Electric Power Supply and Distribution Systems

PDF Version (18 Kb, 7 Pages)

Table of contents

1.0 Purpose

1.1 This directive states the policy of the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development (DIAND) on the funding of electric power supply and distribution systems on reserves. The related levels of service standard (Appendix A), determined on a national basis, are the levels of service that DIAND is prepared to financially support to assist First Nations in providing community services comparable to the levels of service that would generally be available in non-native communities of similar size and circumstances.

1.2 This document supersedes DRM 10-7/43 Electrical Power Supply and Distribution, and PD 6.4 Level of Service Standards - Electrical Power Transmission and Distribution Systems.

2.0 Scope

2.1 This directive is applicable to DIAND staff involved in funding for electric power generation systems on reserves where electricity is not supplied by a provincial/ territorial or local regional/municipal electric power utility, and transmission lines, distribution systems, street lighting and user metering on reserves.

3.0 Authorities

3.1 Treasury Board Specific Authority considered through the 1990-91 Fall Multi-Year Operational Plan Review - Long Term Capital Plan and related Memorandum of Understanding and Annexes.

4.0 Issuing Authority

4.1 This directive is issued under the authority of the Assistant Deputy Minister, Socio- Economic Policy and Programming and Program Re-Design.

5.0 Definitions

5.1 Electric Power Supply and Distribution System: Includes electric power generating plants and associated infrastructure; transmission lines, distribution systems, street lighting and user metering.

6.0 Policy

6.1 Subject to the availability of funds and departmental priorities, DIAND provides funding assistance, through the capital and operation and maintenance programs, to First Nations for electric power supply and distribution systems in accordance with the levels of service outlined in Appendix A.

6.2 DIAND will maintain a national inventory of assets funded to provide electric power on reserves.

6.3 Construction, installation, operation and maintenance of on-reserve electric power supply and distribution systems will meet the requirements of the Canadian Electrical Code, relevant Canadian Standards Association (CSA) standards, and where applicable, the corresponding provincial/territorial/local electric power utility standards; as well as the relevant Canadian Fire Code standards and applicable Canadian environmental standards.

6.4 Where applicable, the provincial, territorial or local power utility may be requested to review drawings and specifications for a new on-site electric power supply and/or distribution system, and the newly constructed system itself, in order to ensure compliance with appropriate electric power utility standards.

6.5 The operation and maintenance of electric power supply and distribution systems will be in accordance with the Operational and Funding Handbook for the Community Infrastructure and Education Facilities, Operations and Maintenance Program.

6.6 On-site electric power supply systems will be staffed with qualified personnel, and have a system operation and maintenance plan. Where applicable, the provincial/ territorial/local power utility may be requested to carry out annual inspections to ensure that the system is being operated and maintained to the appropriate electric power utility standards.

6.7 Where appropriate, DIAND will assist First Nations to obtain necessary information for the installation, operation and maintenance of electric power supply systems.

7.0 Responsibilities

7.1 The DIAND Regional Director General or delegated representative will ensure that on-reserve electric power supply and distribution systems and the related funding agreements comply with this directive.

8.0 Enquiries

8.1 Matters related to interpretation of this directive are to be referred to the Director, Community Development Directorate, at DIAND headquarters.

8.2 Matters specifically related to the technical aspects of Appendix A may be referred to the Director General, Real Property Services for INAC, Public Works and Government Services, located at DIAND Headquarters.

8.3 Requests for additional copies should be addressed to the Corporate Information Management Directorate at Headquarters.

9.0 Appendices

Levels of Service Standard: Electric Power Supply and Distribution Systems

Appendix A

1.0 Purpose

1.1 The levels of service standard, determined on a national basis, are the levels of service that the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development (DIAND) is prepared to financially support to assist First Nations in providing community services comparable to the levels of service that would generally be available in non-native communities of similar size and circumstances.

1.2 The levels of service standard provide a description of criteria which will be used to establish the level of funding.

2.0 Levels of Service Standard

2.1 Subject to the availability of funds and departmental priorities, DIAND will contribute funding to a First Nation for an electric power supply (generation) system on reserve, where electricity is not supplied by a provincial/territorial or local regional/ municipal electrical power utility; or for transmission and distribution systems delivering electric power to a reserve and on a reserve; and for user metering, and street lighting, on reserve.

2.2 On-reserve electric power supply (generation) systems are to be considered only when the respective provincial/territorial or local electric power utility will not provide the service, or when life-cycle cost comparisons indicate that service provided by the provincial/territorial/local electric power utility system would not be cost effective; and when the number of residences in the community is the higher of:

  1. 10 residences; or,
  2. the minimum number of residences required by the provincial/territorial/ local electric power utility for the installation of a community power system.

2.3 The electric power supply and distribution system will provide a level of service that will:

  1. meet 5-year projected community electrical demand needs (including provision of residential electrical service of 60 amps minimum at the service panel, calculated in accordance with the latest edition of the Canadian Electrical Code Part 1); and,
  2. be at least equivalent to the level of service provided by the provincial/ territorial/local electric power utility to neighbouring non-reserve communities which are of similar size.

3.0 General Criteria

3.1 Where applicable, the provincial/territorial or local electric power utility may be asked to recommend the level of service for on-reserve electric power supply (generation) and distribution systems, concerning the type of system, the size of service connections, and the limits* imposed on the use of power, which will be equivalent to the level of electrical services provided to non-reserve communities which are of similar size and in the same geographic area.

*For example, a maximum subsidized residential consumption limit (say, in the order of approximately 750 KWH per month per residence) would be appropriate to curtail use of electric space heating in homes, which is an inefficient use of energy when supplied by an on-site diesel electric power (generation) supply system. Residential users may be expected to pay the full cost, or a surcharge, for any electricity usage beyond this limit.

3.2 In general, user rates for electricity provided by a First Nation-owned or DIAND-owned on-reserve system or arrangement should be equivalent to the provincial/ territorial/local utility rates for a comparable level of service in non-native communities of similar size and circumstances, as follows:

  1. Residential users: a rate comparable to the rural grid rate charged by the applicable provincial/territorial/local electric power utility for an equivalent level of service in the same geographic area.
  2. Institutional, industrial and commercial users: a negotiated rate that is at least equal to the full cost of the electrical energy used, and may be higher to compensate for the lower rates paid by residential users.
  3. Infrastructure and band facilities: a rate based on the regional/local prevailing electric power utility rates.

The combination of rates in (a), (b) and (c) should ideally provide for cost recovery, that is, pay all life cycle operation and maintenance costs and eventual system replacement costs, of the on-reserve electric power supply and distribution system, notwithstanding that DIAND may subsidize annual O&M funding when justified.

Note: Where the provincial/territorial/local electric power utility owns and operates an off-reserve power (generation) supply and the First Nation or DIAND owns and operates the on-reserve distribution system, user rates should also factor in the life cycle costs of operation, maintenance, and eventual replacement of the on-reserve distribution system.

3.3 An environmental assessment of the proposed project for an electric power supply and/or distribution system is required in accordance with the DIAND environmental guidelines based on the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act (CEAA). DIAND encourages the concept of sustainable development, and promotes compliance with all related environmental statutes, including the Canadian Environmental Protection Act (CEPA).

4.0 Financial and Technical Criteria

4.1 DIAND capital funding contributions for on-site electric power supply and distribution systems will be subject to life cycle cost benefit justification. Funding may be negotiated with the provincial/territorial/local electric power utility for cost shared projects. Institutional, industrial and commercial users on reserve are expected to contribute toward the capital cost of system capacity upgrades and expansions, in proportion to their individual additional capacity requirements.

4.2 Electric power supply and distribution systems will be designed for cost-efficient operation and maintenance.

4.3 Funding arrangement terms and conditions for DIAND capital and O&M funding for electric power supply and distribution systems will comply with DIAND funding policies.

4.4 DIAND O&M funding contributions are intended to make up the funding shortfall between the cost of electricity and the revenues collected from user rates described in Section 4.2. Such contributions will be based on annual audited records of actual electricity costs.

4.5 A "power agreement" with the provincial/territorial/local electric power utility should be used in funding agreements for joint cost-shared electric power supply projects. (A negotiated power agreement would establish specific agreement on matters such as: electricity rates; points of delivery for receiving electric power on reserve; transmission line easements on reserve; electric power quality and reliability factors, e.g. management of power outages or reduced voltage/current situations; cooperative arrangements for determining and updating the community's 5-year peak electrical load projections, to forecast electricity rates and possible future system expansion and life cycle costs; and, arrangements for the electric power utility to conduct or assist with inspections, operation and maintenance of the on-reserve electric power supply and distribution systems.)

4.6 Community 5-year peak electrical load projections should be updated regularly as required for appropriate sizing of an electric power supply and distribution system, or as required for the negotiation or renewal of power agreements with the provincial/territorial/local electric power utility. The 5-year projections require electrical load and consumption data from the electric power utility, and community growth and development data from the First Nation.

4.7 Quality and reliability of power should be adequate to meet the year-round electrical loads of the on-reserve community. (Dedicated standby power will be planned separately if required for community health and safety facilities, such as fire, police, medical, communications, or airfield systems).

Date modified:

Systèmes d'alimentation et distribution électrique

Format PDF (20 ko, 8 pages)

Table des matières

1.0 Objet

1.1 La présente directive énonce la politique du ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien (MAINC) sur l'alimentation en électricité des réserves. La norme sur les niveaux de service (Appendice A), établie à l'échelle nationale, renferme les niveaux de service que le MAINC est prêt à appuyer financièrement afin de permettre aux Premières nations d'offrir les services communautaires comparables à ceux auxquels pourraient s'attendre des communautés non autochtones de taille semblable et dans des circonstances similaires.

1.2 Le présent document remplace les publications GM 10-7/43, Transport et distribution d'énergie électrique, et DP 6.4, Normes sur les niveaux de service - Alimentation en énergie électrique et distribution.

2.0 Portée

2.1 La présente directive s'applique au personnel du MAINC chargé du financement pour les réseaux de production d'énergie électrique dans des réserves où l'électricité n'est pas distribuée par un service public/provincial/territorial, y compris les lignes de transport et de distribution, les systèmes d'éclairage des rues et les compteurs des consommateurs.

3.0 Autorisations et références

3.1 Conseil du Trésor - Autorisation spéciale prise en considération à l'automne, lors de l'examen du plan opérationnel de 1990-1991 - plan d'immobilisations à long terme ainsi que le protocole d'entente et les annexes jointes.

4.0 Autorisation de publication

4.1 La présente directive est publiée avec l'autorisation du sous-ministre adjoint, Politique et programme socio-économique et restructuration des programmes.

5.0 Définitions

5.1 Réseau d'alimentation électrique Comprend les centrales électriques et l'infrastructure connexes; les réseaux de transport, les réseaux de distribution, les systèmes d'éclairage des rues et les compteurs des consommateurs.

6.0 Politique

6.1 Sous réserve de la disponibilité des fonds et des prioritées ministérielles, le MAINC fournit une aide financière aux Premières nations, sous les programmes de l'exploitation et l'entretien pour les réseaux d'alimentation électrique, conformément aux niveaux de service indiqués à l'appendice A.

6.2 Le MAINC tiendra à jour un répertoire national des biens financés pour alimenter les réserves en électricité.

6.3 La construction, l'exploitation et l'entretien de systèmes d'alimentation électrique sur les lieux doivent satisfaire aux exigences du Code canadien de l'électricité, du Code de feu et des normes de l'Association canadienne de normalisation (ACN) pertinente des services publics d'électricité provinciaux / territoriaux; des normes du code canadien d'incendie; ainsi que des normes applicables de l'environnement.

6.4 Lorsqu'il y a lieu, on pourra demander aux services publics d'électricité provinciaux ou territoriaux d'examiner les dessins et spécifications visant un nouveau réseau d'alimentation électrique sur les lieux ainsi que le réseau nouvellement construit lui-même, afin d'assurer la conformité aux normes pertinentes des services publics d'électricité.

6.5 L'exploitation et l'entretien des réseaux d'alimentation et de distribution électrique doivent être conformes au Cadre du programme de fonctionnement et d'entretien des services d'éducation et des infrastructures communautaires.

6.6 Les réseaux d'alimentation électrique sur les lieux doivent faire appel à du personnel compétent et faire l'objet d'un plan d'exploitation et d'entretien de réseau. Lorsqu'il y a lieu, on pourra demander aux services publics/provinciaux/ territoriaux de veiller à ce que le réseau soit exploité et entretenu conformément aux normes pertinentes visant les services publics d'électricité.

6.7 Lorsqu'il y a lieu, le MAINC aidera les Premières nations à obtenir l'information nécessaire pour installer, exploiter et entretenir les réseaux d'alimentation électrique.

7.0 Responsabilités

7.1 Le Directeur général régional du MAINC, ou le représentant délégué veillera à ce que les systèmes d'alimentation et distribution électrique des réserves et les ententes de financement connexes soient conformes à la présente directive.

8.0 Demandes de renseignements

8.1 Pour les questions d'interprétation de la présente directive, il faut s'adresser au directeur de la Direction du développement des collectivités, à l'administration centrale du MAINC.

8.2 Les questions liées spécifiquement aux aspects techniques de l'appendice A peuvent être acheminées au directeur général, Services immobiliers pour le MAINC de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux qui se trouve à l'administration centrale du MAINC.

8.3 Pour obtenir des copies supplémentaires de la politique s'adresser à la Direction de la gestion de l'information ministérielle à l'administration centrale.

9.0 Appendices

A - La norme sur les niveaux de service - Réseaux d'alimentation et distribution électrique

Appendice A

Normes sur les niveaux de service : Réseaux d'alimentation et distribution électrique.

1. Objet

1.1 La norme sur les niveaux de service, qui est établie à l'échelle nationale, précise les niveaux de service que le Ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien (MAINC) est prêt à soutenir financièrement afin d'aider les Premières nations à assurer des services communautaires semblables à ceux normalement offerts dans les communautés non autochtones dont la taille et la situation sont comparables.

1.2 La norme sur les niveaux de service établit les critères qui seront utilisés pour déterminer le niveau de financement.

2.0 La norme sur les niveaux de service

2.1 Sous réserve de la disponibilité des fonds et des priorités ministérielles, le MAINC fournira une aide financière à une Première nation pour l'aménagement d'un système d'alimentation électrique (générateurs) dans la réserve lorsque l'électricité n'est pas fournie par un service public provincial/territorial ou local/régional/municipal. In financera aussi l'aménagement des réseaux de transport et de distribution de l'électricité jusqu'à la réserve et à l'intérieur de celle-ci, la mise en place de compteurs d'électricité et l'éclairage des rues de la réserve.

2.2 Les réseaux (générateurs) d'alimentation électrique dans les réserves devront être envisagés seulement lorsque le service public d'électricité provincial/ territorial ne fournit pas le service ou que des comparaisons de coûts pour le cycle de vie révèlent qu'il ne serait pas rentable de fournir un service public d'électricité provincial/territorial et que le nombre de résidences dans la collectivité est le plus haut que ceux ci-après:

  1. 10 résidences; ou,
  2. le nombre de résidences minimum requis par le service public local pour l'installation d'un réseau d'alimentation communautaire.

2.3 Le système du réseau d'alimentation et de distribution d'électricité procurera un niveau de service qui :

  1. répondra aux besoins d'alimentation électrique de la collectivité prévus pour une période de 5 ans (y compris un service résidentiel nominal d'au moins 60 A au tableau électrique, le calcul étant effectué conformément à l'édition la plus récente du Code canadien de l'électricité, Partie 1); et,
  2. équivaudra au moins au niveau du service public d'électricité provincial/territorial fourni à des collectivités environnantes hors réserve de taille semblable.

3.0 Critères généraux

3.1 Lorsqu'il y a lieu, on pourra demander au service public d'électricité provincial/territorial de recommander le niveau de service pour des systèmes (générateurs) d'alimentation électrique dans les réserves, en ce qui a trait au type de système, à l'étendue des connexions de service et aux limites* imposées à l'utilisation de l'électricité, qui seront équivalentes au niveau des services électriques fournis à des collectivités hors réserve de taille semblable et situées dans la même région géographique.

*Par exemple, une limite de consommation maximale résidentielle subventionnée (mettons, de l'ordre de vers 750 kWh par mois par résidence) serait appropriée pour restreindre l'utilisation du chauffage spatial électrique dans les maisons qui constitue une utilisation inefficace de l'énergie fournie par un réseau (générateur) d'alimentation électrique diesel sur les lieux. On peut exiger que les usagers résidentiels paient plein tarif, ou une surcharge, pour l'électricité utilisée en plus de cette limite.

3.2 En géneral, le tarif d'utilisation d'électricité fournie sur les lieux, par un réseau ou arrangement appartenant aux Premières nations ou au MAINC, doit être équivalent au tarif du service public provincial/territorial pour un niveau des services électriques comparable fournis à des collectivités hors réserve de taille semblable et dans des circonstances similaires, selon le type d'usager ci-après :

  1. Usagers résidentiels : tarif comparable au tarif local de réseau qui est imposé par le service public d'électricité provincial/territorial compétent pour un niveau de service équivalent dans la même région géographique.
  2. Usagers institutionnels, industriels et commerciaux : tarif négocié y compris au moins le coût total de l'énergie utilisée, ou plus, en compensation des tarifs plus bas payés par les usagers résidentiels.
  3. L'infrastructure et les installations : tarif basé sur les tarifs régionaux d'électricité.

La combinaison des tarifs dans (a), (b) et (c) doit, idéalement, permettre de récupérer les coûts, c'est-à-dire de payer tous les coûts d'exploitation et d'entretien ainsi que les coûts de remplacement des installations d'alimentation sur les lieux, quoique le MAINC peut subventionner le manque du financement en exploitation et en entretien lorsque justifié.

Nota : Lorsque le service public d'électricité provincial/territorial possède et exploite un réseau (générateur) d'alimentation hors réserve et que les Premières nations ou le MAINC possèdent et exploitent le réseau de distribution dans la réserve, le tarif d'utilisation doit aussi faire compte des coûts d'exploitation, d'entretien et de remplacement du réseau de distribution dans la réserve.

3.3 Il faut faire une évaluation environmentale sur un projet prévu d'un réseau d'alimentation et/ou distribution électrique, conformément au lignes directrices du MAINC basées sur la Loi canadienne d'évaluation environnementale (LCEE). Le MAINC promouvoit le concept de développement soutenable et promouvoit la conformation à toutes lois environmentales y compris la Loi canadienne de la protection de l'environnement (LCPE).

4.0 Critères financiers et techniques

4.1 Les contributions au financement en immobilisations du MAINC pour des réseaux d'alimentation électrique sur les lieux soumettraient à une justification de rentabilité en cycle de vie. Le financement peut faire l'objet de négociations avec le service public d'électricité provincial/territorial dans le cadre de projets à partage des coûts. On peut exiger que les usagers institutionnels, industriels et commerciaux dans la réserve contribuent au coût capital des revalorisations ou des agrandissements de la capacité du réseau, par rapport à leurs propres besoins individuels de capacité additionelle.

4.2 Les réseaux d'alimentation électrique seront conçus pour assurer une exploitation et un entretien avec optimisation des coûts.

4.3 Les conditions des arrangements de financement pour les dépenses d'immobilisations et le financement en exploitation et entretien par le MAINC du réseau d'alimentation électrique seront soumises aux politiques de financement du MAINC.

4.4 Les contributions au financement en exploitation et en entretien du MAINC iraient remplacer le manque entre les coûts de l'électricité et les revenus recueillis par les tarifs décrits dans la section 4.2. Ces contributions reposeront sur des enregistrements à jour des coûts réels d'électricité.

4.5 Une «entente d'alimentation» avec le service public d'électricité provincial/ territorial/local doit être utilisée pour les projets conjoints d'alimentation électrique à coûts partagés. (Une entente d'alimentation négociée devra préciser des éléments tels que : tarifs d'électricité, points de livraison des services d'électricité sur les réserves, servitudes liées aux lignes de transport sur les réserves, facteurs de qualité et de fiabilité du service d'électricité, c.-à-d. gestion des pannes ou tension, intensité de courant réduite; des accords de collaboration pour déterminer et mettre à jour les prévisions quinquennales en matière d'appel maximum de puissance électrique en vue d'estimer les tarifs d'électricité, une expansion possible du système dans l'avenir et le coût du cycle de vie ainsi que des accords avec le service public d'électricité visant la tenue d'inspections ou de l'aide à cet effet, l'exploitation et l'entretien des réseaux d'alimentation et de distribution d'énergie électrique dans les réserves.)

4.6 Il faut mettre à jour régulièrement les projections sur 5 ans de la demande maximale des collectivités afin de déterminer la puissance appropriée d'un réseau d'alimentation électrique ou de négocier/renouveler des ententes d'alimentation avec le service public d'électricité provincial/territorial. Les projections sur 5 ans demanderaient des données du service public sur les charges et consommation et des données de la Première nation sur l'expansion et le développement de la communauté.

4.7 La qualité et la fiabilité de l'alimentation doivent permettre de supporter durant toute l'année la charge électrique des collectivités dans les réserves. (Une alimentation de relève particulière doit être planifiée séparément au besoin pour les installations de santé et de sécurité des collectivités comme celles des services d'incendie, de la police, des services médicaux, des systèmes de communications et des systèmes d'aérodrome.)

Date de modification :