Background - Grants and Contributions Information Management System

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) has primary, but not exclusive, responsibility for meeting the federal government's constitutional, treaty, political and legal responsibilities to First Nations, Inuit, Métis and Northerners. To fulfill this mandate, AANDC works collaboratively with First Nations, Inuit, Métis and Northerners, as well as with other federal departments, agencies, provinces and territories. 

Consistent with the Department's evolving role from direct service delivery to a program funding agency, AANDC has established multi-department funding agreements, such as the Canada/First Nations Funding Agreement, in addition to other transfer payment instruments. Transfer payments are made to First Nations, Inuit, Métis and Northerners and their organizations to enable the delivery of essential services to their respective community members, in accordance with Treasury Board's Policy on Transfer Payments and AANDC's internal accountability, performance reporting and evaluation requirements. The Grants and Contribution Information Management System (GCIMS) is intended to apply technology to transform business processes in support of administrative and program devolution. The system builds upon the ongoing work to improve governance and accountability, by using technology as a means to create an on-line business environment that fosters integrated service delivery, helps develop enhanced financial management tools for communities (e.g., financial tracking and forecasting), and improve accountability by providing better financial and non-financial reporting capabilities.

 

FNITP and the Blue Ribbon Panel

In 2006, the Government announced the creation of an independent blue-ribbon panel, mandated to recommend measures to make the delivery of government grant and contribution programs more efficient, while ensuring accountability. This panel published its final report - The Report of the Independent Blue Ribbon Panel on Grants and Contribution Programs: From Red Tape to Clear Results - in December 2006.

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada initiated the FNITP project (since renamed GCIMS) – it is mentioned in The Government of Canada Action Plan to Reform the Administration of Grant and Contribution Programs . GCIMS has been recognized as aiding in promoting greater accountability - one of the Government of Canada's top priorities.  Work is on-going with other Government Departments towards improving Grants and Contribution to First Nations and for enhanced transparency and accountability.

Contexte - Système de gestion d’information des subventions et contributions

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) exerce la responsabilité principale, mais non exclusive, de s'acquitter des obligations constitutionnelles, issues de traités, politiques et légales du gouvernement fédéral envers les Premières Nations, les Inuits, les Métis et les nordistes. Pour réaliser ce mandat, AADNC travaille en collaboration avec les Premières Nations, les Inuits, les Métis et les nordistes, ainsi qu'avec d'autres ministères et organismes fédéraux, les provinces et les territoires.

De façon compatible avec le rôle de prestation de services directs évoluant vers un organisme de financement de programmes, AADNC a établi des ententes de financement pluri-ministérielles, comme l'entente de financement Canada-Premières Nations, en plus des autres instruments de paiements de transfert. Les paiements de transfert sont versés aux Premières Nations, aux Inuits, aux Métis et aux nordistes et à leurs organisations pour permettre la prestation des services essentiels aux membres de leurs communautés respectives, conformément à la politique du Conseil du Trésor sur les paiements de transfert et aux exigences d'AADNC en matière de rapports et d'évaluation du rendement interne. Système de gestion d’information des subventions et contributions (SGISC) vise à appliquer la technologie pour transformer les processus opérationnels à l'appui du transfert des responsabilités administratives et liées aux programmes. Le système mise sur le travail en cours pour améliorer la gouvernance et l'imputabilité en appliquant la technologie comme un moyen de créer un environnement opérationnel en ligne qui encourage la prestation intégrée des services, aide à développer de meilleurs outils de gestion financière pour les communautés (p. ex. suivi financier et prévision), et améliore l'imputabilité en offrant de meilleures capacités de rapports financiers et non financiers.

 

PTPNI et Comité de spécialistes

En 2006, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé la création d'un Groupe d'experts indépendant, chargé de recommander des mesures pour rendre la prestation des programmes de subventions et contributions du gouvernment fédéral plus efficiente, tout en assurant une meilleure imputabilité. En décembre 2006, le groupe a publié son rapport final, le Rapport du Groupe d'experts indépendant sur les programmes de subventions et de contributions du gouvernement fédéral : Des lourdeurs administratives à des résultats clairs.

En partenariat avec le SCT et quelques autres ministères, AADNC a lancé le projet des PTPNI – (depuis renommé SGISC) il est mentionné dans le Plan d'action du gouvernement du Canada pour réformer l'administration des programmes de subventions et contributions. Les SGISC ont été reconnus comme aidant à promouvoir une meilleure imputabilité – une des priorités du gouvernement du Canada. Du travail est en cours avec d'autres ministères fédéraux en vue d’améliorer les subventions et contributions aux Premières Nations et assurer plus de transparence et d'imputabilité.