Access to Information and Privacy

The Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act came into effect in July 1983. Both of these Acts contain information held by federal government institutions.

The Access to Information Act gives every Canadian citizen, permanent resident and individual, or corporation in Canada, the right to access records in any format, held under the control of a government institution and subject to specific and limited exceptions.

The Privacy Act protects the privacy of all Canadian citizens and permanent residents, regarding personal information held by a government institution. It also gives these individuals, including those in Canada who are not permanent residents or citizens, the right to access their own personal information, and governs the collection retention, use, protection and disclosure of personal information.

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) is committed to protecting the information it collects to administer its programs, and adheres to the requirements of both the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act.

Privacy impacts all of AANDC's programs and operations. The department's privacy responsibilities fall under the laws and policies of such entities as the Privacy Act, Treasury Board's Data Protection and Privacy Policy, and the Indian Act. They govern the way the Department collects, uses, discloses and retains personal information.

Contact Us

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) encourages requesters to utilize the present delegated authority to request information under the department's control. The intent is to make available as much information as possible through informal channels. Therefore, inquiries for information should be made directly, where possible, to the departmental Access to Information and Privacy (ATIP) Unit. For further information, contact the departmental ATIP Director.

To file an Access to Information or Privacy request, please send your application to the ATIP Coordinator.

ATIP Director
Access to Information and Privacy (ATIP)
Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada
10 Wellington, 18-B
Les Terrasses de la Chaudière
Gatineau, QC
K1A 0H4
Tel.: (819) 997-8277
Fax: (819) 953-5492
E-mail: aadnc.atiprequest-aiprpdemande@canada.ca

Use the Government Electronic Directory Services to obtain a list of ATIP Officers.

Date modified:

Accès à l'information et protection des renseignements personnels

La Loi sur l'accès à l'information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels sont entrées en vigueur en juillet 1983. Elles portent toutes les deux sur les renseignements détenus par les institutions fédérales.

La Loi sur l'accès à l'information confère à tous les citoyens canadiens, résidents permanents, particuliers ou sociétés au Canada, le droit d'accéder aux documents, quel qu'en soit le format, qui relèvent d'une institution fédérale. Ce droit est assujetti à certaines exceptions précises et limitées.

La Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels protège la vie privée de tous les citoyens et résidents permanents du Canada en ce qui concerne les renseignements personnels dont dispose une institution fédérale. Elle accorde à ces personnes, ainsi qu'à celles qui se trouvent au Canada sans être citoyens ni résidents permanents, le droit d'accéder aux renseignements personnels qui les concernent. Elle régit également la collecte, la conservation, l'utilisation, la protection et la divulgation des renseignements personnels.

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) s'engage à protéger les renseignements qu'il recueille pour gérer ses programmes et à respecter les exigences de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

La protection des renseignements personnels a des répercussions sur tous les programmes et activités d'AADNC. Les responsabilités du Ministère à cet égard relèvent de lois et de politiques, notamment la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, la Politique sur la protection des renseignements personnels du Conseil du Trésor et la Loi sur les Indiens. Ces documents régissent la manière dont le Ministère recueille, utilise, divulgue et conserve les renseignements personnels.

Contactez-nous

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) encourage les personnes qui veulent présenter une demande de renseignements personnels détenus par le Ministè à s'adresser à l'autorité déléguée, de façon à ce que le plus d'information possible soit transmise par voies officieuses. Par conséquent, les demandes de renseignements personnels devraient, si possible, être faites directement à l'Unité de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels (AIPRP). Pour obtenir plus d'information, communiquez avec le directeur de l'AIPRP du Ministère.

Si vous voulez présenter une demande d'accès à l'information ou de renseignements personnels, veuillez l'envoyer au coordonnateur de l'AIPRP.

Le directeur de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels
Accès à l'information et protection des renseignements personnels
Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada
10, rue Wellington, 18-B
Les Terrasses de la Chaudière
Gatineau, QC
K1A 0H4
Téléphone: (819) 997-8277
Télécopieur: (819) 953-5492
Courriel: ATIP-AIPRP@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Utilisez les Services d'annuaires gouvernementaux électroniques pour obtenir la liste des agents de l'AIPRP.

Date de modification :