Collections and Services

Departmental Library

The Departmental Library offers a full range of services to employees at headquarters and in the regions. The Library also serves Aboriginal peoples and Northerners, other government departments, researchers, academics, consultants and the general public.

The Collections

The focal points of the Library's collections are Canadian Aboriginal people and the Canadian North. Other subject areas include Canadian history and law, economic development, governance, the environment, management, public administration, information management and information technology.

We welcome and encourage your suggestions of items we should purchase for our collections. To make a suggestion, contact the Library's Research Desk at (819) 997 0811 or reference@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca.

Library and Archives Canada Record Group 10 (RG 10)

The Departmental Library has microfilm copies of historical records related to Indian Affairs created by the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development and its predecessors. The originals of these records are held at Library and Archives Canada in their Record Group 10  . Visitors may use the Departmental Library's microfilm collection to print images or download them to CD-ROM. There is no charge for printing or downloading. It should be noted that this microfilm collection does not include any protected records (i.e. containing personal or confidential information). These protected records are only available at Library and Archives Canada.

Virtua - the AANDC Library Catalogue

Virtua, the Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) Library Catalogue provides access to Departmental Library collections, as well as to a number of special research collections at headquarters and in the regions.

Virtua is available to both AANDC employees and members of the general public.

The general public may search Virtua by logging on as a Guest.

Employees who are registered with the Departmental Library may use their library barcode as their patron ID and password to log on to Virtua and access additional features. They can access their library account information, renew loans, and request items online to be sent through the departmental mail service. If you do not know your barcode number or do not have one, contact the Library's Circulation Desk at (819) 997-0799 or library@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca.

For help using Virtua, or to arrange a training session, contact the Research Desk at (819) 997-0811 or reference@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca.

Research Desk

Using a wide variety of information resources, the Research Librarians can provide information related to the work of the department. Parliamentary and legislative information is also available.

The Research Librarians can advise you on how to carry out in depth research in the Library's collections and can make referrals to other parts of the department, and to other libraries.

AANDC eLibrary

This service is available to employees only.

The AANDC eLibrary provides employees with desktop access to more than 100 online research tools, including specialized web sites and CD ROMs for which the Departmental Library has licences. The AANDC eLibrary includes full-text and citation databases, parliamentary and legislative sources, more than 10,000 eBooks, online dictionaries, translation guides, as well as other tools. Employees must be logged on to the AANDC network to access the AANDC eLibrary.

For more information, contact the Research Desk at (819) 997-0811 or reference@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca.

Borrowing from the Library

All departmental employees may borrow from the Library. Other clients are welcome to borrow through an interlibrary loan set up through their own office, public or school library.

You can borrow all material from the Library's collections except reference books, rare items, statutes, and some parliamentary publications. Books can be borrowed for four weeks. Government documents and magazines are loaned for one week. DVDs are loaned for five days. Some language learning material is loaned for 60 days.

Employees can request many items electronically through Virtua. These items will be sent through the departmental mail service. Employees can also ask to be put on a waiting list for new items that are on order or for items on loan to other employees. Loan renewals may be possible for items that have not been requested by another client. For loans, renewals and waiting lists, contact the Circulation Desk at (819) 997 0799 or library@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca.

Interlibrary Loans

This service is available to employees only.

If you cannot find what you need in our collections, we can arrange loans and photocopies from other libraries. For interlibrary loans, call (819) 994 1347 or e-mail illpeb@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca.

Magazine and Journal Routing

This service is available to employees at headquarters only.

Many of the Library's 400 current magazine and journal subscriptions are available for routing to employees at headquarters. When you are placed on the routing list for a title, each new issue is automatically loaned to you for several days.

To obtain lists of the Library's current magazines and journals, contact the Research Desk at (819) 997 0811 or reference@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca.

Come Visit Us

We give regular library tours to show clients how the Library's collections and services can help them in their work and research. If you would like to participate in a library tour, contact the Research Desk at (819) 997 0811 or reference@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca.

The Departmental Library is open Monday to Friday 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. EST.

Departmental Library
Room 1400 14th floor
10 Wellington Street
Gatineau, Quebec
K1A 0H4

Departmental Librarian
(819) 997 8205
alainphilippe.bruneau@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Research Desk
(819) 997 0811
reference@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Circulation Desk
(819) 997 0799
library@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Interlibrary Loans
(819) 994 1347
illpeb@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Orders
(819) 997 0811
reference@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

FAX
(819) 953 5491

Collections et services

Bibliothèque ministérielle

La Bibliothèque ministérielle offre un éventail complet de services aux employés de l'Administration centrale et des régions. Elle offre également ses services aux peuples autochtones et résidents du Nord, de même qu'aux autres ministères, aux chercheurs, aux universitaires, aux consultants et au grand public.

Les collections

Les principaux centres d'intérêt des collections de la Bibliothèque sont les peuples autochtones du Canada et le Nord canadien. Parmi les autres sujets, mentionnons l'histoire canadienne et le droit, le développement économique, la gouvernance, l'environnement, la gestion, l'administration publique, la gestion de l'information et la technologie de l'information.

Nous vous encourageons à nous faire parvenir vos suggestions d'achats pour ajout à nos collections. Pour ce faire, contactez le bureau de recherche de la Bibliothèque, au 819 997 0811 ou à l'adresse reference@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca.

Groupe d'archives 10 de Bibliothèques et Archives Canada (RG 10)

La Bibliothèque ministérielle possède des copies sur microfilm de documents historiques relatifs aux Affaires indiennes et créés par le ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien ainsi que par ses prédécesseurs.

Les originaux de ces documents sont conservés à Bibliothèque et Archives Canada dans le groupe d'archives RG 10  . Les visiteurs peuvent utiliser la collection sur microfilm de la Bibliothèque ministérielle pour imprimer des images ou les télécharger sur CD-ROM. L'impression et le téléchargement sont gratuits. Notons que la collection sur microfilm ne comprend aucun document protégé (c. à d. comportant des renseignements personnels ou confidentiels). Ces documents protégés sont disponibles uniquement auprès de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada.

Virtua - le catalogue de la bibliothèque d'AADNC

Virtua, le catalogue de la bibliothèque d'Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC), donne accès aux collections de la Bibliothèque ministérielle, de même qu'à un certain nombre de collections spécialisées conservées à l'Administration centrale et dans les régions.

Virtua est accessible aux employés d'AADNC ainsi qu'aux membres du grand public.

Un membre du grand public peut faire des recherches dans Virtua en entrant dans le système comme invité.

Les employés inscrits à la Bibliothèque ministérielle peuvent utiliser leur code à barres de la bibliothèque comme numéro d'usager et comme mot de passe pour ouvrir une session dans Virtua et accéder à d'autres fonctionnalités. Ils peuvent consulter leur compte de bibliothèque, renouveler leurs prêts et faire des demande en ligne de documents qui peuvent leur être acheminés par le biais du service de courrier ministériel. Si vous ne connaissez pas votre numéro de code à barres ou si vous n'en avez pas, veuillez contacter le comptoir du prêt de la Bibliothèque, au 819 997 0799 ou à l'adresse library@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca.

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour utiliser Virtua ou pour demander une séance de formation, communiquez avec le bureau de recherche, au 819 997 0811 ou à l'adresse reference@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca.

Bureau de recherche

Au moyen d'un vaste éventail de ressources d'information, les bibliothécaires de recherche peuvent fournir de l'information liée au travail du ministère. On peut également obtenir de l'information parlementaire et législative.

Les bibliothécaires de recherche peuvent vous conseiller sur la manière d'effectuer des recherches approfondies dans les collections de la Bibliothèque et vous aiguiller vers d'autres parties du ministère, ou vers d'autres bibliothèques.

La Cyberthèque d'AADNC

Ce service est offert uniquement aux employés.

La Cyberthèque d'AADNC permet aux employés d'accéder, à partir de poste de travail, à plus de 100 outils de recherche en ligne, y compris des sites Web spécialisés et des CD-ROM pour lesquels la Bibliothèque ministérielle détient des droits d'utilisation. La Cyberthèque d'AADNC comprend des bases de données de textes intégraux et de citations, des sources parlementaires et législatives, plus de 10 000 livrels, des dictionnaires en ligne, des guides de traduction ainsi que d'autres outils. Les employés doivent être connectés au réseau d'AADNC pour accéder à la Cyberthèque d'AADNC.

Pour de plus amples détails, veuillez contacter le bureau de recherche, au 819 997 0811 ou à l'adresse reference@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca.

Emprunt auprès de la Bibliothèque

Tous les employés ministériels peuvent faire un emprunt à la Bibliothèque. Les autres clients peuvent également faire un emprunt par le biais du système de prêts interbibliothèques de leur bibliothèque publique ou scolaire.

Tous les documents des collections de la Bibliothèque peuvent être empruntés, sauf les livres de référence, les documents rares, les lois et quelques publications parlementaires. Les prêts peuvent durer quatre semaines. Les documents et magazines du gouvernement sont prêtés pour une semaine, les DVD pour cinq jours, et certains outils d'apprentissage linguistique pour 60 jours.

Les employés peuvent demander bon nombre d'articles par voie électronique en passant par Virtua. Les articles seront expédiés par le service de courrier ministériel. Ils peuvent aussi s'inscrire sur une liste d'attente pour de nouveaux articles commandés ou des articles prêtés à d'autres employés. Il est possible de renouveler un prêt pour des articles non demandés par un autre client. Pour les prêts, les renouvellements et les listes d'attente, veuillez contacter le comptoir du prêt, au 819 997 0799 ou à l'adresse library@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca.

Prêts interbibliothèques

Ce service est offert uniquement aux employés.

Si vous ne trouvez pas ce dont vous avez besoin dans nos collections, nous pouvons prendre des dispositions pour vous les obtenir (emprunts ou photocopies) auprès d'autres bibliothèques. Pour les prêts interbibliothèques, veuillez téléphoner au 819 994 1347 ou écrire à l'adresse illpeb@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca.

Acheminement de magazines et de journaux

Ce service est offert uniquement aux employés de l'Administration centrale.

Il est possible d'acheminer aux employés de l'Administration centrale bon nombre des 400 magazines et journaux auxquels la Bibliothèque est abonnée. Lorsque votre nom figure sur la liste d'acheminement pour un titre, chaque nouveau numéro du périodique en question vous est automatiquement prêté pour quelques jours.

Pour obtenir des listes des magazines et journaux auxquels la Bibliothèque est actuellement abonnée, prière de contacter le bureau de recherche, au 819 997 0811 ou à l'adresse reference@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca.

Venez nous visiter

Nous organisons régulièrement des visites de la Bibliothèque afin de montrer aux clients comment les collections et services peuvent leur être utiles dans leur travail et leurs recherches. Si une visite vous intéresse, vous n'avez qu'à contacter le bureau de recherche, au 819 997 0811 ou à l'adresse reference@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca.

La Bibliothèque ministérielle est ouverte du lundi au vendredi de 8 h 30 à 16 h 30 (HNE).

Bibliothèque ministérielle
Local 1400 - 14e étage
10, rue Wellington
Gatineau (Québec)
K1A 0H4

Bibliothécaire ministériel
819-997 8205
alainphilippe.bruneau@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Bureau de recherche
819-997 0811
reference@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Comptoir du prêt
819-997 0799
library@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Prêts interbibliothèques
819-994 1347
illpeb@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Commande
819-997 0811
reference@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Télécopies
819-953 5491