ARCHIVED - Audit of Staffing Transactions NWT - Follow-up Report Status Update as of March 31, 2009

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (32 Kb, 4 Pages)

 

 

Action Plan Implementation Status Update Report To The Audit Committee - As Of March 31, 2009

Human Resources and Workplace Services - Aboriginal and Corporate Resourcing

Audit of Staffing Transactions NWT (200715)
AEC Approval Date: 19/12/2007

Project Recommendations Action Plan Expected
Completion Date
Program  Response
1. Managers with delegated signing authorities should understand the limitations of their authorities under the Treasury Board Secretariat and INAC's Delegation of Signing Authorities and should act within their delegated signing authority. Managers who clearly exceed their delegated authority, especially when in contravention of direction provided by HR management, should be reviewed and appropriate disciplinary action taken, which could include up to revocation of their authorities in cases of abuse. HR will continue to provide staffing sub-delegation training to provide participants with the knowledge and skills necessary to undertake their roles, responsibilities and accountabilities related to staffing within the PSEA framework.

A policy on sub delegation will be developed outlining clear sub-delegation terms and conditions.

Directed and special reviews/investigations of particular staffing activities will be undertaken when abuse of authorities is brought to our attention or is identified through monitoring activities.

Based on evidence of contravention of delegated authorities, timely action will be taken to address unauthorized transactions and to take appropriate corrective action, including removal of authority if warranted.
30/04/2008 Status: Implemented (and ongoing)

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2008:


Policy on sub delegation was approved by DM as of September 19, 2008 and is posted on HR-Online Intranet site

AES: We will review and close, if appropriate
2. HR should require mandatory training on Ethics and Rules of Conduct in the workplace and on the Public Servants Disclosure Protection Act for every employee in the department. This should be refreshed at regular intervals. Training in the areas of values and ethics (V&E), the new Code of Conduct (presently under development at the federal level), and the Public Servants Disclosure Act should be developed and made available to INAC employees.

Short term plans include the delivery of a training/information session in the NWT region in the New Year focussed on the day-to-day application of values and ethics.
31/03/2008 Status:

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2008:


Other departmental initiatives include the release of:

i) V&E web-site called Insite;
28/02/2008
ii) lunch and learn sessions in the NCR; 31/03/2008
iii) reviewing INAC's Orientation training to update information about V&E and disclosure of workplace wrongdoing. 30/04/2008
3. HR in HQ should establish the capacity to actively monitor, on an ongoing basis, HR management practices and controls. At a minimum, HR in HQ should verify all overfill positions to establish whether there are other occurrences of overpayment resulting from acting pay. Additionally, exception reports should be developed as needed to establish whether other anomalies exist and as such whether further work is required. If the ad hoc PeopleSoft report developed for the audit is to be used in the future, its reliability should be assessed. Audit and Assurance Services should be apprised of progress and results of this work.

Although HR management indicate that the PeopleSoft system will be revamped, interim measures should be put in place to make the active monitoring of staffing transactions a priority. Lessons learned from active monitoring of staffing transactions will bring valuable input in developing the right system that will provide appropriate monitoring and control.
HRB will monitor on an ongoing process of qualitative and quantitative information on current and past staffing results to assess staffing management and performance and identify early corrective action, if required, to manage and minimize risk and improve staffing performance. The monitoring of staffing activity will be a shared responsibility between management and Human Resources.

HRB will also be monitoring Pay Transactions. Some regions have already been identified.

HRB will carry out four (4) types of monitoring as per an approved Staffing Management Accountability and Monitoring Framework:
  • regular on-going;
  • cyclical review of staffing activities including on-site reviews;
  • thematic reviews;
  • directed, special reviews of particular activities.
01/04/2008 Status: Pending Implementation

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2008:


Staffing Management Accountability Framework (SMAF) to be presented at HRWSMC Nov 27

Active monitoring exercise underway as of Oct 08 to be completed by end of fiscal year.

Audit of the NWT compensation system was completed Oct 08 & results are being assessed.

Pay monitoring for fiscal year 2008-2009 completed for the following regions:
Yukon – September 2008
NWT – October 2008.

HR Data Quality Strategy and Plan being developed for end of 2008-2009 fiscal year. Reports will be scheduled and not ad hoc – more to follow.

AES: We will review and close if appropriate
4. For effective decision making, the data quality in PeopleSoft must be complete and accurate throughout the year. Good data quality is critical for the accurate reporting of staffing transactions. It is recognized that HR place great reliance on the work performed by regional staff. Functional responsibilities related to the regional HR roles should be clarified and documented. The organizational model should be enhanced to develop a stronger working relation and provide for greater independence in regards to the responsibilities for this role.

HR should work with the CFO sector (in particular – Information Management (IM) Services) to implement controls and tools to ensure the data integrity of the PeopleSoft system and the consistency of data with financial reporting systems.
HRB will monitor the integrity of PeopleSoft data using feedback from Public Service Commission, Auditor General and other pertinent audits in order to provide assurance as to data quality and to allow for exception reporting and corrective action on a timely basis.

HRB will ensure that quarterly reports produced for central agencies will be completed as per reporting requirements and that recommended actions are completed on a timely basis.

Appropriate HR performance measures including for quality assurance will be developed in consultation with the Staffing Management Accountability Framework (SMAF) project now underway within the Department.
30/04/2008 Status: Implemented (and ongoing)

Update/Rationale:
As of 31/03/2009:


Ongoing PeopleSoft data integrity work in NCR and Regions along with the quarterly reports is increasing the data integrity and accuracy for the Department.

A further PeopleSoft Data Quality Strategy and Plan will also be developed for implementation of PeopleSoft 8.9

The SMAF will assess Managers satisfaction with timeliness and quality of staffing information systems.

Quarterly reporting to central agencies is undertaken as per reporting requirements

HR Data Quality Strategy and Plan being developed for end of 2008-2009 fiscal year. Reports will be scheduled and not ad hoc – more to follow.

AES: We will review and close if appropriate
A new Staffing PeopleSoft HRMS training manual has been developed and recently distributed.

A data management strategy will be developed in the context of the implementation of PeopleSoft 8.9
30/04/2008
Internal Audit should consider HR transactions within its planned Quality Assurance Monitoring Audit. 30/04/2008
 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Vérification des activités de dotation T.N.-O. - Rapports de suivi en date du 31 mars 2009

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

PDF Version (33 Ko, 4 pages)

Compte rendu sur l'etat de la mise en oeuvre du plan d'action rapport au comite de verification en date du 31 mars

Services des ressources humaine et du milieu de travail – ressourcement ministériel et autochtone

Vérification des activités de dotation T.N.-O. (200715)
Date d'approbation du CVÉ: 19/12/2007

Recommandations du projet Plan d'action Date
d'achèvement prévue
Réponse du programme
1. Les gérants avec la délégation de pouvoir de signature devraient comprendre que les limites de leur autorité se rapportent aux politiques du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor et la délégation des pouvoirs de signatures d'AINC. Les actions des gestionnaires qui excèdent manifestement leur délégation de pouvoir, particulièrement lorsqu'ls contreviennent aux directives fournies par la gestion des RH, doivent être revues et une action disciplinaire appropriée doit être prise, ce qui pourrait aller jusqu'à la révocation de leur délégation de pouvoir lors des abus. Les ressources humaines continueront à fournir de la formation aux subdélégations du personnel au niveau des connaissances et des habiletés nécessaires dans le cadre de leurs fonctions, rôles, reddition de comptes en fonction de l'embauche au sein du cadre de la LEFP.

Une politique de sous-délégation sera élaborée en soulignant clairement la subdélégation des termes et des conditions.

Des enquêtes/révisions spéciales seront entreprises lorsque des activités spéciales de dotation sont entreprises lorsqu'un signalement d'abus d'autorité nous est signalé grâce aux activités de surveillance.
30/04/2008 État : Mis en oeuvre (et continu)

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 30/09/2008 :


La politique sur la subdélégation a été approuvée par le SM en date du 19 septembre 2008 et elle est affichée sur le site Intranet en ligne des RH.

SVÉ : Nous examinerons la situation et fermerons le dossier, s'l y a lieu.
2. Les RH devraient exiger que chaque employé du Ministère suive une formation obligatoire sur l'éthique et les règles de conduite en milieu de travail et sur la Loi sur la protection des fonctionnaires divulgateurs d'actes répréhensibles. Les employés devraient par la suite suivre des séances de mise à jour sur ces sujets à intervalle régulier. La formation au niveau des valeurs et des éthiques, du nouveau code d'éthique (présentement élaboré au fédéral) et la Loi sur la protection des fonctionnaires divulgateurs d'actes répréhensibles devrait être développée et disponible aux employés d'AINC.

Les plans à court terme incluent la prestation de sessions d'nformation/de formation dans la région des T.N.-O dans l'année à suivre au niveau des valeurs et les éthiques sur une base quotidienne.
31/03/2008 État :

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 30/09/2008 :
D'autres initiatives ministérielles incluent la diffusion de :

i) Un site web de valeurs et éthiques « Insite »;
28/03/2008
ii) Des sessions d'nformation avec goûter dans la RCN; 31/03/2008
iii) La révision des formations d'orientation des valeurs et éthiques et la divulgation d'actes répréhensibles au travail. 30/04/2008
3. Les RH de l'Administration centrale devraient établir la capacité de surveiller activement et en permanence les pratiques et contrôles des RH. À tout le moins, elles devraient vérifier tous les postes surclassés pour établir si d'autres trop-payés ont découlé du versement de rémunérations d'ntérim. De plus, des rapports axés sur les lacunes devraient être élaborés au besoin pour établir si d'autres anomalies existent et, le cas échéant, si d'autres travaux de vérification s'mposent. Si le rapport PeopleSoft élaboré ponctuellement aux fins de la vérification doit être utilisé ultérieurement, on devrait en évaluer la fiabilité. Les Services de vérification et de certification devraient être tenus au courant des progrès et des résultats de ce travail.

Même si la gestion des RH indique que le système de People Soft sera retravaillé, des mesures intérimaires devraient être mises en œuvre afin de faire une priorité de la surveillance des activités de contrôle des transactions du personnel. Les leçons apprises des activités de contrôle de celles-ci serviront à l'élaboration du système adéquat qui offrira un niveau de contrôle et de surveillance.
La DRH surveillera de façon continuelle le processus d'nformation qualitative et quantitative des résultats passés afin d'évaluer la gestion et la performance du personnel afin d'dentifier des mesures correctives, au besoin, afin de gérer et minimiser le risque et d'améliorer la performance du personnel. Le partage du contrôle des activités partagées sera partagé entre la gestion et les ressources humaines.

La DRH se chargera d'offrir (4) quatre types de contrôles selon le Cadre de gestion et de reddition de compte de la dotation :
  • Activités continues;
  • Révision cyclique des activités d'embauche comprenant les révisions sur le terrain;
  • Des révisions basées sur le thème;
  • Diriger des révisions spéciales des activités particulières.
01/04/2008 État : En attente de mise en oeuvre

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 30/09/2008 :


Le Cadre de responsabilisation en gestion de la dotation (CRGD) sera présenté au CGSMTRH le 27 novembre

Un exercice de contrôle actif est en cours depuis le 8 octobre et se terminera à la fin de l'exercice.

La vérification du système de rémunération des TNO a été complétée le 8 octobre et les résultats font présentement l'objet d'une évaluation.

Le contrôle de la paie pour l'exercice 2008-2009 est complété dans les régions suivantes :
Yukon – Septembre 2008
TNO – Octobre 2008.

Le Plan et la Stratégie de qualité des données seront développés d'ci la fin de l'exercice 2008-2009. La date des rapports sera fixée au préalable et ceux-ci ne seront pas ad hoc – d'autres détails suivront.

SVÉ : Nous examinerons la situation et fermerons le dossier, s'l y a lieu
4. Pour une prise de décision efficace, la fiabilité des données doit être complète et fiable tout au long de l'année. Une bonne qualité de données est critique pour la transmission de données des opérations de dotation. Les RH accordent une grande importance sur le travail effectué par le personnel des régions. Les responsabilités fonctionnelles liées au rôle des RH des régions devraient être clarifié et documenté. Le modèle organisationnel devrait être renforcé afin de développer une relation de travail plus solide et offrir plus d'ndépendance vis-à-vis les responsabilités de ce rôle.

Les RH devraient travailler avec la Direction du chef de la direction financière (en particulier les services de Gestion en information pour implanter des contrôles et des outils permettant d'assurer l'ntégrité des données du système PeopleSoft et la compatibilité des données avec les systèmes de rapports financiers.
La DRH surveillera la fiabilité des données de People Soft en se servant de la rétroaction de la Commission de la fonction publique, le Bureau du vérificateur général et d'autres vérifications pertinentes afin d'assurer l'excellence de la qualité des données et de permettre les rapports d'anomalie et les actions correctives de façon rapide.

La DRH s'assurera que les rapports trimestriels diffusés aux agences centrales seront complétés en fonction des exigences de déclaration et que les actions recommandées soient complétées à temps.

Des mesures de rendement appropriées en RH tenant compte de l'assurance de la qualité qui sera élaborée en consultation avec le Cadre de responsabilisation en gestion de la dotation (CRGD). Le projet d'établissement de rapports est en cours au sein du ministère.
30/04/2008 État : Mis en œuvre (et continu)

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 30/09/2008 :


Le travail en cours sur l'ntégrité des données PeopleSoft dans la RCN et les régions ainsi que les rapports trimestriels améliorent l'ntégrité et l'exactitude des données pour le ministère.

Un autre Plan et une autre Stratégie sur la qualité des données PeopleSoft seront également développés pour la mise en oeuvre de la version PeopleSoft 8.9

Le CRGD évaluera la satisfaction des gestionnaires par rapport au caractère opportun et à la qualité des systèmes d'nformation sur la dotation.

La production de rapports trimestriels aux organismes centraux a débuté, conformément aux exigences sur la présentation des rapports.

Le Plan et la Stratégie sur la qualité des données des RH seront développés d'ci la fin de l'exercice 2008-2009. La date des rapports sera fixée au préalable et ceux-ci ne seront pas ad hoc – d'autres détails suivront.

SVÉ : Nous examinerons la situation et fermerons le dossier, s'l y a lieu.
Un nouveau manuel de formation de la dotation de PeopleSoft a été récemment développé et distribué.

Une stratégie de gestion des données sera développée dans le contexte de la mise en œuvre de PeopleSoft 8.9
30/04/2008
La vérification interne devrait prendre en considération les transactions des RH au sein de ses vérifications de la qualité et de surveillance prévues. 30/04/2008
 
 
 
 
Date de modification :