Backgrounder - Implementing the TBS Policy and Directive on Transfer Payments at AANDC

In 2006, the Independent Blue Ribbon Panel on Grants and Contributions undertook a review and provided recommendations on how to improve accountability and management of grant and contribution programs.

In response to the Panel’s report, the Treasury Board Secretariat (TBS) developed an action plan to reform the administration of grants and contributions and issued a TBS Policy and Directive on Transfer Payments  . The Policy and Directive apply to all federal departments involved in grant and contribution activities. 

To comply with the TBS Policy and Directive, Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) made administrative changes to departmental business processes, program terms and conditions and funding agreement requirements.

Guided by this policy, AANDC’s work involves enhancing:

  • Recipient engagement in the design or re-design of a program;
  • Departmental service standards;
  • Flexible funding relationships with recipients;
  • Opportunities to harmonize our funding agreements with those of other federal departments to help reduce the reporting burden for recipients.

Additional Information:

Document d'information – Mise en œuvre de la Politique et de la Directive du SCT sur les paiements de transfert à AADNC

En 2006, le Groupe d'experts indépendant sur les subventions et les contributions a réalisé un examen en vue de recommander des façons d’améliorer la gestion des programmes de subventions et de contributions et la reddition de comptes à leur sujet.

En réponse au rapport du groupe d’experts, le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor (SCT) a dressé un plan d’action afin de réformer l’administration des subventions et des contributions et publié une Politique et une Directive sur les paiements de transfert  . La Politique et la Directive s’appliquent à tous les ministères fédéraux qui mènent des activités liées aux subventions et aux contributions.

Pour se conformer à la Politique et à la Directive du SCT, Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) a apporté des modifications d’ordre administratif à ses processus opérationnels, aux conditions des programmes et exigences des ententes de financement.

Sous le régime de la Politique, AADNC s’efforce d’améliorer :

  • l’engagement des bénéficiaires dans la conception ou la refonte des programmes;
  • les normes de service ministérielles;
  • la souplesse de la relation de financement avec les bénéficiaires;
  • les occasions d’harmoniser ses ententes de financement avec celles des autres ministères fédéraux afin de contribuer à réduire les exigences en matière de rapports imposées aux bénéficiaires.

Autres renseignements