ARCHIVED - Evaluation of the National Child Benefit Reinvestment Program - Follow-up Report Status Update as of September 25, 2008

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (50 kb, 5 Pages)

 

 
PROJECT TITLE
EVALUATION OF THE FEDERAL INTERLOCUTOR'S CONTRIBUTION PROGRAM AND POWLEY: MANAGEMENT OF MÉTIS ABORIGINAL RIGHTS(200713)
ACTION PLAN APPROVAL DATE: 28/02/2008
PROGRAM
THE OFFICE OF THE FEDERAL INTERLOCUTOR (OFI)
PROJECT RECOMMENDATION
1. Clarify OFI mandate and role within INAC and the federal government, and develop expected outcomes and performance indictors that are measurable and an accurate reflection of the scope and work of the OFI.
STATUS: Implemented
ACTION PLAN EXPECTED COMPLETION DATE RESPONSE
a) INAC will continue to communicate OFI's mandate and role, both within the department and to all interested stakeholders. April 2008 As of 30/09/2008:

INAC Senior management continues to communicate OFI's role and mandate both within the department and to client groups (website renewal, Senior Policy Committee, meetings with clients, joint ADM letters to RDG's).
b) OFI will update its performance measurement and reporting framework and implement a performance measurement strategy as per OFI's Results-based Management and Accountability Framework. The principles of the department's SMART reporting initiative will be applied to this exercise. April 2008 As part of the INAC Audit and Evaluation Sector's work on developing departmental performance measures, OFI held a two day workshop in September. Once approved, these indicators will be included in the departmental submission to Treasury Board. In addition, program level performance measures have been included in the development of the OFI PIMS system.
c) OFI will continue to communicate programming objectives to its stakeholders and ensure this is reflected on OFI's website. April 2008 Two one-day sessions were undertaken with all main OFI clients in March 2008 to explain TB requirements, INAC requirements, the process of developing contribution agreements, reporting expectations, and so on. In addition, as part of the broader INAC website renewal initiative, all program objectives and materials have been updated and will be posted later this fall.
PROJECT RECOMMENDATION
2. Maintain the current approach to the management of Métis rights assertions including enhance work with other federal departments, provinces and Aboriginal organizations on joint research efforts to further understand rights-bearing Métis communities, and strengthening and sustainability of membership and identification systems.
STATUS:
a) OFI will continue to seek opportunities for joint research with provincial governments, and where possible, by the relevant Métis organizations. April 2008 As of 30/09/2008:

OFI is currently pursuing joint research opportunities with Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario and Newfoundland and Labrador. OFI has provided funding to CAP and MNC to pursue research.
b) OFI will conduct a third-party review of the membership/harvesters systems funded by OFI. August 2008 A third party review of the memberships systems supported by this initiative is underway, and expected to be completed by October.
PROJECT RECOMMENDATION
3. The Director, Administrative Services, Corporate Services, should ensure that Aboriginal procurement targets and results, in relation to target amounts, are communicated to all procurement staff and program managers at headquarters and regions.
STATUS: a) Implemented, b) pending implementation
a) OFI will develop a strategy to focus the capacity building efforts on key client groups. July 2008 As of 30/09/2008:

Within the capacity building funding stream, OFI has realigned funding decisions in keeping with funding objectives of the program, with a focus on governance, financial and electoral accountability.
b) OFI will work with key Aboriginal organizations to develop and implement long-term capacity building plans. March 2009 OFI continues to work with key client groups to develop electoral reform plans, financial management plans, repayment plans as well as economic development plans to help with the objective of building longer-term sustainability.
PROJECT RECOMMENDATION
4. Examine the weakness in the level of core funding provided to recipient organizations.
STATUS: Implemented
OFI will participate in the policy work being conducted in the department involving core funding issues. currently underway As of 30/09/2008:

The OFI developed a policy framework to rationalize core funding allocations to recipient organizations.

INAC will reallocate funding internally to OFI through the ARLU process to begin to address the inequity in funding between Métis and non-status Indian organizations compared to First Nations and Inuit organizations
PROJECT RECOMMENDATION
5. The Director, Administrative Services, Corporate Services, should ensure that skills required for contracting and purchasing positions are defined and that gaps in skills are identified periodically.
STATUS: Pending Implementation
OFI will conduct a review of the processes in order to identify any efficiency that can be realized.

The principles of the department's SMART reporting initiative will be applied to this exercise.
May 2008 As of 30/09/2008:

This is ongoing. OFI officers are being trained on the use of FNITP in order to be able to upload proposals, workplans and reports, thereby decreasing photocopying and scanning time. Review of overall INAC process to determine where there might be efficiencies still to be undertaken.
 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Vérification du marchés et de l'approvisionnement - Rapports de suivi en date du 25 septembre 2008

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Format PDF (52 Ko, 5 pages)

 

 
TITRE DU PROJECT
VÉRIFICATION DU MARCHÉS ET DE L'APPROVISIONNEMENT : (200316)
Date d'approbation du plan d'action : 13/03/1997
PROGRAMME
BUREAU DE L'INTERLOCUTEUR FÉDÉRAL
RECOMMANDATION DU PROJET
1. Clarifier son mandat et son rôle au sein de l'AINC et du gouvernement fédéral. Il doit développer des résultats cibles et des indicateurs de rendement mesurable qui démontrent de façon détaillée la portée et le travail du Bureau de l'interlocuteur fédéral.
ÉTAT : Mis en œuvre
PLAN D'ACTION DATE PRÉVUE D'ACHÈVEMENT RÉPONSE
a) AINC doit clarifier davantage le rôle et le mandat du Bureau au sein du Ministère et à tout intervenant intéressé. avril 2008 En date du 30/09/2008 :

Les membres de la haute direction d'AINC continuent de communiquer le rôle du BIF et son mandat tant au sein du Ministère qu'auprès des groupes clients (renouvellement du site Web, Comité supérieur des politiques, réunions avec des clients, lettres conjointes des SMA aux DGR).
b) Le Bureau doit mettre à jour ses indicateurs de performance, son cadre de présentation de rapports et mettre sur pied une stratégie de mesure du rendement selon son cadre de gestion et de responsabilisation axé sur les résultats.  Les principes de l'initiative ministérielle du rapport élaborés dans le cadre des SAGES seront appliqués à cette action. avril 2008 Dans le cadre des travaux du Secteur de la vérification et de l'évaluation d'AINC portant sur l'élaboration de mesures de rendement pour le Ministère, le BIF a tenu un atelier de deux jours en septembre. Une fois approuvés, les indicateurs seront inclus dans la présentation du Ministère au Conseil du Trésor. De plus, les mesures du niveau de rendement des programmes ont été incluses dans l'élaboration du Système de gestion de l'information sur les programmes du BIF.
c) Le Bureau doit clarifier davantage ses objectifs de programmes aux intervenants et s'assurer que c'est affiché sur son site Web. avril 2008 Deux séances d'une journée ont été organisées avec tous les principaux clients du BIF en mars 2008 pour expliquer les exigences du CT, celles d'AINC, le processus d'élaboration des ententes de contribution, les attentes en matière de rapports et ainsi de suite. En outre, dans le cadre du projet de renouvellement du site Web général d'AINC, tous les objectifs et documents du programme ont été mis à jour et ils seront publiés plus tard cet automne.
RECOMMANDATION DU PROJET
2. Maintenir son approche dans la gestion de l'affirmation des droits des Métis. Il faudrait cependant collaborer avec d'autres ministères fédéraux, provinces ou organisations autochtones dans des initiatives de recherches afin de faire avancer les recours des droits des communautés métis, et ainsi de renforcir et d'assurer l'appartenance et ses systèmes d'affiliation identitaire.
ÉTAT : Mis en œuvre
a) Le Bureau doit continuer à chercher des opportunités de recherches conjointes avec les gouvernements provinciaux et, si possible, auprès des organisations métis appropriées. avril 2008 En date du 30/09/2008 :

Le BIF cherche présentement des occasions d'effectuer conjointement des recherches avec l'Alberta, la Saskatchewan, le Manitoba, l'Ontario et Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Le BIF a fourni du financement de recherche au Congrès des peuples autochtones et au Ralliement national des Métis.
b) Le Bureau fera un examen tripartite de l'appartenance/systèmes de moissonnage qu'il finance. août 2008 On procède actuellement à l'examen par un tiers des systèmes sur l'appartenance soutenus par cette initiative, et celui-ci devrait être achevé d'ici le mois d'octobre.
RECOMMANDATION DU PROJET
3. Solidifier et concentrer ses efforts de renforcement des capacités afin de fournir la stabilité et la durabilité aux organisations autochtones appropriées.
ÉTAT : a) Mis en œuvre, b) Mis en œuvre en suspens
a) Le Bureau doit développer une stratégie pour se concentrer sur ses efforts de renforcement des capacités auprès de groupes de clients clés. juillet 2008 En date du 30/09/2008 :

Dans l'axe de financement du développement des capacités, le BIF a réorienté des décisions de financement pour tenir compte des objectifs de financement du programme, avec comme point de mire la responsabilisation en matière de gouvernance, de finances et d'élections.
b) Le Bureau travaillera avec les organisations autochtones clés afin d'élaborer et mettre en œuvre des plans de développement des capacités à long terme. mars 2009 Le BIF continue de travailler avec des groupes de clients essentiels à élaborer des plans de réforme électorale, des plans de gestion financière, des plans de remboursement de dette ainsi que des plans de développement économique pour contribuer à atteindre l'objectif de développer la durabilité à long terme.
RECOMMANDATION DU PROJET
4. Examiner les lacunes au niveau du financement de base accordé aux organisations destinataires.
ÉTAT : Mis en œuvre
Le Bureau participera au travail d'élaboration des politiques mené par le Ministère portant sur les enjeux qui touchent le financement de base. présentement en cours En date du 30/09/2008 :

Le BIF a élaboré un cadre stratégique pour rationaliser les affectations du financement de base aux organisations bénéficiaires.

AINC réaffectera du financement à l'interne au BIF par l'intermédiaire du processus de Mise à jour annuelle des niveaux de référence pour s'attaquer à l'iniquité des fonds qui sont accordés aux organisations des Métis et des Indiens non inscrits par rapport à ceux accordés aux organisations de Premières nations et d'Inuits.
RECOMMANDATION DU PROJET
5. Améliorer la gestion de son programme de contribution afin de s'assurer de procéder à temps aux ententes et aux paiements de contributions.
ÉTAT : Mis en œuvre en suspens
Le Bureau doit initier un examen du processus pour améliorer de façon réaliste son efficacité.

Les principes de l'initiative ministérielle du rapport élaborés dans le cadre des SAGES seront appliqués à cette action
mai 2008 En date du 30/09/2008 :

Continu. Les agents du BIF reçoivent une formation actuellement sur l'emploi du système des PTPNI afin d'être en mesure de télécharger des propositions, des plans de travail et des rapports, et donc d'écourter le temps passé à photocopier et à numériser des documents. Il reste encore à entreprendre l'examen des processus généraux d'AINC pour déterminer les endroits où on pourrait introduire des économies.
 
 
Date de modification :