ARCHIVED - Evaluation of The Federal Interlocutor's Contribution Program and Powley: Management of Métis Aboriginal Rights - Follow-up Status Update as of September 30, 2009

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (29 Kb, 3 Pages)

 

 

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report to the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee - As of September 30, 2009

The Office of The Federal Interlocutor (OFI)

Evaluation of The Federal Interlocutor's Contribution Program and Powley: Management of Métis Aboriginal Rights (200713)
AEC Approval Date: 28/02/2008

Project Recommendations Action Plan Expected Completion Date Program Response
1. Clarify OFI mandate and role within INAC and the federal government, and develop expected outcomes and performance indictors that are measurable and an accurate reflection of the scope and work of the OFI. a) INAC will continue to communicate OFI's mandate and role, both within the department and to all interested stakeholders. a) 30/04/2008 Status: Implemented

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2008


a) INAC Senior management continues to communicate OFI's role and mandate both within the department and to client groups (website renewal, Senior Policy Committee, meetings with clients, joint ADM letters to RDG's).
b) OFI will update its performance measurement and reporting framework and implement a performance measurement strategy as per OFI's Results-based Management and Accountability Framework. The principles of the department's SMART reporting initiative will be applied to this exercise. b) 30/04/2008 b) As part of the INAC Audit and Evaluation Sector's work on developing departmental performance measures, OFI held a two day workshop in September. Once approved, these indicators will be included in the departmental performance reporting documents. In addition, program level performance measures have been included in the development of the OFI PIMS system.
c) OFI will continue to communicate programming objectives to its stakeholders and ensure this is reflected on OFI's website. c) 30/04/2008 c) Two one-day sessions were undertaken with all main OFI clients in March 2008 to explain TB requirements, INAC requirements, the process of developing contribution agreements, reporting expectations, and so on. In addition, as part of the broader INAC website renewal initiative, all program objectives and materials have been updated and will be posted later this fall.

AES Comment: File closed
2. Maintain the current approach to the management of Métis rights assertions including enhance work with other federal departments, provinces and Aboriginal organizations on joint research efforts to further understand rights-bearing Métis communities, and strengthening and sustainability of membership and identification systems. a) OFI will continue to seek opportunities for joint research with provincial governments, and where possible, by the relevant Métis organizations. a) 30/04/2008 Status: Implemented

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2008:


a) OFI is currently pursuing joint research opportunities with Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario and Newfoundland and Labrador. OFI has provided funding to CAP and MNC to pursue research.
b) OFI will conduct a third-party review of the membership/harvesters systems funded by OFI. b) 31/08/2008

b) A third party review of the memberships systems supported by this initiative is underway, and expected to be completed by October.

AES Comment: File closed
3. Strengthen and focus capacity building efforts to provide stability and sustainability to relevant Aboriginal organizations. a) OFI will develop a strategy to focus the capacity building efforts on key client groups. a) 31/07/2008 Status:
a) implemented
b) pending implementation

Update/Rationale: As of 30/09/2008:


a) Within the capacity building funding stream, OFI has realigned funding decisions in keeping with funding objectives of the program, with a focus on governance, financial and electoral accountability.

AES Comment: File closed
b) OFI will work with key Aboriginal organizations to develop and implement long-term capacity building plans. b) 31/03/2009 Update/Rationale: As of 30/09/2009:

b) OFI continues to work with organizations on developing longer-term capacity building plans. In general, the focus is on financial accountability (financial systems, use of chartered accountants, repayment plans).
4. Examine the weakness in the level of core funding provided to recipient organizations. a) OFI will participate in the policy work being conducted in the department involving core funding issues. a) currently underway Status: Implemented

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2008:


The OFI developed a policy framework to rationalize core funding allocations to recipient organizations.

INAC will reallocate funding internally to OFI through the ARLU process to begin to address the inequity in funding between Métis and non-status Indian organizations compared to First Nations and Inuit organizations.

AES Comment: File closed
5. Improve contribution program management to ensure timely processing of contribution agreement and payments. a) OFI will conduct a review of the processes in order to identify any efficiency that can be realized.

The principles of the department's SMART reporting initiative will be applied to this exercise.
a) 31/05/2008 Status: In Progress

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2009:


A consultant was engaged to review the financial process over the fourth quarter of 2008-09. The report was finalized July 24, 2009. OFI and the CFO are exploring options with regional offices.

AES Comment: In progress until improvements are implemented.
 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Évaluation du Programme de contribution de l'interlocuteur fédéral & l'initiative Powley: Gestion droit - Rapports de suivi en date du 30 septembre 2009

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Format PDF (32 Ko, 4 pages)

 

 

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action
Rapport au comité de vérification en date du 30 septembre 2009

Bureau de l'Interlocuteur Fédéral (BIF)

Évaluation du Programme de Contribution de L'interlocuteur Fédéral & l'Initiative Powley: Gestion Droit (200713)
Date d'approbation du CVÉ : 25/02/2008

Recommentations du Projet Plan d'action Date prévue d'achèvement Réponse du Programme
1. Clarifier son mandat et son rôle au sein de l'AINC et du gouvernement fédéral. Il doit développer des résultats cibles et des indicateurs de rendement mesurable qui démontrent de façon détaillée la portée et le travail du Bureau de l'interlocuteur fédéral. a) AINC doit clarifier davantage le rôle et le mandat du Bureau au sein du Ministère et à tout intervenant intéressé. a) 30/04/2008 État : Mis en œuvre

Mise à jour/Justification :
En date du 30/09/2008 :


a) Les membres de la haute direction d'AINC continuent de communiquer le rôle du Bureau de l'Interlocuteur Fédéral (BIF) et son mandat tant au sein du Ministère qu'auprès des groupes clients (renouvellement du site Web, Comité supérieur des politiques, réunions avec des clients, lettres conjointes des SMA aux DGR).
b) Le Bureau doit mettre à jour ses indicateurs de performance, son cadre de présentation de rapports et mettre sur pied une stratégie de mesure du rendement selon son cadre de gestion et de responsabilisation axé sur les résultats. Les principes de l'initiative ministérielle du rapport élaborés dans le cadre des SAGES seront appliqués à cette action. b) 30/04/2008 b) Dans le cadre des travaux du Secteur de la vérification et de l'évaluation d'AINC portant sur l'élaboration de mesures de rendement pour le Ministère, le BIF a tenu un atelier de deux jours en septembre. Une fois approuvés, les indicateurs seront inclus dans le document de rapport de performance du ministère. De plus, les mesures du niveau de rendement des programmes ont été incluses dans l'élaboration du Système de gestion de l'information sur les programmes du BIF.
c) Le Bureau doit clarifier davantage ses objectifs de programmes aux intervenants et s'assurer que c'est affiché sur son site Web. c) 30/04/2008 c) Deux séances d'une journée ont été organisées avec tous les principaux clients du BIF en mars 2008 pour expliquer les exigences du CT, celles d'AINC, le processus d'élaboration des ententes de contribution, les attentes en matière de rapports et ainsi de suite. En outre, dans le cadre du projet de renouvellement du site Web général d'AINC, tous les objectifs et documents du programme ont été mis à jour et ils seront publiés plus tard cet automne.

Commentaire du SVE : Dossier fermé
2. Maintenir son approche dans la gestion de l'affirmation des droits des Métis. Il faudrait cependant collaborer avec d'autres ministères fédéraux, provinces ou organisations autochtones dans des initiatives de recherches afin de faire avancer les recours des droits des communautés métis, et ainsi de renforcir et d'assurer l'appartenance et ses systèmes d'affiliation identitaire. a) Le Bureau doit continuer à chercher des opportunités de recherches conjointes avec les gouvernements provinciaux et, si possible, auprès des organisations métis appropriées. a) 30/04/2008 État : Mis en oeuvre

Mise à jour/Justification :
En date du 30/09/2008 :


a) Le BIF cherche présentement des occasions d'effectuer conjointement des recherches avec l'Alberta, la Saskatchewan, le Manitoba, l'Ontario et Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Le BIF a fourni du financement de recherche au Congrès des peuples autochtones et au Ralliement national des Métis.
b) Le Bureau fera un examen tripartite de l'appartenance/systèmes de moissonnage qu'il finance b) 31/08/2008 b) On procède actuellement à l'examen par un tiers des systèmes sur l'appartenance soutenus par cette initiative, et celui-ci devrait être achevé d'ici le mois d'octobre.

Commentaire du SVE : Dossier fermé
3. Solidifier et concentrer ses efforts de renforcement des capacités afin de fournir la stabilité et la durabilité aux organisations autochtones appropriées. a) Le Bureau doit développer une stratégie pour se concentrer sur ses efforts de renforcement des capacités auprès de groupes de clients clés. a) 31/07/2008

État :
a) Mis en œuvre
b) Mise en œuvre en suspens

Mise à jour/Justification : En date du 30/09/2008 :


En date du 30/09/2008 :
a) Dans l'axe de financement du développement des capacités, le BIF a réorienté des décisions de financement pour tenir compte des objectifs de financement du programme, avec comme point de mire la responsabilisation en matière de gouvernance, de finances et d'élections.

Commentaire du SVE : Dossier fermé

b) Le Bureau travaillera avec les organisations autochtones clés afin d'élaborer et mettre en œuvre des plans de développement des capacités à long terme. b) 31/03/2009 En date du 30/09/2009 :

b) Le Bureau continue de travailler avec les organisations autochtones clés afin d'élaborer et mettre en oeuvre des plans de développement des capacités à long terme. En général, le tout est axé sur la responsabilité financière (des systèmes financiers, l'utilisation d'experts-comptables, des plans de remboursement).
4. Examiner les lacunes au niveau du financement de base accordé aux organisations destinataires. a) Le Bureau participera au travail d'élaboration des politiques mené par le Ministère portant sur les enjeux qui touchent le financement de base. a) présentement en cours État : Mis en œuvre

Mise à jour/Justification :
En date du 30/09/2008 :


Le BIF a élaboré un cadre stratégique pour rationaliser les affectations du financement de base aux organisations bénéficiaires.

AINC réaffectera du financement à l'interne au BIF par l'intermédiaire du processus de Mise à jour annuelle des niveaux de référence pour s'attaquer à l'iniquité des fonds qui sont accordés aux organisations des Métis et des Indiens non inscrits par rapport à ceux accordés aux organisations de Premières nations et d'Inuits.

Commentaire du SVE : Dossier fermé
5. Améliorer la gestion de son programme de contribution afin de s'assurer de procéder à temps aux ententes et aux paiements de contributions. a) Le Bureau doit initier un examen du processus pour améliorer de façon réaliste son efficacité.

Les principes de l'initiative ministérielle du rapport élaborés dans le cadre des SAGES seront appliqués à cette action.
a) 31/05/2008 État : Mis en œuvre

Mise à jour/Justification :
En date du 31/09/2009 :


Commentaire du SVE : Information sur l'examen requise.
 
 
Date de modification :