Roads and Bridges

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

PDF Version (21 Kb, 8 Pages)

Table of contents

1.0 Purpose

1.1 This directive states the policy of the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development (DIAND) regarding roads and bridges on reserves. The related levels of service standard (Appendices A and B), determined on a national basis, are the levels of service that DIAND is prepared to financially support to assist First Nations in providing community services comparable to the levels of service that would generally be available in non-native communities of similar size and circumstances.

1.2 This document supersedes PD 6.12 Level of Service Standards - Roads and Bridges, DRM10-7/60 Transportation Planning, DRM10-7/61 Road Pre-Engineering and Design, and DRM10-7/62 Road Construction.

2.0 Scope

2.1 This directive is applicable to DIAND staff involved in funding and assisting with the identification, planning, development and implementation of roads and bridges in First Nations communities.

3.0 Authorities

3.1 Treasury Board Specific Authority considered through the 1990-91 Fall Multi- Year Operational Plan Review - Long Term Capital Plan and attached Memorandum of Understanding and Annexes.

4.0 Issuing Authority

4.1 This directive is issued under the authority of the Assistant Deputy Minister, Social Economic Policy and Programming and Program Re-design.

5.0 Definitions

5.1 Bridge: Any structure having a span of 3 metres or more that is part of a road which spans a depression or obstacle (e.g. a gully, roadway, railway or waterway). This includes culverts over 3 metres in diameter/span.

5.2 Road: A planned and constructed facility (excluding trails) which provides for land vehicular traffic such as automobiles, buses, or trucks, and includes the following classifications.

  • Off-Reserve Access Road: Any road outside the boundary of a reserve which permits access to the reserve from a provincial, territorial, regional or municipal transportation system.
  • Special Use Access Road: A farm road or any other access road to businesses or facilities located on reserve (e.g. sawmills, campgrounds, logging operations, stores) located on reserve.
  • Public Road: A road designed and constructed (or proposed to be upgraded), to approved standards, that provides for public vehicular access to a residential area having a minimum of three (3) existing detached houses (or equivalent) or an existing or planned public facility such as a school, band office, or fire hall.
  • Service Road: A road that provides access and services to controlled areas and facilities on reserve such as sewage lagoons and water treatment plants. The road will have limited use and may be a single lane.

5.3 Private entrance/private access road: An entrance, driveway, laneway or access road to a private dwelling for the use or benefit of the occupants.

6.0 Policy

6.1 Subject to the availability of funds and departmental priorities, DIAND provides funding assistance, through the capital and operation and maintenance programs, to First Nations for the construction or reconstruction of roads and bridges in accordance with the levels of service outlined in the Appendices.

6.2 Subject to availability of funds and departmental priorities, DIAND will provide First Nations with operation and maintenance funding assistance for roads and bridges in accordance with the policy established in the Operational and Funding Handbook for the Community Infrastructure and Education Facilities, Operations and Maintenance Program.

6.3 Construction (including reconstruction), and O&M funding may include support for:

6.4 All roads on reserve will be required to meet or exceed standards based on the current Transportation Association of Canada (TAC) Geometric Design Guide for Canadian Roads (TAC Guide). Bridges will meet or exceed the standards in the latest edition of the CAN/CSA S6-88 "Design of Highway Bridges". All roads and bridges must be certified by a Professional Engineer.

6.5 Roads and bridges which receive funding assistance but are constructed/reconstructed off reserve must meet the same levels of service standards as if they were constructed/reconstructed on reserve; however, these facilities may also have to conform to the higher standards of the responsible provincial, territorial, regional or municipal transportation authority.

6.6 First Nations desiring a level of service which is higher than those provided for in the Appendices may provide such upgraded service with funds obtained from their own or other sources.

7.0 Responsibilities

7.1 DIAND:

  1. establishes and provides the level of funding for roads and bridges which is based on criteria contained in the Operational and Funding Handbook for the Community Infrastructure and Education Facilities Operations and Maintenance Program and in the Appendices - Level of Service Standard;
  2. negotiates, approves and administers roads and bridges municipal type funding agreements with First Nations and other organizations;
  3. ensures approved funding agreements contain the necessary terms and conditions that establish adherence to the TAC Guide standards and other applicable codes, standards, and regulatory requirements;
  4. ensures recipients compliance with established funding agreements;
  5. provides recipients with advice and assistance regarding funding criteria; and
  6. provides input and information into reports which are required by Transport Canada Interdepartmental Highway Committee and the Transportation Association of Canada.

7.2 Real Property Services for INAC: Subject to the terms specified in the Memorandum of Understanding (April 1, 1987) between DIAND and Public Works and Government Services Canada and subsequent regional and headquarters annual specific services agreements, Real Property Services for INAC will provide knowledgeable advice on roads and bridges to DIAND.

8.0 Enquiries

8.1 Matters related to the interpretation of this directive are to be referred to the Director, Community Development Directorate, at DIAND Headquarters.

8.2 Requests for additional copies should be addressed to the Information Quality and Research Directorate at Headquarters.

9.0 Appendices

A - Levels of Service Standard: Roads
B - Levels of Service Standard: Bridges

Appendix A Levels of Service Standard: Roads

1.0 Purpose

1.1 The levels of service standard, determined on a national basis, are the levels of service that the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development (DIAND) is prepared to financially support to assist First Nations in providing community services comparable to the levels of service that would generally be available in non-native communities of similar size and circumstances.

1.2 The levels of service standard provide a description of criteria which will be used to establish the level of funding.

2.0 Levels of Service Standard

2.1 The TAC Guide will be used to determine the level of service, taking the following factors into consideration:

  • the setting of the road;
  • the class of the road;
  • the design speed;
  • traffic characteristics; and
  • surface type.

2.2 Interpretation of the TAC Guide will be based on the following:

  1. Road Setting. The terms "urban" and "rural" are based not only on the jurisdiction boundaries, but more importantly, the predominant characteristics of the adjacent land use.
  2. "Urban" typically means areas with a housing density of 7.5 units per hectare or lot frontages averaging less than 30 metres. "Rural" means other than "urban";
    Road Classification and Design Speed.

The following parameters apply to traffic volume:

  1. if traffic volumes are expected to be, or are measured to be, less than 200 vehicles per day (Average Annual Daily Traffic (AADT) is less than 200 vehicles per day) then use Chapter H "Low Volume Roads" of the TAC Guide;
  2. if the AADT is expected to be or is measured to be between 200 and 1000 vehicles per day, then use the local classification (not the collector or arterial classifications) in the TAC Guide; and
  3. if the AADT is expected to be greater than 1000 vehicles per day, then use progressive selection of the local, collector or arterial classifications as indicated in the TAC Guide.

Every effort should be made to use as high a design speed as practicable to attain the desired degree of safety, mobility and efficiency. Only where severe topographic conditions or surrounding development are encountered and where drivers expect to travel at lower speeds, should consideration be given to selecting a lower design speed. The additional factors discussed in the related sections of the TAC Guide, regarding the range of design speeds, must be assessed before determining what is appropriate.

2.3 Surface Type. If the AADT is expected to be, or is measured to be, less than 200 vehicles per day, a socio-economic analysis must be conducted to justify funding for any type of paved surface.

Appendix B Levels of Service Standard: Bridges

1.0 Purpose

1.1 The levels of service standard, determined on a national basis, are the levels of service which the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development (DIAND) is prepared to financially support to assist First Nations in providing community services comparable to the levels of service that would generally be available in non-native communities of similar size and circumstances.

1.2 The levels of service standard provide a description of criteria which will be used to establish the level of funding.

2.0 Levels of Service Standard

2.1 The levels of service standard for bridges are dependent on the levels of service standard of the approach roads.

2.2 Bridge Design. Bridges shall be designed according to the latest edition of the CAN/CSA S6-88 "Design of Highway Bridges" or according to adjacent provincial, territorial, regional or municipal standards. In general the design load shall be CS-600, but it can be increased or decreased to meet special requirements.

2.3 Width of Bridges: Chapters H and C of the TAC Guide must be used to determine the width of bridges. Single lane bridges will not be considered except in exceptional circumstances, and in no case will they be accepted where school buses are in operation.

Date modified:

Routes et ponts

Format PDF (25 ko, 7 pages)

Table des matières

1.0 Objet

1.1 La présente directive énonce la politique du ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien (MAINC) en matière de routes et ponts dans les réserves. La norme sur les niveaux de service (appendices A et B), établie à l'échelle nationale, renferme les niveaux de service que le MAINC est prêt à appuyer financièrement afin de permettre aux Premières nations d'offrir les services communautaires comparables à ceux auxquels pourraient s'attendre des communautés non autochtones de taille semblable et dans des circonstances similaires.

1.2 Le présent document remplace la DP 6.12, Normes sur les niveaux de service - Routes et ponts, le GM10-7/60, Planification des transports, le GM10-7/61, Conception des routes et études techniques préliminaires, et le GM10-7/62, Construction des routes.

2.0 Portée

2.1 La présente directive s'applique au personnel du MAINC chargé de financer et d'aider les collectivités des Premières nations en matière de planification, de développement et de la mise en oeuvre des routes et des ponts dans les collectivités autochtones.

3.0 Autorisations

3.1 Conseil du Trésor - Autorisation spéciale prise en considération à l'automne, lors de l'examen du plan opérationnel de 1990-91 - Plan d'immobilisations à long terme ainsi que l'entente de principe et les annexes jointes.

4.0 Autorisation de publication

4.1 La présente directive est publié avec l'autorisation du sous-ministre adjoint, Politiques et programme socio-économique et restructuration des programmes.

5.0 Définitions

5.1 Pont : Tout ouvrage d'au moins 3 mètres de portée faisant partie d'une route et enjambant une dépression ou un obstacle (un ravin, une route, un chemin de fer ou un cours d'eau, par exemple). Cette catégorie comprend aussi les ponceaux de plus de 3 mètres de diamètre/portée.

5.2 Route : Ouvrage planifié et construit (à l'exception des sentiers) permettant la circulation des véhicules terrestres comme les automobiles, les autobus et les camions. Les routes sont classées selon les catégories qui suivent.

  • Voie d'accès hors réserve : Toute route à l'extérieur de la réserve reliant cette dernière au réseau de transport provincial, territorial, régional ou municipal.
  • Route d'accès à usage particulier : Route d'une exploitation agricole ou toute autre route donnant accès à des commerces ou à des installations industrielles situés sur une réserve (scierie, terrain de campement, exploitation forestière, magasin).
  • Route publique : Route conçue et construite (ou que l'on propose d'améliorer) selon les normes approuvées, permettant l'accès public des véhicules à une zone résidentielle (un groupe d'au moins 3 maisons détachées existantes ou l'équivalent) ou une installation à caractère public, comme une école, un bureau de bande ou une caserne de pompiers, etc.
  • Voie de service : Chemin construit pour permettre l'accès à des zones et installations à accès restreint, par exemple un étang d'oxydation et une usine d'épuration des eaux. Cette route doit avoir un usage limité et peut être à une seule voie.

5.3 Route d'accès/Chemin privé : Une entrée, une ruelle, un passage ou une route d'accès à une résidence privée à l'usage ou au bénéfice des occupants.

6.0 Politique

6.1 Sous réserve de la disponibilité des fonds et des priorités ministérielles, le MAINC fournit une aide financière aux Premières nations, par le biais des programmes d'immobilisations, de fonctionnement et d'entretien, pour la construction ou la reconstruction de routes et ponts conformes aux niveaux de service décrits aux appendices.

6.2 Sous réserve de la disponibilité de fonds et des priorités ministérielles, le MAINC fournira aux Premières nations une aide financière pour les dépenses de fonctionnement et d'entretien de routes et de ponts conformément à la politique définie dans le Cadre du Programme de fonctionnement et d'entretien des services d'éducation et des infrastructures communautaires.

6.3 Les fonds pour la construction (y compris la reconstruction) ainsi que pour le fonctionnement et l'entretien peuvent viser :

6.4 Toutes les routes sur réserve devront au moins satisfaire aux exigences publiées par l'Association des transports du Canada (ATC), intitulées «Geometric Design Guide for Canadian Roads» (guide de l'ATC). Les ponts doivent répondre aux exigences de la plus récente édition de la norme CAN/CSA S6-88, «Calcul des ponts-routes». Toutes les routes et tous les ponts doivent être certifiés par un ingénieur.

6.5 Les routes et les ponts faisant l'objet d'une aide financière mais qui sont construits ou reconstruits à l'extérieur d'une réserve doivent répondre aux mêmes normes que s'ils étaient construits ou reconstruits sur une réserve. Ces infrastructures peuvent aussi devoir satisfaire aux exigences plus strictes des autorités provinciales, territoriales, régionales ou municipales responsables des transports.

6.6 Les Premières nations désirant obtenir un niveau de service supérieur à ceux exposés aux appendices pourront le faire avec leurs propres fonds ou avec l'aide d'une autre source de financement.

7.0 Responsabilités

7.1 Le MAINC

  1. établit et fournit le financement pour les routes et ponts à partir des critères contenus dans le Cadre du Programme de fonctionnement et d'entretien des services d'éducation et des infrastructures communautaires et dans les appendices, Norme sur les niveaux de service;
  2. négocie, approuve et administre des accords de financement de type municipal avec les Premières nations et d'autres organismes;
  3. s'assure que les accords de financement contiennent les modalités et conditions exigeant la conformité au guide de l'ATC et aux codes, normes et règlements pertinents;
  4. s'assure que les bénéficiaires respectent les accords de financement conclus;
  5. fournit aux bénéficiaires conseils et assistance relativement aux critères de financement; et
  6. fournit des données et de l'information sous forme de rapports, qui sont exigés par le Comité interministériel des routes de Transports Canada et par l'Association des transports du Canada.

7.2 Services immobiliers pour le MAINC : Sous réserve des modalités du Protocole d'entente (du 1er avril 1987) entre le MAINC et Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada et des conventions particulières de services annuelles conclues avec les régions ou avec l'administration centrale, les Services immobiliers pour le MAINC fourniront à ce dernier des conseils éclairés sur les routes et sur les ponts.

8.0 Demandes de renseignements

8.1 Pour les questions d'interprétation de la présente directive, il faut s'adresser au directeur de la Direction du développement des collectivités, à l'administration centrale du MAINC.

8.2 Pour obtenir des copies supplémentaires de la politique, s'adresser à la Direction de la qualité de l'information et de la recherche, à l'administration centrale.

9.0 Appendices

A - La norme sur les niveaux de service : Routes
B - La norme sur les niveaux de service : Ponts

Appendice A La norme sur les niveaux de service : Routes

1.0 Objet

1.1 La norme sur les niveaux de service, qui est établie à l'échelle nationale, précise les niveaux de service que le Ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien (MAINC) est prêt à soutenir financièrement afin d'aider les Premières nations à assurer des services communautaires semblables à ceux normalement offerts dans des communautés non autochtones dont la taille et la situation sont comparables.

1.2 La norme sur les niveaux de service établit les critères qui seront utilisés pour déterminer le niveau de financement.

2.0 La norme sur les niveaux de service

2.1 Le guide de l'ATC sera utilisé pour déterminer le niveau de service en tenant des facteurs suivants :

  • la situation générale de la route;
  • la catégorie de la route;
  • la vitesse de base;
  • les caractéristiques se rapportant à la circulation; et
  • le type de revêtement.

2.2 L'interprétation du guide de l'ATC sera fondée sur ce qui suit :

  1. Situation générale de la route. Les termes «urbain» et «rural» se réfèrent aux frontières juridiques mais aussi, et surtout, aux caractéristiques prédominantes de l'utilisation des terres adjacentes.
  2. Catégories de routes et vitesse de base.

Les paramètres suivants s'appliquent aux débits de circulation :

  1. si le débit de circulation prévu ou mesuré se situe entre 200 et 1 000 véhicules par jour (DJMA), on utilise la catégorisation locale et non la catégorie du système collecteur ou artériel selon le guide de l'ATC; et
  2. si le DJMA prévu est supérieur à 1 000 véhicules par jour, on utilise la sélection progressive des catégories de circulation locale, collectrice et artérielle selon le guide de l'ATC.

Tous les efforts devraient être faits pour utiliser la vitesse de base la plus élevée possible et pratique afin d'atteindre le degré souhaité de sécurité, de mobilité et d'efficacité. Une vitesse de base inférieure ne doit être envisagée que si les conditions topographiques sont difficiles ou si la route traverse des agglomérations où les conducteurs doivent ralentir. Les facteurs supplémentaires dont il est question dans les sections du guide de l'ATC qui se rapportent à la gamme de vitesse de base doivent être pris en considération dans le choix de la vitesse appropriée.

2.3 Type de revêtement : Si le débit de circulation estimé ou mesuré est inférieur à 200 véhicules par jour (DJMA), une étude socio-économique doit être effectuée pour justifier le financement de tout autre type de pavage.

Appendice B La norme sur les niveaux de service : Ponts

1.0 Objet

1.1 La norme sur les niveaux de service, qui est établie à l'échelle nationale, précise les niveaux de service que le Ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien (MAINC) est prêt à soutenir financièrement afin d'aider les Premières nations à assurer des services communautaires semblables à ceux normalement offerts dans des communautés non autochtones dont la taille et la situation sont comparables.

1.2 La norme sur les niveaux de service établit les critères qui seront utilisés pour déterminer le niveau de financement.

2.0 La norme sur les niveaux de service

2.1 La norme sur les niveaux de service utilisée pour les ponts dépendra des niveaux de service retenu pour les routes donnant accès à ce pont.

2.2 Calcul des ponts. La conception des ponts doit être faite selon les normes provinciales, territoriales, régionales ou municipales ou selon la plus récente édition de la norme CAN/CSA S6-88 «Calcul des ponts-routes». En général, la charge de calcul doit être de CS-600, mais peut être augmentée ou diminuée en fonction des exigences spéciales.

2.3 Largeur des ponts : Utiliser les chapitres H et C du guide de l'ATC pour déterminer la largeur du pont. Un pont d'une seule voie ne sera envisagé que dans des circonstances spéciales et ne sera en aucun cas accepté lorsque des autobus scolaires doivent l'emprunter.

Date de modification :