Audit and Evaluation at AANDC

Promoting greater accountability, transparency and oversight in government operations is one of the Government of Canada's top priorities. Each year, the Department conducts a number of audits, evaluations, management practices reviews/audits and other special studies. Through this work and regular compliance monitoring, the Department ensures the appropriate use of human and financial resources and that programs and services delivered by AANDC are relevant, efficient and effective. The Audit Committee as well as the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee include external members and ensure rigour and objectivity in the oversight of AANDC audit and evaluation reports. With the approval and oversight of the Audit Committee and the Evaluation, Performance Measurement and Review Committee, AANDC has a three-year risk-based audit plan and a five-year evaluation and performance measurement plan. Both are updated on an annual basis.

What Information is Available?

In this section, you will find information about the Department's audit and evaluation plans as well as the individual reports, action plans and follow-up activities coming out of these plans.

All approved departmental internal audit and evaluation reports are made accessible to the Canadian public to meet the requirements of the Treasury Board's policies on Internal Audit and Evaluation. These reports are posted to the website within 90 days of Deputy Head approval. Also found in this section are links to a variety of resources related to the audit and evaluation functions.

In This Section


Internal Audits

The internal audit function at AANDC provides assurance on all important aspects of risk management strategy and practices, management control frameworks and practices, and governance. Where control weaknesses exist and where the achievement of objectives is at risk, audit plays a role in providing constructive insight and recommendations for the strengthening of operations. The audit engagements are conducted in accordance with the Treasury Board Policy on Internal Audit (which adopts the International Standards for the Professional Practice of Internal Auditing)

The mandate and responsibilities of the Department's audit function can be found in the Internal Audit Charter. The Audit Manual provides those responsible for the audit function practical guidance, tools and information for managing the audit activity and for planning, conducting and reporting on auditing assurance engagements.

Information on the audits planned by the Department can be found in the three-year Risk-Based Audit Plan which is updated annually.

Internal Audit Reports


Recipient Audits

Conducting recipient audits at AANDC is an established practice and is guided by the Department's Recipient Audit Policy and recipient audit plan. Funding recipients are selected for an audit based on a risk evaluation, the value of the funding agreement and random selection. These audits are conducted by independent auditors to provide assurance in the form of an audit opinion on a recipient's compliance with the terms and conditions of a funding agreement administered by the Department. The audit may address financial and/or non-financial aspects of the funding agreement, including the recipient's control activities in relation to funding received under the agreement.

Recipient Audit Summary Reports


Investigations and Forensic Audits

To fulfill its commitment to improve results of programs and to enhance the federal government's transparency and the accountability of its programs, the Department also conducts forensic studies, examinations and reviews of recipients of departmental funding or individuals when necessary. These reports are often initiated by an allegation or complaint about wrongdoing by an employee, contractor or recipient of AANDC funds.

Investigation and Forensic Audit Reports


Management Practices Reviews and Audits

As part of a proactive approach to strengthening departmental management practices, the Department conducts Management Practices Audits (formerly Management Practices Reviews) to assess the adequacy of a region, a program or sector's management practices and controls in the areas of human resources, contracts, financial transactions, client-focused services and program delivery.

Management Practices Reviews and Audits


Evaluations

The evaluation function in the Department provides Canadians, Parliamentarians, Ministers, central agencies and Deputy Ministers an evidence-based, neutral assessment of the value for money, i.e. relevance and performance of federal government programs

Information on the evaluations conducted or planned by the Department can be found in the Evaluation and Performance Measurement Plans.

Evaluation Reports


Special Studies

From time to time, the Audit and Evaluation Sector of the Department also conducts or commissions studies of general application relating to effective resource management or performance measurement.

Special Studies

La vérification et l'évaluation

L'une des grandes priorités du gouvernement du Canada est de promouvoir la reddition de comptes, la transparence et la surveillance accrues à l'égard des activités gouvernementales. Chaque année, le Secteur de la vérification et de l'évaluation (SVE) effectue des vérifications, des évaluations, des examens et évaluations des pratiques de gestion et d'autres études spéciales portant sur les programmes et initiatives d'AANC. Grâce à ces travaux et à la surveillance constante de la conformité, le Ministère s'assure que les ressources humaines et financières sont utilisées de façon appropriée et que les programmes et les services qu'il offre sont pertinents, efficaces et efficients. Le Comité de vérification et le Comité de l'évaluation, de la mesure du rendement et de l'examen, composés, notamment, de membres externes, font en sorte que la surveillance des rapports de vérification et d'évaluation d'AANC se fasse avec rigueur et objectivité. Avec l'approbation du Comité de vérification et du Comité de l'évaluation, de la mesure du rendement et de l'examen, et sous la surveillance de ces derniers, AANC met en œuvre un plan triennal de vérification axé sur le risque et un plan quinquennal d'évaluation et de mesure du rendement, lesquels sont actualisés chaque année.

Renseignements disponibles

La présente section contient des renseignements sur les plans de vérification et d'évaluation du Ministère ainsi que sur les rapports individuels, les plans d'action et les activités de suivi découlant de ces plans.

Conformément aux exigences de la Politique sur la vérification interne et de la Politique sur l'évaluation du Conseil du Trésor, tous les rapports d'évaluation et de vérification interne approuvés sont mis à la disposition de la population canadienne. Ils sont affichés sur le site Web du Ministère dans un délai de 90 jours suivant l'approbation de l'administrateur général. Vous y trouverez également des liens vers diverses ressources liées aux fonctions de vérification et d'évaluation.

Sujets traités dans cette section

 

Vérifications internes

La fonction de vérification interne d'AANC assure la certitude à l'égard de tous les principaux aspects de la stratégie et des pratiques de gestion du risque, des cadres et des pratiques de contrôle de gestion ainsi que de la gouvernance. Si des faiblesses dans les contrôles sont constatées et si l'atteinte des objectifs est compromise, la vérification intervient et donne lieu à des recommandations et commentaires constructifs visant à renforcer les opérations. Les missions d'évaluation sont menées conformément à la Politique sur la vérification interne du Conseil du Trésor (laquelle tient compte des Normes internationales pour la pratique professionnelle de la vérification interne).

Le mandat et les responsabilités des personnes qui assument la fonction de vérification du Ministère sont décrits dans la Charte de la vérification interne. Le Manuel de vérification interne fournit à ces personnes des directives pratiques, des outils et de l'information pour gérer les activités de vérification, ainsi que pour planifier, exécuter et produire des rapports sur les missions d'assurance de vérification.

Le Plan triennal de vérification axé sur le risque, qui est mis à jour annuellement, contient des renseignements sur les vérifications prévues par le Ministère.

Rapports de vérification interne

 

Vérification de bénéficiaires

L'exécution de vérifications des bénéficiaires est une pratique établie à AADNC et elle est orientée par la Politique sur la vérification des bénéficiaires et le plan de vérification des bénéficiaires. Les bénéficiaires de financement sont sélectionnés pour une vérification en fonction d'une évaluation des risques, de la valeur de l'entente de financement et sur une base aléatoire. Ces vérifications effectuées par des vérificateurs indépendants visent à fournir, sous la forme d'une opinion du vérificateur, une assurance que les bénéficiaires respectent les modalités des ententes de financement administrées par le Ministère. La vérification peut porter sur des aspects financiers ou non financiers, notamment les activités que mène le bénéficiaire pour gérer le financement reçu en vertu de l'entente.

Vérification des bénéficiaires - Rapports sommaires

 

Investigations et verifications judiciaires

Afin de respecter son fraagement d'améliorer les résultats des programmes, d'accroitre la transparence du gouvernement fédérale et de renforcer l'obligation redditionnelle associée à ses programmes, le Ministère effectue également des études et des examens judiciaires visant des bénéficiaires de fonds ministériels ou d'autres personnes, au besoin. Ces mesures judiciaires font souvent suite à des allégations ou plaintes au sujet d'actes répréhensibles qui auraient été commis par un employé, un entrepreneur ou un bénéficiaire de fonds d'AANC.

Rapports d'investigations et verifications judiciaires

 

Examens et vérifications des pratiques de gestion

Dans le cadre d'une démarche proactive visant à renforcer les pratiques de gestion du Ministère, ce dernier effectue des vérifications des pratiques de gestion (auparavant examens des pratiques de gestion) afin de déterminer si les pratiques et les contrôles de gestion d'un bureau régional, d'un programme ou d'un secteur sont adéquats dans les domaines des ressources humaines, des marchés, des transactions financières, des services à la clientèle et de la prestation de programmes.

Examens et vérifications des pratiques de gestion

 

Évaluations

L'évaluation fournit aux Canadiens, aux parlementaires, aux ministres, aux organismes centraux et aux sous-ministres une appréciation neutre et fondée sur des éléments probants de l'optimisation des ressources, c.-à-d. la pertinence et le rendement des programmes du gouvernement fédéral.

Vous trouverez des renseignements sur les évaluations réalisées ou prévues par le Ministère dans les  Plans d'évaluation et de mesure du rendement.

Rapports d'évaluation

 

Études spéciales

À l'occasion, le SVE du Ministère réalise ou commande des études d'ordre général axées sur la gestion efficace des ressources ou la mesure du rendement.

Études spéciales

 
 
Date de modification :