanded CRTP services to all First Nations communities, to take effect April 1, 2008. Additional funding would also be directed to training operators for certification exams. Implementation will begin 01/04/2008 As of 30/09/2008

The First Nations Water and Wastewater Action Plan announced April 15, 2008, doubles the funding for the Circuit Rider Training Program. INAC is also examining remuneration, working conditions, expanding the role of circuit riders and availability of the program.
PROJECT RECOMMENDATION
5) The Department must address gaps in program design with a view to providing support for alternative cost-effective solutions such as wells and septic tanks.
STATUS: Pending Implementation
A detailed engineering assessment of the water and wastewater systems in every First Nations community, to be conducted over an 18 month period, will identify the needs of each community and provide a reliable basis for decisions on future investments. Policy on small systems and protocol developed 30/09/2008 As of 30/09/2008

INAC is working with Public Works and Government Services Canada (PWGSC) to tender a contract for the national engineering assessment.
A Protocol to establish standards for wells, septic systems, cisterns and other small system elements is being prepared. The preliminary protocol will be implemented beginning April 1, 2008 and will be finalised by September 30, 2008. Engineering assessment complete by 30/09/2009 The draft Decentralised (on-site) Systems Protocol is being reviewed with stakeholders.
INAC will work with Health Canada and other federal partners and with First Nations communities to implement the policy on funding the most cost-effective systems appropriate to community needs and to implement the new protocol on small systems. Implementation of the policy for small systems will be phased in beginning 01/04/2008 Policy changes are under development. The draft Decentralised (on-site) Systems Protocol is being reviewed with stakeholders.
PROJECT RECOMMENDATION
6) Future policy development should consider the implementation of a regulatory framework that would separate INAC's roles as funding agency and de facto regulator. The option of having a separate federal department/agency or the provinces/territories or other entity (such as a First Nations organization/institution or aggregation), other than INAC, to enforce regulations for water and wastewater on-reserve should be explored.
STATUS: Pending Implementation
INAC will develop a proposal for a regulatory framework in accordance with the Government of Canada's commitment in Budget 2007 to introduce an accountable, transparent and enforceable regulatory regime, for safe drinking water on reserve, comparable to off-reserve communities. Consultations on legislation will take place in 2008. As of 30/09/2008

Information-sharing sessions with regional First Nation organizations, as well as provincial/territorial government officials, took place from May-July, 2008 (in all provinces and territories, except Nunavut).
 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Évaluation sommative de la Stratégie de gestion de l'eau des Premières nations - Rapports de suivi en date du 25 septembre 2008

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Format PDF (62 Ko, 7 pages)

 

 
TITRE DU PROJECT
ÉVALUATION SOMMATIVE DE LA STRATÉGIE DE GESTION DE L'EAU DES PREMIÈRES NATIONS (200613)
Date d'approbation du plan d'action : 19/12/2007
PROGRAMME
POLITIQUES SOCIO-ÉCONOMIQUES ET OPÉRATIONS RÉGIONALES (AGENCE CENTRALE) – DÉVELOPPEMENT COMMUNAUTAIRE
RECOMMANDATION DU PROJET
1. Le Ministère devrait continuer de fournir de l'assistance aux Premières nations pour la construction, l'exploitation et l'entretien de leurs réseaux d'alimentation en eau et de leurs réseaux d'égouts ainsi que pour la formation des opérateurs de systèmes. À court terme, le Ministère devrait s'engager à aborder le problème des risques importants restant relatifs aux réseaux d'alimentation en eau potable.
ÉTAT: En cours de mise en œuvre
PLAN D'ACTION DATE PRÉVUE D'ACHÈVEMENT RÉPONSE
En mars 2007, le Ministre Prentice s'est engagé à réduire à 49 le nombre de systèmes d'alimentation en eau potable à risque élevé d'ici le 31 mars 2008.

01/04/2008 En date du 31/03/2008

AINC met en place le Plan d'action pour l'approvisionnement en eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées des Premières nations (Plan d'action pour l'eau) annoncé le 15 avril 2008. Le Plan offre 330 millions en financement sur deux ans afin de continuer d'appuyer les Premières nations dans l'approvisionnement en eau potable et en traitement des eaux usées.

AINC continue à publier des rapports de progrès sur les objectifs établis en 2006. En date de décembre 2007, il y avait 85 communautés ayant un système d'eau potable à risque élevé, une baisse par rapport aux 97 communautés décomptées dans le rapport de progrès de mars 2007. En date de décembre 2007, 116 communautés des Premières nations avaient des préoccupations au niveau de leur gestion de l'eau qui devaient être traitées.

Des plans de mesures correctives ont été élaborées pour chaque collectivité et la mise en œuvre varie selon chacune de l'étape de la conception et à l'étape mise en œuvre quasi-totale. En ce moment, AINC planifie incorporer les prochaines mesures afin d'aider les Premières nations à prévoir les besoins en termes d'approvisionnement en eau potable et en traitement des eaux usées dès le 1er avril 2010.
Le financement de la Stratégie de gestion de l'eau des Premières nations et du Plan d'action pour la gestion de l'eau potable dans les collectivités des Premières nations vient à échéance le 31 mars 2008. AINC a renouvelé ses activités de gestion de l'eau potable et des eaux usées des Premières nations pour deux années supplémentaires. Lorsqu'une évaluation technique des systèmes d'aqueduc et d'égouts ainsi que des besoins des Premières nations à cet égard fournira un portrait précis des problèmes concernant les systèmes d'alimentation en eau des réserves qui n'ont pas encore été réglés aura été complétée, AINC présentera au gouvernement du Canada une stratégie qui devrait être implantée à compter du mois d'avril 2010 et visant à aider les collectivités des Premières nations à rendre les derniers systèmes conformes aux exigences du Protocole pour la salubrité de l'eau potable dans les communautés des Premières nations.

Durant les deux prochaines années, on poursuivra les travaux avec les Premières nations dans le but de trouver des solutions aux problèmes, les risques pour la santé et la sécurité constituant les questions prioritaires.
01/04/2010

RECOMMANDATION DU PROJET
2) Les pratiques en matière de surveillance et de production de rapports devraient être améliorées afin de s'assurer que les Premières nations et AINC aient à leur disposition des renseignements fiables au sujet des systèmes d'alimentation en eau potable et de traitement des eaux usées dans les collectivités des Premières nations. De façon plus précise, AINC devrait :

  1. s'assurer que tous les systèmes faisant l'objet d'un financement soient soumis à une inspection annuelle complète sur les lieux, conformément au « Guide pour l'inspection annuelle des systèmes d'alimentation en eau potable dans les communautés des Premières nations » qui est inclus dans le Protocole pour la salubrité de l'eau potable dans les communautés des Premières nations;
  2. fournir des rapports plus clairs indiquant dans quelle mesure les systèmes respectent les normes établies en matière de conception et de construction des installations de traitement de l'eau et de qualité de l'eau;
  3. recueillir des données qui permettent de réaliser une évaluation de base de la rentabilité comme, par exemple, le coût des dépenses en immobilisations et des activités d'exploitation et d'entretien pour chaque raccordement et chaque personne desservie.
ÉTAT: En cours de mise en œuvre
a) Le Protocole pour la salubrité de l'eau potable dans les communautés des Premières nations exige une inspection annuelle des systèmes d'aqueduc par une personne qualifiée ne provenant pas de la Première nation qui exploite le système. AINC continuera de fournir du financement pour ces inspections annuelles et pour s'assurer qu'elles sont menées à bonne fin. AINC améliorera le processus d'inspection grâce à une automatisation de la collecte des données en créant un formulaire d'inspection qui pourra être automatiquement chargé dans la base de données du Système intégré de gestion des immobilisations (SIGI). Le SIGI est un outil accessible par le truchement du Web et qui facilitera, pour les inspecteurs, le chargement des informations directement dans une base de données centralisée à AINC et, pour les Premières nations, l'accès aux renseignements de cette base de données. De plus, en centralisant toutes les données, l'Administration centrale pourra plus facilement vérifier la conformité et s'assurer que les exigences en matière d'inspection ont été satisfaites par les bureaux régionaux. 01/04/2008 En date du 30/09/2008

Complété. AINC continue d'offrir du financement et de surveiller la réalisation des inspections annuelles telles qu'exigées dans le Protocole pour la salubrité de l'eau potable dans les communautés des Premières nations.

Complété – Le Système intégré de gestion des immobilisations est fonctionnel au niveau de l'inspection de l'eau et de la vérification du traitement des eaux usées.
b) Avec la mise en œuvre du Protocole en 2006, AINC a introduit des normes claires et mesurables en matière de conception, de construction, d'exploitation, d'entretien et de surveillance des systèmes d'alimentation en eau potable. AINC élabore actuellement un protocole pour les systèmes de traitement des eaux usées. À l'heure actuelle, ce protocole fait l'objet d'un examen par les parties intéressées et AINC prévoit mettre en œuvre, le 1er avril 2008, le nouveau protocole concernant la gestion des eaux usées. Il sera ajouté, au début de l'exercice de 2009-2010, à la liste des besoins relatifs aux accords de financement. Un indicateur de rendement clé concernant la conformité avec le protocole pour la gestion de l'eau potable et des eaux usées sera ajouté au SIGI pour s'assurer que la conformité est mesurée et surveillée. Chaque année, AINC présentera au Parlement un rapport sur la situation concernant l'eau potable et les eaux usées dans les réserves des Premières nations et il inclura un rapport sur la conformité avec les normes du Protocole. 01/04/2008 et 01/04/2009 On révise présentement avec les divers intervenants l'ébauche du Protocole des systèmes de traitement des eaux usées.

Complet - AINC continuer a de déposer des rapports annuels au Parlement sur la  gestion de l'eau et le traitement des eaux usées dans les communautés des Premières nations.
c) AINC s'assurera que les études de faisabilité pour les nouveaux systèmes comportent une évaluation du coût pour chaque raccordement et identifient la solution compatible la plus rentable, incluant la possibilité d'utiliser des systèmes individuels. Au moyen de la nouvelle base de données sur la gestion des eaux du Système intégré de gestion des immobilisations (SIGI), AINC surveillera les coûts liés à la construction, la mise à niveau, l'exploitation et l'entretien des systèmes, le nombre de raccordements et le nombre de personnes desservies par le système. Dans le cadre de l'initiative du rendement ciblé. AINC collaborera avec les collectivités des Premières nations afin d'améliorer les connexions large bande dans le but de permettre la production de rapports au moyen de l'outil SIGI et de réduire le fardeau redditionnel. 31/03/2009 Des révisions au manuel des systèmes ministériels sont en cours afin d'incorporer les petits systèmes. Ces dernières devront considérer les alternatives les plus rentables pour la communauté lors de l'approbation du financement du nouveau système.

On élabore présentement des rapports de suivi additionnels pour le SIGI. Un module préparatoire est en place dans le SIGI pour suivre le déroulement du projet mais des modifications y sont apportées afin d'assurer la conformité avec les procédures en place du programme (ce module s'appliquera non seulement à l'eau et au traitement des eaux usées mais également à tous les projets d'immobilisation.).

RECOMMANDATION DU PROJET
3) AINC devrait

  1. revoir ses accords de financement conclus avec les Premières nations pour s'assurer que les fonds alloués à l'exploitation et à l'entretien sont utilisés à cette fin; et
  2. prendre les mesures nécessaires pour s'assurer de la mise en œuvre des plans de gestion de l'entretien et des plans d'intervention d'urgence exigés en vertu du Protocole.
ÉTAT: En cours de mise en œuvre
a) AINC évaluera différentes solutions pour assurer que les accords de financement conclus avec les Premières nations permette une évaluation du financement de l'exploitation et l'entretien des systèmes d'aqueduc et d'égouts lors de la vérification financière de fin d'exercice. Au cours des deux prochaines années, des mesures seront élaborées afin d'aider les collectivités des Premières nations à corriger toute lacune en matière de conformité. Des solutions pour une amélioration du contrôle et de la responsabilité en matière de F et E seront évaluées, et la mise en œuvre des mesures initiales commencera le 01/04/2008. En date du 30/09/2008

On consulte présentement les bureaux régionaux afin de déterminer certaines options qui amélioreront la reddition de compte pour le financement du contrôle et de la responsabilité.
b) Le Protocole pour la salubrité de l'eau potable dans les communautés des Premières nations nécessite la mise en œuvre de plans de gestion de l'entretien et de plans d'intervention d'urgence. La conformité avec les dispositions du Protocole fait partie des accords de financement conclus entre AINC et les collectivités des Premières nations. En vertu de l'engagement d'AINC à évaluer la conformité par rapport aux dispositions du Protocole, la mise en œuvre de ce plan fera l'objet d'une surveillance et des mesures seront prises pour corriger toute lacune. Des mesures de la conformité seront élaborées en vue d'une mise en œuvre le 01/04/2010. Des mesures visant à s'assurer de la conformité par rapport au Protocole seront appliquées en permanence. Complet - On fait le suivi de la mise en œuvre des plans par le biais du Système de rapports sur la condition des biens et le Système d'intégration de la gestion des capitaux.
RECOMMANDATION DU PROJET
4) AINC devrait améliorer le processus de formation et d'accréditation des opérateurs en effectuant une mise à niveau approfondie du Programme de formation itinérante ou en adoptant une solution de rechange plus efficace.
ÉTAT: En cours de mise en œuvre
AINC élargira la portée du Programme de formation itinérante de manière à permettre à toutes les régions d'embaucher un plus grand nombre de formateurs itinérants, d'améliorer leur rémunération et leurs conditions de travail, de développer leur rôle en ce qui a trait au mentorat et à l'aide aux opérateurs de système, et d'offrir ces services améliorés du Programme de formation itinérante à toutes les collectivités des Premières nations à partir du 1er avril 2008. Du financement additionnel serait également accordé pour la formation des opérateurs en vue des examens d'accréditation. 01/04/2008 Mise à jour/Justification :
En date du 31/03/2008


Le Plan d'action pour l'eau annoncé le 15 avril 2008 double le financement accordé au Programme de formation itinérante. Le programme amélioré sera déployé dès le mois d'avril 2008. AINC continuera la formation d'opérateurs pour la gestion de l'eau et le nombre d'agents de formation du Programme de formation itinérante sera presque doublé. AINC étudie présentement la rémunération, les conditions de travail et le nouveau rôle des formateurs itinérants et la disponibilité du programme.
RECOMMANDATION DU PROJET
5) Le Ministère doit combler les lacunes liées à la conception du Programme en envisageant d'offrir du financement pour l'élaboration de solutions de rechange rentables, comme l'utilisation des puits privés et les fosses septiques.
ÉTAT: En cours de mise en œuvre
Une évaluation technique détaillée des systèmes d'aqueduc et d'égouts de chaque collectivité des Premières nations qui sera conduite dans les prochains 18 mois, permettra d'identifier les besoins de chacune des collectivités et de recueillir des renseignements fiables sur lesquels seront fondées les décisions pour les investissements futurs. Une politique et un protocole concernant les petits systèmes seront développés d'ici le 30/09/2008. Mise à jour/Justification :
En date du 31/03/2008


AINC travaille présentement avec Travaux Publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada afin de faire un appel d'offres pour l'évaluation technique nationale.
On mettra au point, d'ici le 31 mars 2008, un protocole qui permettra de définir les normes concernant les puits, les fosses septiques, les citernes et les autres composantes des petits systèmes. Une version préliminaire sera mise en œuvre à partir du premier avril, 2008 et sera complétée au plus tard le 30 septembre 2008. Une évaluation technique sera réalisée d'ici le 30/09/2009. L'ébauche du protocole décentralisé sur les systèmes  (sur le site) est présentement en cours de révision avec les parties intéressées.
AINC collaborera avec Santé Canada et d'autres partenaires du gouvernement fédéral ainsi qu'avec les collectivités des Premières nations afin de mettre en œuvre la politique concernant le financement des systèmes les plus économiques qui correspondent aux besoins des collectivités, et pour implanter le nouveau protocole concernant les petits systèmes. investissements futurs. La mise en œuvre de la politique concernant les petits systèmes se fera par étapes à compter du 01/04/2008. Les modifications à la politique sont en cours de développement.  L'ébauche du protocole décentralisé sur les systèmes (sur le site) est présentement en cours de révision avec les parties intéressées.
RECOMMANDATION DU PROJET
6) On devrait envisager, dans le cadre des futurs travaux de développement de politique, la mise en œuvre d'un cadre réglementaire qui établirait une distinction entre le rôle d'organisme de financement d'AINC et celui d'organisme de réglementation de facto. Il faudrait envisager la possibilité de faire appel à un ministère/organisme fédéral distinct ou aux provinces/territoires ou à une entité (comme une organisation, un établissement ou un regroupement des Premières nations) autre qu'AINC pour faire appliquer les règlements concernant la gestion de l'eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées dans les réserves.
ÉTAT: En cours de mise en œuvre
AINC travaillera en vue de l'implantation d'un cadre réglementaire, conformément à l'engagement pris par le gouvernement du Canada dans son budget de 2007 en vue de mettre en place un régime de réglementation exécutoire axée sur la responsabilisation et la transparence pour une alimentation en eau potable salubre dans les réserves, qui serait comparable à ce que l'on retrouve dans les collectivités à l'extérieur des réserves. Des consultations sur la législation auront lieu en 2008. En date du 30/09/2008

Des sessions de partage d'information avec les organisations des Premières nations au niveau régional ainsi qu'avec les autorités gouvernementales au niveau provincial/territorial ont eu lieu de mai à juillet 2008 (dans toutes les provinces et territoires sauf au Nunavut).
 
 
Date de modification :