First Nations Water Management Strategy

Lead Department(s): Indian and Northern Affairs Canada
Start Date: May 2003 (official announcement)
End Date: March 2008 (end of funding)

Total Federal Funding Allocation: $1.6 billion over 5 years

Description of the Horizontal Initiative (including funding agreement)

INAC and Health Canada (HC) have developed a seven-part First Nations Water Management Strategy (FNWMS) to be implemented over a five-year period, beginning in 2003–2004. The strategy allows for the development and implementation of: (1) a plan to upgrade and build water and waste-water facilities to meet established design, construction and water quality standards with a priority on identified facilities; (2) an effective water quality monitoring program combined with a comprehensive and coordinated compliance and reporting regime that will improve the detection of drinking water problems in a timely manner, thereby reducing the possibility of risk to health; (3) an effective and sustainable operation and maintenance (O&M) program designed to ensure the safety of the residents and the protection of the assets with a priority on identified high-risk facilities; (4) a plan for the continued expansion and enhancement of training programs, to ensure that all operators have the skills, knowledge and experience required to fulfill their responsibilities, supported by the introduction of mandatory certification requirements for all operators; (5) a set of integrated water quality management protocols with clearly defined roles and responsibilities consistent with national performance standards along with improvements in emergency response procedures; (6) a public awareness campaign aimed at informing both First Nation decision-makers of their roles and responsibilities in ensuring the safety of water supplies within their communities and First Nation households of measures they can take to protect the quality of water within their home and community; and (7) a comprehensive set of clearly defined standards, protocols and policies, using a multi-barrier approach.

The strategy will also require the establishment of closer partnerships amongst key federal, provincial/territorial, industry and other public sector partners. These partnerships will assist in areas such as watershed management and source water protection as well as advances in science and technology. Most importantly, the implementation of the strategy and the development of a detailed plan will require close collaboration with First Nations. The strategy is consistent with the broader national approach and is modelled on the enhanced management regimes in place or being implemented in most provinces and territories. The FNWMS includes an additional $600 million in funding over five years (from 2003–2004 to 2007–2008). Of that $600 million, $115.9 million goes to HC for their part in the strategy, while the remaining $484.1 million funds INAC's participation in the strategy. This $600 million in funding is in addition to INAC's normal annual funding to water initiatives in First Nations and HC's Drinking Water Safety Program (DWSP) funds that go to First Nations, which are also included in this template. Combining the FNWMS funds and the normal annual funding by both departments into First Nation water issues, the total federal funding allocated over 5 years will be $1.6 billion.

For more information, see Water Source for Life

Drinking Water Quality  

Shared Outcome(s)

  • Reduction in the health risk level of drinking water in First Nations.
  • Increased awareness of the importance of clean drinking water and the responsibilities involved in keeping it clean.
  • Water standards will be met by all facilities.

Governance Structure(s)

  • Strategic Water Management on Reserve Committee (SWMRC).
  • Interdepartmental Waters ADM Committee (IWAC).
  • Federal Advisory Committee (FAC) on municipal wastewater effluent.
  • Interdepartmental Working Group on Drinking Water (IWGDW).
  • Public Health Indicators Working Group.
  • Regional Water Teams.
  • DG Steering Committee on Public Health
Federal Partners Involved in each Program Names of Programs Total Allocation Planned Spending for 2006–07 Expected Results for 2006–07
INAC First Nations Water Management Strategy $1.471 billion $305.8 million Number of trained or certified operators greater than in the previous year.

Number of high-risk facilities less than in the previous year.
Health Canada Drinking Water Safety Program including the First Nations Water Management Strategy $140.9 million $31.7 million ($5 million A-based and $26.7 million for the FNWMS) Increased ratio of Environmental Health Officers to communities [Note 1]

Increased number of water quality testing and sampling kits [Note 1]

Increased number of communities with trained Community Based Drinking Water Monitors [Note 1]

Increased number and frequency of drinking water quality samples taken and analyzed [Note 1]

Increased number of data analysis reports [Note 1]
Total   $1.6 billion $337.5 million Note 1: relative to baseline prior to the FNWMS


Contact Information

Contact Information
Garry Best
Director, Infrastructure Operations
Les Terrasses de la Chaudière
Room 17 E
Telephone: 819-994-2210
Fax: 819-997-8522
Email: BestG@ainc-inac.gc.ca

Stratégie de gestion de l'eau des Premières nations

Ministères responsables : Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada
Date de mise en œuvre : Mai 2003 (annonce officielle)
Date de clôture : Mars 2008 (fin du financement)

Total des fonds alloués par le gouvernement fédéral : 1,6 milliard de dollars sur cinq ans

Description de l'Initiative horizontale (y compris l'entente de financement)

Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada (AINC) et Santé Canada ont élaboré une stratégie de gestion de l'eau des Premières nations (SGEPN) à sept volets, qui sera mise en œuvre sur une période de cinq ans à partir de 2003–2004.Cette stratégie prévoit l'élaboration et la mise en œuvre des aspects suivants : 1) un plan visant à améliorer les réseaux d'aqueducs et d'égouts et à en construire de nouveaux en se conformant aux normes de conception, de construction et de qualité de l'eau, la priorité étant accordée aux installations considérées à haut risque; 2) un programme efficace de surveillance de la qualité de l'eau allié à un régime global et coordonné de conformité et de rapports permettant de détecter sans tarder les problèmes d'eau potable pour réduire ainsi toute possibilité de risque pour la santé; 3) un programme durable et efficace de fonctionnement et d'entretien (F et E) visant à assurer la sécurité des résidents et la protection des biens, la priorité étant accordée aux installations considérées à haut risque; 4) un plan d'expansion et d'amélioration continues des programmes de formation, pour faire en sorte que tous les opérateurs possèdent les compétences, les connaissances et l'expérience nécessaires pour assumer leurs responsabilités, avec à la clé l'accréditation obligatoire pour tous les opérateurs; 5) une série de protocoles intégrés de gestion de la qualité de l'eau définissant clairement les rôles et responsabilités conformes aux normes de rendement nationales ainsi que et l'amélioration des mesures d'intervention en cas d'urgence; 6) une campagne de sensibilisation du public visant à informer les dirigeants des Premières nations de leurs rôles et de leur responsabilité en matière d'approvisionnement en eau salubre dans leurs collectivités et de faire prendre conscience aux membres des Premières nations des mesures à prendre pour préserver la qualité de l'eau dans leurs foyers et au sein de leurs collectivités; 7) une série exhaustive de normes, de politiques et de protocoles clairement définis, fondée sur une approche à obstacles multiples.

Une telle stratégie exigera également l'établissement d'une collaboration plus étroite entre les principales parties intéressées des gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux, de l'industrie et des autres partenaires du secteur public. Une telles collaboration sera, par exemple, utile dans les domaines de la gestion des bassins hydrographiques et de la protection des eaux à la source et favorisera les progrès scientifiques et technologiques. Et, ce qui est le plus important, la mise en œuvre de la stratégie et l'établissement d'un plan détaillé nécessiteront une collaboration étroite avec les Premières nations. La stratégie est compatible avec l'approche nationale générale et a été calquée sur les systèmes de gestion améliorée déjà en place ou actuellement mis en œuvre dans la plupart des provinces et territoires. Une somme supplémentaire de 600 millions de dollars sur cinq ans (de 2003–2004 à 2007–2008) a été affectée pour la mise en œuvre de la SGEPN. De cette somme, 115,9 millions de dollars seront versés à Santé Canada pour la part apportée à la mise en œuvre de cette stratégie, le reste, à savoir un montant de 484,1 millions de dollars l'étant à AINC pour sa participation. Ces fonds de 600 millions de dollars viennent s'ajouter aux fonds annuels déjà consacrés par AINC aux initiatives liées à l'eau chez les Premières nations et dans le cadre du Programme sur la qualité de l'eau potable (PQEP) de Santé Canada des fonds destinés aux Premières nations, et qui sont comprises dans le présent modèle. Si l'on combine les fonds affectés à la SGEPN et les fonds annuels versés par les deux ministères pour le traitement des questions liées à l'eau, on obtient un financement fédéral total de 1,6 milliard de dollars sur cinq ans.

Pour en savoir plus, rendez-vous à L'eau source de vie

Qualité de l'eau potable  

Résultats communs

  • Réduction des risques associés à l'eau potable au sein des collectivités des Premières nations
  • Meilleure sensibilisation du public à l'importance qu'il y a à assurer la salubrité de l'eau et à celle des responsabilités que cela implique
  • Des installations qui répondent aux normes de qualité de l'eau

Structure(s) de gouvernance

  • Comité de gestion stratégique de l'eau dans les réserves (CGSER)
  • Comité interministériel sur l'eau composé de sous-ministres adjoints (CIECSMA)
  • Comité consultatif fédéral (CSF) sur les effluents municipaux
  • Groupe de travail interministériel sur l'eau potable (GRIEP)
  • Groupe de travail sur les indicateurs de santé publique
  • Équipe régionale chargée des questions relatives à l'eau
  • Comité permanent des DG sur la santé publique
Partenaires fédéraux participants de chaque programme Noms des programmes Total des fonds affectés Dépenses prévues pour 2006–2007 Résultats prévus pour 2006–2007
AINC Stratégie de gestion de l'eau des Premières nations 1,471 milliard de dollars 305,8 millions de dollars Un nombre d'opérateurs formés ou accrédités supérieur à celui de l'année précédente

Un nombre d'installations à haut risque inférieur à celui de l'année précédente
Santé Canada Programme sur la qualité de l'eau potable, comprenant la Stratégie de gestion de l'eau des Premières nations 140,9 millions de dollars 31,7 millions de dollars (5 millions de dollars A-based et 25,7 millions de dollars pour la SGEPN) Augmentation du ratio des officers de Santé Environnementale des Communautés [Note 1]

Augmentation significative du nombre de qualité de testing et d'ensembles d'échantillions [Note 1]

Augmentation du nombre de communauté ayant reçu une formation de « Community Based Drinking Water Monitor » [Note 1]

Augmentation du nombre de fréquences de prélèvements de qualités et d'analyses d'eau [Note 1]

Augmentation du nombre de rapports d'analyses de données [Note 1]
Total   1,6 milliard de dollars 337,5 millions de dollars Note 1: Prélèvements de statistiques relatives avant SGEPN


Personne-ressource

Personne-ressource
Garry Best,
Directeur
Affaires indiennes et du Nord
Directeur, Direction des infrastructure-opérations
Les Terrasses de la Chaudière
Pièce 17E
Téléphone : 819-994-2210
Télécopieur : 819-997-8522
Courriel : BestG@ainc-inac.gc.ca