First Nation On-Reserve Housing Program

The First Nation On-Reserve Housing Program helps provide more and better quality housing in First Nation communities in most of Canada. In British Columbia, support for better quality housing is provided through the Housing Subsidy program and the New Approach for Housing Support.

As part of the investments in First Nations housing made by Budget 2016, the On-Reserve Housing Funds call for proposals was launched. The deadline to submit a proposal was September 30, 2016 at midnight local time.

Choose a topic:

About the program

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) provides about $146 million per year to improve First Nations on-reserve housing. First Nations can use these funds to build and renovate houses, as well as contribute towards costs such as maintenance, insurance, debt servicing, and the planning and management of a housing portfolio.

INAC does not cover the full cost of housing. First Nation communities and their residents are also expected to secure funding from other sources for their housing needs, including shelter charges and private-sector loans.

The On-Reserve Housing Program is part of INAC's Capital Facilities Maintenance Program.

The Government of Canada also invests annually in other housing programs, including Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation's On-Reserve Non-Profit Housing Program and the First Nation Market Housing Fund.

Who can apply?

First Nations in all provinces and territories, except British Columbia, already receive annual housing funding allocations through INAC's 1996 On-Reserve Housing Policy.

Deadline

First Nations, except in British Columbia, receive annual funding allocations at the beginning of the fiscal year (April 1).

How to apply

No need to apply. First Nations, except in British Columbia, receive an annual funding allocation for housing through a funding agreement between INAC and the First Nation.

The On-Reserve Housing Policy

In 1996, the Government of Canada introduced the On-Reserve Housing Policy. It allows First Nations to play a key role in how, where and when housing funds are invested.

The 1996 policy's principles are:

The 1996 On-Reserve Housing Policy applies to First Nations in all provinces and territories except for British Columbia. In British Columbia, First Nations can apply for housing funding through the Housing Subsidy Program or the New Approach for Housing Support. Both options allow smaller First Nations in British Columbia to receive fair access to funding.

In Ontario, 20 First Nation communities who did not opt into the 1996 policy continue to receive allocation funding through their regional office.

Success stories

Date modified:

Programme de logement dans les réserves des Premières Nations

Le Programme de logement dans les réserves des Premières Nations contribue à fournir un plus grand nombre de logements et des logements de meilleure qualité dans les collectivités de Premières Nations presque partout au Canada. En Colombie-Britannique, le soutien à l'accès à des logements de meilleure qualité est fourni par l'entremise du Programme de subventions au logement et de la Nouvelle approche d'aide au logement.

Dans le cadre des investissements prévus dans le Budget de 2016 en matière de logement pour les Premières Nations, un appel de propositions a été lancé pour les fonds destinés au logement dans les réserves. La date limite pour soumettre une proposition était le 2 mars 2016 à minuit (heure locale).

Choisir un sujet :

Au sujet du programme

Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) affecte environ 146 millions de dollars par année à l'amélioration du logement dans les réserves des Premières Nations. Les Premières Nations peuvent utiliser ces fonds pour construire ou rénover des logements, ou pour payer pour leur entretien, les assurances, le service de la dette ou la planification et la gestion d'un portefeuille de logements.

AANC n'assume pas la totalité du coût des logements. On s'attend à ce que les collectivités des Premières Nations et leurs résidants trouvent d'autres sources de financement pour combler leurs besoins en matière de logement, y compris les frais des logements et les prêts du secteur privé.

Le Programme de logement dans les réserves fait partie du Programme d'immobilisations et d'entretien d'AANC. Le gouvernement du Canada investit également chaque année dans d'autres programmes de logement, notamment le Programme de logement sans but lucratif dans les réserves de la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement et le Fonds pour les logements du marché destinés aux Premières Nations.

Qui peut présenter une demande?

Les Premières Nations de toutes les provinces et de tous les territoires, à l'exception de la Colombie-Britannique, reçoivent déjà des allocations annuelles de fonds dans le cadre de la Politique d'AANC sur le logement dans les réserves (1996).

Date limite

Les Premières Nations, sauf celles de la Colombie-Britannique, reçoivent des allocations annuelles de fonds au début de chaque exercice financier (le 1er avril).

Comment présenter une demande?

Il n'est pas nécessaire de présenter une demande. Les Premières Nations, sauf celles de la Colombie-Britannique, reçoivent une allocation annuelle de fonds pour le logement grâce aux ententes de financement conclues entre AANC et chaque Première Nation.

Politique sur le logement dans les réserves

En 1996, le gouvernement du Canada a établi la Politique sur le logement dans les réserves. Elle permet aux Premières Nations de décider comment, où et quand les fonds affectés au logement seront investis.

Principes de la Politique de 1996 :

La Politique de 1996 sur le logement dans les réserves s'applique aux Premières Nations de toutes les provinces et de tous les territoires, sauf en Colombie-Britannique. En Colombie-Britannique, les Premières Nations peuvent présenter une demande de financement aux termes du Programme de subventions au logement ou de la Nouvelle approche à l'égard du soutien au logement. Ces deux options permettent à de plus petites Premières Nations en Colombie-Britannique d'avoir un accès équitable à du financement.

En Ontario, 20 collectivités de Premières Nations qui n'ont pas adhéré à la Politique de 1996 continuent de recevoir des fonds par l'entremise de leur bureau régional.

Histoires de réussite

Date de modification :