Frequently Asked Questions - Implementing the TBS Policy and Directive on Transfer Payments at AANDC

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

When did the TBS Policy and Directive on Transfer Payments take effect?

The Policy and Directive on Transfer Payments took effect on October 1st, 2008.

What are the objectives of this Policy and Directive on Transfer Payments?

The Policy and Directive seek to ensure that transfer payment programs are managed with integrity, transparency and accountability; delivered in a manner that is sensitive to risks; are citizen and recipient-focused; and are designed to address government priorities in achieving results for Canadians.

How will implementation of the Policy and Directive change the administration of AANDC’s grants and contributions?

The Policy and Directive will ensure that:

  • Administrative requirements for applicants and recipients are balanced with the level of risk specific to the program, the level of funding, and the risk profile of applicants and recipients;
  • Programs are accessible, understandable and useable for applicants and recipients;
  • There is increased collaboration among departments that fund the same recipients;
  • There are cost-effective oversight and control systems in place at both departmental and government-wide levels.

When did AANDC implement the Policy and Directive on Transfer Payments?

Initial implementation of the Policy and Directive took place on March 31, 2011. AANDC will continue to pursue opportunities for efficiencies and continuous improvements in achieving the objectives of the Policy and Directive.

How does the Policy and Directive on Transfer Payments affect funding agreements?

The Directive   outlines requirements for the standard grant and contribution approaches, as well as three additional contribution funding approaches (fixed, flexible and block approaches) that departments can use for programs for Aboriginal people.

As part of the implementation of the Policy and Directive, AANDC modified and standardized funding agreement models.

Are multi-year agreements possible? 

Yes, multi-year agreements are possible depending on the results of the General Assessment. The flexible and block contribution funding approaches for Aboriginal recipients involve multi-year agreements that may last up to ten years.

What is meant by a risk-based approach?

A risk-based approach differs from a “one-size-fits all” approach, in that transfer payments to recipients are adjusted in accordance with the risk involved in making a particular payment to a recipient. Refer to the General Assessment for more information.

Were there opportunities for Aboriginal recipients to comment on or participate in AANDC’s implementation of the Policy and Directive?

Yes. Formal and informal engagement sessions with recipients were organized by the Aboriginal Financial Officers Association, as well as by AANDC’s regional offices and headquarters. The findings from these sessions helped to shape the various approaches and tools utilized in AANDC’s implementation of the Policy and Directive.

What should recipients be doing to stay informed about the implementation process?

For more information about the implementation of the Policy and Directive on Transfer Payments, visit AANDC’s Transfer Payments website or contact your Funding Services Officer.

Foire aux questions – Mise en œuvre de la Politique et de la Directive du SCT sur les paiements de transfert à AADNC

Quand la Politique et la Directive du SCT sur les paiements de transfert sont-elles entrées en vigueur?

La Politique et la Directive sur les paiements de transfert sont entrées en vigueur le 1er octobre 2008.

Quels sont les objectifs de la Politique et de la Directive sur les paiements de transfert?

La Politique et la Directive font en sorte que les programmes de paiements de transfert soient gérés avec intégrité, transparence et responsabilité et en tenant compte des risques, qu'ils soient axés sur les citoyens et les bénéficiaires et qu'ils soient conçus afin de réaliser les priorités du gouvernement et de produire des résultats pour les Canadiens.

Comment la mise en œuvre de la Politique et de la Directive modifie-t-elle l’administration des subventions et des contributions à AADNC?

La Politique et la Directive garantissent :

  • que les obligations administratives imposées aux demandeurs et aux bénéficiaires sont proportionnelles au niveau de risque que présente le programme, au niveau de financement et au profil de risque des demandeurs et des bénéficiaires;
  • que les programmes sont accessibles, compréhensibles et utiles aux demandeurs et aux bénéficiaires;
  • qu’il existe une plus grande collaboration entre les ministères qui financent les mêmes bénéficiaires;
  • que des systèmes de surveillance et de contrôle économiques sont en place, tant à l'échelle ministérielle que gouvernementale.

Quand AADNC a-t-il mis en œuvre la Politique et la Directive sur les paiements de transfert?

La mise en œuvre a commencé le 31 mars 2011. AADNC continuera à chercher des occasions d’accroître son efficacité et d’améliorer son fonctionnement tout en travaillant à l’atteinte des objectifs de la Politique et de la Directive.

Quelle est l’incidence de la Politique et de la Directive sur les ententes de financement?

La Directive   précise les exigences liées aux modes standards de versement des subventions et des contributions, ainsi qu’à trois autres modes de financement par contribution (fixe, souple et globale) que les ministères peuvent utiliser aux fins des programmes destinés aux Autochtones.

Dans le cadre de la mise en œuvre de la Politique et de la Directive, AADNC a modifié et normalisé les modèles d’ententes de financement.

Peut-on conclure des ententes pluriannuelles? 

Oui, il est possible de conclure des ententes pluriannuelles, en fonction des résultats de l’évaluation générale. Les modes de financement par contribution souple et globale pour les bénéficiaires autochtones sont associés à des ententes de financement pluriannuelles dont la durée peut atteindre dix ans.

Que veut-on dire par approche fondée sur les risques?

L’approche fondée sur les risques n’offre pas de solution universelle, c’est-à-dire que les paiements de transfert sont ajustés en fonction du risque associé à chaque paiement et à chaque bénéficiaire. Pour plus de détails, voir l’évaluation générale.

Les bénéficiaires autochtones ont-ils eu la possibilité de participer à la mise en œuvre de la Politique et de la Directive à AADNC ou de formuler des commentaires à ce sujet?

Oui. Des séances de consultation formelles et informelles avec les bénéficiaires ont été tenues par l’Association des agents financiers autochtones du Canada ainsi que par l’administration centrale et les bureaux régionaux d’AADNC. Le Ministère s’est inspiré des conclusions tirées de ces séances pour définir les approches et les outils qui ont servi à implanter la Politique et la Directive.

Que doivent faire les bénéficiaires pour rester informés du processus de mise en œuvre?

Pour plus d’information au sujet de la mise en œuvre de la Politique et de la Directive sur les paiements de transfert à AADNC, consultez le site Web sur les paiements de transfert du Ministère ou communiquez avec votre agent des services de financement.