Evaluation of Capital Projects under Contribution Arrangements

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

PDF Version (12 Kb, 4 Pages)

Table of contents

1.0 Purpose

This directive outlines a process to be followed in reviewing and evaluating capital projects completed under a Contribution Arrangement.

2.0 Scope

The departmental funding mechanism used for the implementation of capital programs on Indian reserves depends on the size, value and complexity of projects. The available mechanisms are contribution arrangements, flexible transfer payments, and alternative funding arrangements. In all cases the department must ensure that an appropriate level of ministerial accountability is maintained. This directive applies to contribution arrangements only.

3.0 Reference

3.1 As stated in the Departmental Directive on the Delivery of Technical Services, dated February 28, 1990, it is the policy of the department to transfer the responsibility for managing and implementing capital programs to First Nations and to promote the delivery of technical services by First Nations on Indian reserves.

4.0 Issuing Authority

4.1 This directive is issued under the authority of the Assistant Deputy Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs.

5.0 Definitions

5.1 Asset Condition Reporting System (ACRS): is a system module of the Capital Asset Inventory System (CAIS). The information contained in ACRS includes an assessment of the condition of on-reserve, O&M funded assets. The system also provides information and cost estimates for repair and reconstruction needs, and an estimate of the remaining life of the asset.

5.2 Capital Asset Inventory System (CAIS): is a computerized system designed to accept, aggregate and report base level information on on-reserve capital assets as well as provide a summary of this information to headquarters, regions, districts, First Nations and Tribal Council Technical Units. The information in CAIS is also used for calculating the annual O&M gross and net funding requirements for the community infrastructure capital assets.

5.3 Capital Project Evaluation: A systematic review of the manner in which activities satisfy the defined objectives of a project, including the identification of variances and their effects, together with recommendations designed to improve future implementation.

5.4 Contribution Arrangement (CA): A formal agreement between the department and a recipient First Nation or Tribal Council describing the obligations of both parties and outlining the terms and conditions under which payments will be made.

5.5 Environmental Assessment and Review Process (EARP): is used to implement the legal requirements of the EARP Guidelines Order. EARP is to be used early in planning before irrevocable decisions or actions are taken.

5.6 Project: an approved package of activities specifically dedicated to fulfilling a program requirement, with a prescribed time period and defined objectives, including performance, quality, scope and cost.

6.0 Policy Statements

6.1 As the post project evaluation is a fundamental stage of the capital project delivery process, the department encourages First Nations to carry out their own evaluations to determine the level of satisfaction with the completed work, to assure compliance with health, safety and environmental requirements, to confirm if First Nations have received appropriate value for money, to identify particular deficiencies or successes and to benefit from lessons learned for future undertakings.

6.2 The basic principles inherent in the departmental process are:

  1. First Nations are responsible for delivery of capital programs/projects and are accountable to their membership.
  2. The discharge of the First Nations' accountability throughout, and subsequent to, the project delivery process, should serve to satisfy the department's requirements (i.e. program priorities and funding criteria).
  3. The First Nations' responsibilities with respect to (b) should be clearly stated in any funding arrangement with achievable and measurable terms and conditions, based on performance indicators, which allow for an arm's length management of the project through the appropriate funding arrangement.
  4. As a minimum requirement, First Nations must provide a properly authorized completion report for every funded project, with an adequate level of detail relative to the size of the project, and necessary data to update the Capital Asset Inventory System (CAIS).
  5. The department will reserve the option to carry out project inspections to be carried out in extraordinary situations.

6.3 In general, the department's evaluation of a project will be carried out at arm's length by reviewing files to ensure:

  1. the departmental approval of project proposals adhered to community plans and technical requirements;
  2. option analysis completed with best viable option chosen;
  3. EARP requirements satisfied;
  4. appropriate design;
  5. project adequately described with appropriate estimates of cost and schedule;
  6. Contribution Arrangements can be easily monitored at arms length, with consequences for failure to comply with Terms and Conditions and provision for departmental intervention, if required under unusual circumstances;
  7. appropriate technical and financial management regime in place, including appropriate contracting practices;
  8. cash advances at reasonable intervals based on need and verified by progress reports which correspond to cash flow requirements;
  9. the completion report on file which will include certification by a qualified professional that codes and standards were met, CAIS updated and with assessment of performance of facility and user satisfaction; and
  10. an ACRS report scheduled for completion within five years.

7.0 Results Statements

7.1 The file review should identify any deficiencies in the process and weaknesses which could be addressed in training programs.

7.2 An enhanced data bank and exchange of information through workshops would allow First Nations from different areas to share in and benefit from the experience of others. DIAND could provide assistance in facilitating these workshops.

8.0 Responsibilities

8.1 The Regional Director General shall ensure that an evaluation of all capital projects under a Contribution Arrangement is undertaken according to this directive.

9.0 Enquiries

9.1 Matters relating to the interpretation of this directive are to be referred to the Director, Capital and Housing Directorate, Program Policy Branch at DIAND headquarters.

9.2 A copy of a completion report format is available from the Director, Capital and Housing Directorate, Program Policy Branch at DIAND headquarters.

9.3 All requests for additional copies of this directive shall be addressed to the Manuals and Systems Unit, Corporate Services Directorate.

Date modified:

Évaluation de projets d'immobilisations assujettis aux accords de contributions

Format PDF (13 Ko, 4 pages)

Table des matières

1.0 Objet

1.1 Cette directive sert à décrire un processus à suivre dans l'examen et l'évaluation des projets d'immobilisations achevés assujettis à un accord de contribution.

2.0 Portée

Les mécanismes de financement du ministère utilisés pour la mise en oeuvre des programmes d'immobilisations dans les réserves indiennes dépendent de l'envergure, de la valeur et de la complexité des projets. Les mécanismes disponibles sont les accords de contribution, les paiements de transfert souples et les modes optionnels de financement. Dans tous les cas, le ministère veille à ce que les obligations ministérielles de rendre compte soient maintenues de façon appropriée. Cette directive concerne les accords de contribution seulement.

3.0 Référence

Comme l'indique la directive ministérielle sur la prestation des services techniques datée du 28 février 1990, le ministère a pour politique de transférer aux Premières nations les responsabilités pour la gestion et la mise en oeuvre des programmes d'immobilisations et de promouvoir la prestation des services techniques par les Premières nations dans les réserves indiennes.

4.0 Autorisation de publication

4.1 La présente directive est publiée avec l'autorisation du sous-ministre adjoint aux Affaires intergouvernementales.

5.0 Définitions

5.1 Le système de rapports sur l'état des biens (SREB) : est un module du Système d'inventaire des biens immobiliers (SIBI). L'information contenue dans le SREB inclut une évaluation de la condition des biens immobiliers et des estimations de coûts sur les besoins de réparations et de reconstruction de ces biens immobiliers, et une estimation de la vie utile restante du bien immobilier.

5.2 Le système d'inventaire des biens immobiliers (SIBI) : est un système informatisé conçu pour accepter, colliger et rapporter des informations de base sur les biens immobiliers situés sur réserve, de même que pour présenter un sommaire de cette information à l'administration centrale, aux bureaux régionaux, aux bureaux de districts, aux Premières nations et aux unités techniques de conseil tribal. L'information dans le SIBI est aussi utilisée aux fins de calcul des besoins de financement annuel brut et net de F&E pour les biens immobiliers de l'infrastructure des communautés.

5.3 Évaluation des projets d'immobilisations : Une revue systématique de la manière dont les activités satisfont les objectifs définis des projets, incluant l'identification des variabilités et leurs impacts, y compris des recommandations pour améliorer les mises en oeuvre futures.

5.4 Accord de contribution (AC) : Une entente formelle entre le ministère et la bande ou conseil tribal bénéficiaire qui décrit les obligations des deux parties et expose les conditions suivant lesquelles les paiements seront effectués.

5.5 Le processus fédéral d'évaluation et d'examen en matière d'environnement (PEEE) : est le mécanisme d'application des exigences légales du Décret sur les lignes directrices visant le PEEE. Ce processus doit intervenir dès le début de l'étape de planification, avant que soient prises des décisions ou des actions irrévocables.

5.6 Projet : ensemble approuvé des activités à réaliser pour satisfaire aux besoins d'un programme dans un délai déterminé et conformément à des objectifs préalablement établis concernant le rendement, la qualité, la nature de l'ouvrage et le coût.

6.0 Énoncés de politique

6.1 Puisque l'évaluation de projets est une étape fondamentale du processus de livraison de projets d'immobilisations, le ministère encourage les Premières nations à effectuer leurs propres évaluations afin de déterminer le degré de satisfaction envers les travaux terminés, pour assurer une conformité envers les exigences de santé, de sécurité et environnementales, pour confirmer que les dépenses ont donné des résultats appropriés, pur relever les réussites ou les défauts particuliers et pour tirer avantage des expériences acquises en vue des prochains projets.

6.2 Les principes fondamentaux du processus d'évaluation du ministère sont les suivants :

  1. Les Premières nations sont responsables de la prestation des programmes et des projets d'immobilisations et elles doivent rendre compte de leurs activités à leurs membres.
  2. Le respect des obligations de rendre compte des Premières nations pendant et après la réalisation des projets doit permettre de satisfaire les exigences du ministère, (ex. les priorités du programme et les critères de financement).
  3. Les responsabilités des Premières nations visées à b) doivent être clairement définies dans tout accord de financement comportant des conditions réalisables et mesurables, fondées sur des indicateurs de rendement, ce qui permet une gestion à distance du projet grâce à un accord de financement approprié.
  4. Les Premières nations doivent au minimum présenter, pour chaque projet financé, un rapport d'achèvement dûment approuvé des travaux comportant suffisamment de détails sur l'envergure du projet, des données nécessaires pour la mise à jour du Répertoire des biens immobiliers (RBI).
  5. Le ministère se réserve le droit d'inspecter les projets lors de circonstances exceptionnelles.

6.3 En général, l'évaluation des projets par le ministère doit s'effectuer à distance en examinant les dossiers pour s'assurer que les conditions suivantes sont remplies :

  1. l'approbation du ministère envers les propositions de projet conforme aux plans d'aménagement de la communauté et les exigences techniques;
  2. l'analyse des options a été effectuée et la meilleure solution viable a été choisie;
  3. les exigences du PEEE ont été respectées;
  4. la conception est appropriée;
  5. le projet est bien décrit et les estimations des coûts et des échéances sont appropriées;
  6. l'accord de contribution peut être facile à contrôler à distance, les conséquences en cas de non-respect des conditions sont décrites, ainsi que les dispositions sur l'intervention du ministère, si cela est nécessaire dans des circonstances exceptionnelles;
  7. un régime approprié de gestion technique et financière est en place incluant les méthodes appropriées de gestion des marchés;
  8. des avances sont versées à des intervalles raisonnables si nécessaire et vérifiées dans le cadre de rapports d'étape et elles correspondent aux besoins de trésorerie;
  9. le rapport d'achèvement des travaux est versé aux dossiers incluant la certification d'un professionnel compétent du respect des codes et des normes, la mise à jour du RBI, une évaluation du rendement des installations et de la satisfaction des utilisateurs; et
  10. un rapport pour le SIBI). L'information contenue dans le SREB est établi dans un délai de cinq ans.

7.0 Résultats visés

7.1 L'examen du dossier doit permettre de relever toute lacune dans les processus et les faiblesses pouvant être corrigées par des programmes de formation.

7.2 Des ateliers ainsi que la diffusion des communications d'une source centrale pourraient être organisés, permettant aux Premières nations de différents secteurs de partager des expériences entre elles. Les ateliers pourraient être préparés avec l'aide du MAINC.

8.0 Responsabilités

8.1 Le directeur général régional doit s'assurer que toutes les évaluations de projets d'immobilisations assujettis aux accords de contributions touchant les immobilisations soient effectuées d'après cette directive.

9.0 Demande de renseignements

9.1 Les questions liées à l'interprétation de cette directive doivent être acheminées au directeur des Immobilisations et du logement de la Direction générale des Politiques du programme à l'administration centrale du MAINC.

9.2 Un exemplaire du format d'un rapport d'achèvement des travaux est disponible auprès du directeur des Immobilisations et du logement de la Direction générale des Politiques du programme à l'administration centrale du MAINC.

9.3 Toutes les demandes pour des copies supplémentaires de la directive doivent être adressées à la Sous-section des guides et des systèmes, Direction des services ministériels.

Date de modification :