ARCHIVED - Audit of Staffing and Payroll For Non-Advertised Appointments and Acting Appointments - Follow-up Report Status Update as of September 30, 2009

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (39 Kb, 4 Pages)

 

 

Action Plan Implementation Status Update
Report To The Audit Committee - As of September 30, 2009

Human Resources and Workplace Services Branch

Audit of Staffing and Payroll For Non-Advertised Appointments and Acting Appointments (200847)
AEC Approval Date: 26/02/2009

Project Recommentations Action Plan Expected Completion Date Program Response
1. In conjunction with the ADM, Regional Operations and the ADM, Northern Affairs Organization, complete an analysis of reporting relationships and resource levels within regional HR functions and develop a strategy to achieve minimum staffing service standards. DG Human Resources and Workplace Services Branch (HRWSB) is currently undertaking a review of staffing processes in order to develop staffing service standards for the NCR region by March 31, 2009.

A review of reporting relationships and resource levels within regional HR functions will be undertaken in conjunction with the ADM Regional Operations and the ADM Northern Affairs, and a strategy will be developed to ensure staffing services in all regions can be delivered within these service standards.
March 31 2010 Status: Draft Service Standards have been developed for NCR Staffing and Classification – Validation with Corporate HR, Regions and Clients planned for Q3.

Update/Rationale:

As of 30/09/2009: Benchmarking with 5 OGD's completed and gap analysis with OCHROHR Common Business Process completed

Part of leading departments working with OCHROHR Common Business Process team.
2. Review accountabilities of HRWSB with respect to regional HR operations to better understand whether the current regional service delivery models and accountabilities achieve efficiency and effectiveness. A review of accountabilities and associated monitoring and oversight controls for staffing activities will be undertaken to determine whether current regional service delivery models and accountabilities achieve efficiency and effectiveness.

If alternate service delivery models are indicated, a business change proposal will be submitted to IOC and HRWSMC for consideration.
March 31 2010 Status: active

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2009:


HR Service Delivery Model under analysis/study by Deloitte. Report expected for November 2009
3. Expand the HR Policy Framework to include guidelines on the use of acting appointments greater than four months and casual workers to ensure fairness and transparency in selection. A policy on Acting Appointments has already been written and approved by the Deputy Minister. It will be posted on HR on-line and communicated to HR Advisors and Delegated managers in February 2009.

A Guideline for delegated managers and HR Advisors on the use of casual appointments will be developed.
June 30 2009 Status: partially completed

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2009: Done by Sylvain Aubé and approved by DM on January 23, 2009. Presented to RDHR on conference call March 17, 2009. Posted on site in March 2009


AES: Expected date of completion March 31, 2010.
4. Review and formalize the HR monitoring framework to ensure that departmental management has assurance that managers and HR professionals across the department are adhering to legislative and policy requirements related to all aspects of HR management and that guiding values are being respected. A Monitoring Framework and Plan has been developed by the Aboriginal and Corporate Resourcing Directorate and active monitoring of staffing transactions is underway.

Monitoring of Acting Appointments over 12 months has recently been concluded and remedial action is being taken.

Monitoring of non-advertised staffing processes will be undertaken during FY '08-09 Q4 and FY '09-10 Q1.

Delegated managers who breach legislative and policy requirements will be dealt with in an appropriate fashion.

A review of the process for recording Aboriginal status on staffing files will be undertaken and appropriate remedial action implemented as warranted.
June 30 2009 Status: on-going

Update/Rationale: As of 30/09/2009:

A draft has been prepared but never approved. Working on an updated one. Completion February 2009.

Completed and presented to HRWSMC on January 22, 2009.

Monitoring Framework and Plan are under development.

Completed when required.

A form (AAAF) has been implemented by PSC.
5. Improve consistency and communication of HR guidelines and tools across the department; while leveraging on best practices developed in both regions and HRWSB and reducing redundancy (e.g. multiple HR intranet sites, duplicate tools and inconsistent service standards). HRWSB will develop a proposal to review the INAC HR On-line website, establish a policy on the communication of HR policies, guidelines and management tools, and consolidate HR policies, guidelines and tools for managers into one nationally-accessible intranet site for consideration. This will require incremental funding so will be submitted to the INAC Financial Management Committee as a funding pressure.

Work on this initiative will be dependent on the availability and timing of funding.
TBC based on funding availability

DD/MM/YYYY
Status: Proposal to be developed in the next fiscal year

Update/Rationale: IT capacity at maximum
As of 30/09/2009:
6. Provide consistent training and guidance to non-delegated managers and administrative personnel across the department who are actively involved in staffing processes. The NCR Operations have added to the NCR Training calendar learning events in the form of learning capsules for all hiring managers (non delegated) on topics such as Staffing Options, Collective Staffing, Duty to accommodate ect. Currently, the offerings are in the 2008-2009 training schedule and will be continued in the 2009-2010 fiscal year with additional capsules on various staffing themes.

These will be made available to Regional Directors of HR for delivery in other regions.
December 31 2010 Status: active

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2009:


Training is provided: Collective Staffing Tools for Managers and Supervisors, Staffing options for Managers, Duty to accommodate for HR professionals, Managers and Supervisors, Succession Planning for Managers and Supervisors, the role of HR professionals in the New Integrated Planning Model.

AES: On track, good progress
7. Develop a robust action plan, including specific roles and responsibilities of HRWSB, regional HR staff and IM/IT, to ensure data integrity within PeopleSoft prior to implementing the PWGSC pay interface. In the context of the PeopleSoft V8.9 upgrade project, system data has been cleaned to allow for system upgrade. To ensure on-going data quality, a Data Quality Strategy and Plan has been developed for on-going management of data integrity. A Project Charter and Project Plan have been developed setting out the roles and responsibilities of HRWSB, regional HR staff and IM/IT. A system of exception reporting is being developed for HR business owners and regional HR staff to use in managing on-going data quality.

A Data Quality Steering Committee will meet regularly to oversee data cleanup and will monitor on an on-going basis.

Progress will be reported through the HRWSB Quarterly Report.
Ongoing
DD/MM/YYYY
Status: Ongoing.

Clean-up of 8000 codes and deletion of 800 vacant positions with EC Conversion Exercise. Data clean-up is also an ongoing exercise stemming from errors identified with the HR Operational Dashboard. Data clean-up also occurring with the Workforce Project (matching OSMS information with HRMS information).

Update/Rationale:
As of 30/09/2009: Roles and responsibilities for HR HRMS team have been clarified and communicated. A data quality steering committee has been established to clarify which data to be cleaned by whom when given the several projects taking place (Data Integrity, E-pay, E-Interface, Nakisa, Workforce Adjustment). The steering committee ensures good communication, synergy and macro level decisions pertaining to Data Integrity as the cross cutting factor in these projects
.

AES: Satisfactory progress
 
 
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Vérification de la dotation et de la paie pour les nominations non annoncées et les nominations intérimaires - Rapports de suivi en date du 30 septembre 2009

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Format PDF (39 Ko, 5 pages)

 

 

Compte rendu sur l'état de la mise en œuvre du plan d'action
Rapport au comité de vérification en date du 30 septembre 2009

Direction générale des services de ressources humaines et du milieu du travail

Vérification de la dotation et de la paie pour les nominations non annoncées et les nominations intérimaires (200847)
Date d'approbation du CVÉ : 26/02/2009

Recommandations du projet Plan d'action Date prévue d'achèvement Réponse du programme
1. Simultanément avec le sous-ministre adjoint (SMA) des Opérations régionales et celui de l'Organisation des affaires du Nord, analyser les rapports hiérarchiques et les niveaux de ressources disponibles pour les fonctions régionales des RH, et mettre au point une stratégie pour satisfaire aux normes minimales de service en matière de dotation. Le directeur général (DG), Direction générale des services de ressources humaines et du milieu de travail, examine actuellement les processus de dotation afin d'élaborer des normes de service pour la dotation dans la RCN, d'ici le 31 mars 2009.

On procédera à l'examen des rapports hiérarchiques et des niveaux de ressources dans les services pour les fonctions régionales des RH, en collaboration avec le SMA, Opérations régionales, et le SMA, Affaires du Nord. On établira une stratégie pour s'assurer que les services de dotation dans toutes les régions satisfont à ces normes.
31 mars 2010 État : Des normes de service préliminaires ont été élaborées pour la dotation et la classification dans la RCN – la validation auprès des RH ministérielles, des régions et des clients est prévue pour le troisième trimestre.

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2009 :


L'établissement de points repères avec 5 autres ministères est terminé de même que l'analyse des écarts avec le Bureau du dirigeant principal des ressources humaines (BDPRH) – processus opérationnel commun pour les RH.
Une partie des ministères responsables travaillent avec le BDPRH – l'équipe du processus opérationnel commun pour les RH.
2. Examiner la responsabilisation de la DGSRHMT par rapport aux opérations régionales des RH pour mieux comprendre si les modèles régionaux actuels de prestation de services et de responsabilisation sont efficaces et font l'objet d'une supervision et d'une surveillance appropriées. On procédera à l'examen des responsabilités et des mesures connexes de surveillance et de contrôle des activités de dotation afin de vérifier si les modèles régionaux actuels de prestation de services et de responsabilisation sont efficaces et rentables.

S'il convient d'utiliser d'autres modèles de prestation de services, on présentera une proposition de changement opérationnel au Comité des DG chargé de la mise en œuvre et des opérations et au Comité de gestion des services de ressources humaines et du milieu de travail, pour examen.
31 mars 2010 État : Actif

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2009 :


Les modèles de prestation de services en matière de RH font présentement l'objet d'une analyse/d'un examen par Deloitte. Un rapport est attendu pour novembre 2009.
3. Étendre le cadre stratégique en matière de RH pour y inclure des lignes directrices sur le recours aux nominations intérimaires pour une période de plus de quatre mois et aux nominations occasionnelles afin d'assurer une sélection équitable et transparente. On a déjà rédigé une politique relative aux nominations intérimaires, et le sous-ministre l'a approuvée. Elle sera affichée sur le site RH en ligne, et on la fera parvenir aux conseillers en RH et aux gestionnaires délégataires (février 2009).

On élaborera des lignes directrices sur le recours aux nominations occasionnelles pour les gestionnaires délégataires et les conseillers en RH.
30 juin 2009 État : Partiellement terminé

Mise à jour/Justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2009 : Effectuée par Sylvain Aubé et approuvée par le SM le 23 janvier 2009. Présentée aux DRRH lors d'une conférence téléphonique le 17 mars 2009. Affichée sur le site en mars 2009
.

SVÉ : La date d'achèvement prévue est le 31 mars 2010.
4. Examiner et officialiser le cadre de surveillance des RH pour que les gestionnaires du Ministère aient l'assurance que les gestionnaires et les professionnels des RH de tout le Ministère se conforment aux exigences législatives et à celles des politiques portant sur tous les aspects de la gestion des RH, et que les valeurs directrices sont respectées. La Direction du ressourcement ministériel et autochtone a élaboré un plan et un cadre de surveillance. La surveillance active des activités de dotation est en cours.

La surveillance des nominations intérimaires sur douze mois s'est terminée récemment et la prise de mesures correctives est en cours.

La surveillance des processus de dotation non annoncés sera effectuée durant le quatrième trimestre de l'exercice 2008-2009 et le premier trimestre de 2009-2010.

On prendra les mesures qui conviennent concernant les gestionnaires délégataires qui ne se conforment pas aux exigences législatives et de politiques.

Un examen du processus d'inscription du statut d'Autochtone dans les dossiers de dotation sera entrepris et des mesures correctives seront prises, au besoin.
30 juin 2009 État : En cours

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2009 :


Une version préliminaire a été préparée, mais n'a jamais été approuvée. On travaille à une version mise à jour. Achèvement : février 2009.

Terminée et présentée à la DGSRHMT le 22 janvier 2009.

Le cadre et le plan de surveillance sont en cours d'élaboration.

Finalisé, au besoin.

La CFP a mis en place un Formulaire d'affirmation d'affiliation autochtone (FAAA).
5. Améliorer l'uniformité et la diffusion des lignes directrices et outils en matière de RH dans tout le Ministère, tout en tirant le meilleur parti des pratiques exemplaires mises au point, tant dans les régions qu'à la DGSRHMT, et en réduisant la redondance (p. ex., multiples sites intranet sur les RH, double emploi parmi les outils et normes de service irrégulières). La DGSRHMT élaborera une proposition d'examen du site Web RH en ligne d'AINC, établira une politique sur la communication des politiques, des lignes directrices et des outils de gestion en matière de RH et regroupera les politiques, lignes directrices et outils dans un site intranet accessible dans tout le pays. Des fonds additionnels seront nécessaires à cette fin; la demande en sera faite au Comité de gestion financière d'AINC à titre de pression financière.

Les travaux effectués pour cette initiative dépendront de la disponibilité des fonds et du moment où ils seront accordés.
À confirmer, selon la disponibilité des fonds

jj/mm/aaaa
État : Une proposition sera élaborée au cours du prochain exercice.

Mise à jour/ Justification : Capacité de la TI au maximum
En date du 30 septembre 2009 :
6. Fournir une formation et un encadrement uniformes aux gestionnaires non délégataires et au personnel administratif dans tout le Ministère qui participent activement aux processus de dotation. L'équipe d'Opérations RCN a ajouté des activités au calendrier de formation, soit des « capsules » destinées aux gestionnaires recruteurs (non délégataires) portant notamment sur les options de dotation, la dotation collective et l'obligation de prendre des mesures d'adaptation. Pour l'instant, ces activités figurent dans le calendrier de 2008-2009 : d'autres capsules sur diverses questions de dotation seront offertes à l'exercice 2009-2010.

Les directeurs régionaux des RH auront accès à ces activités et pourront les présenter dans leur région.
31 décembre 2010 État : Actif

Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2009 :


Une formation est fournie : Outils de dotation collective à l'intention des gestionnaires et des superviseurs; options de dotation à l'intention des gestionnaires; obligation de prendre des mesures d'adaptation à l'intention des professionnels des RH, des gestionnaires et des superviseurs; planification de la relève à l'intention des gestionnaires et des superviseurs; le rôle des professionnels des RH dans le nouveau modèle de planification intégrée

SVÉ : Sur la bonne voie; bons progrès
7. Élaborer un solide plan d'action, assorti de rôles et responsabilités spécifiques pour la DGSRHMT, le personnel régional des RH et les responsables de la gestion et de la technologie de l'information (GI/TI), pour assurer l'intégrité des données au sein de PeopleSoft avant d'appliquer l'interface de paye de TPSGC. Dans le cadre du projet de mise à niveau de PeopleSoft (V8.9), on a procédé au nettoyage des données du système. On a élaboré un plan et une stratégie sur la qualité des données pour gérer de façon continue l'intégrité des données. On a établi une charte et un plan de projet pour définir les rôles et responsabilités de la DGSRHMT, des employés régionaux des RH et de la GI/TI. On travaille à la conception d'un système permettant de signaler les anomalies, dont se serviront les exploitants et les employés régionaux des RH pour gérer de façon continue la qualité des données

Un comité directeur sur la qualité des données se réunira périodiquement pour superviser le nettoyage des données, et effectuera un suivi continu.

On rendra compte des progrès dans le rapport trimestriel de la DGSRHMT.
En cours

jj/mm/aaaa
État : En Cours

Nettoyage de 8 000 codes et élimination de 800 postes vacants dans le cadre du processus de conversion EC. Le nettoyage des données est en cours suite à des erreurs détectées dans le tableau de bord opérationnel des RH. Le nettoyage des données a également lieu dans le cadre du projet sur l'effectif (correspondance entre l'information du Système de gestion des salaires d'Oasis [OSMS] et celle du Système de gestion des ressources humaines [SGRH]).


Mise à jour/ Justification :
En date du 30 septembre 2009 : Les rôles et les responsabilités de l'équipe du SGRH ont été précisés et communiqués. On a mis sur pied un comité directeur sur la qualité des données qui précisera les données à nettoyer et le personnel chargé du nettoyage lorsque plusieurs projets seront réalisés (intégrité des données, paie électronique, interface électronique, Nakisa, réaménagement des effectifs). Le comité directeur s'assure qu'une bonne communication, une synergie et des décisions macroéconomiques relativement à l'intégrité des données constituent le facteur commun dans ces projets.


SVÉ : Progrès satisfaisants
 
 
Date de modification :