About Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada

Mission

Working together to make Canada a better place for Indigenous and northern peoples and communities.

Mandate

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) supports Indigenous peoples (First Nations, Inuit and Métis) and northern peoples in their efforts to:

  • improve social well-being and economic prosperity
  • develop healthier, more sustainable communities
  • participate more fully in Canada's political, social and economic development — to the benefit of all Canadians

INAC is one of 34 federal government departments responsible for meeting the Government of Canada's obligations and commitments to First Nations, Inuit and Métis, and for fulfilling the federal government's constitutional responsibilities in the North. INAC's responsibilities are largely determined by numerous statutes, negotiated agreements and relevant legal decisions. Most of INAC's programs and spending are delivered through partnerships with Indigenous communities and federal-provincial or federal-territorial agreements. INAC also works with urban Indigenous peoples, Métis and Non-Status Indians (many of whom live in rural areas).

INAC's mandate is derived from a number of sources including:

INAC is also mandated to work with First Nations to implement legislation designed to provide them with jurisdictional powers outside of the Indian Act. INAC's mandate is further defined by specific statutes enabling modern treaties and self-government agreements and implementation of those agreements. Learn more about these Laws and regulations.

Indigenous Affairs

INAC negotiates comprehensive and specific claims as well as self-government agreements on behalf of the Government of Canada. INAC is responsible for implementing its obligations under these agreements and processes, as well as overseeing the implementation of obligations of other government departments flowing from these agreements. INAC also:

  • provides support for services on reserves such as education, housing, community infrastructure and social support to Status Indians on reserves
  • administers the land management component of the Indian Act
  • executes other regulatory duties under the Indian Act.

The Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs acts as the Government of Canada's primary interlocutor for Métis, Non-Status Indians and urban Indigenous peoples. INAC also serves as a focal point for Inuit issues, which supports the inclusion of Inuit-specific concerns in federal program and policy development.

Northern Affairs

Through its Northern Affairs mandate, INAC is the lead federal department for two-fifths of Canada's landmass, with a direct role in the political and economic development of the territories and significant responsibilities for science, land and environmental management. In the North, the territorial governments generally provide the majority of social programs and services to all Northerners, including Indigenous peoples.

The Canadian High Arctic Research Station Act, which came into force on June 1, 2015, established Polar Knowledge Canada as a new federal research organization. This new organization combines the mandate and functions previously held by the Canadian Polar Commission and the Canadian High Arctic Research Station's Science and Technology Program, which was formerly led by INAC. The organization is responsible for advancing Canada's knowledge of the Arctic and strengthening Canadian leadership in polar science and technology.

Find out more

Date modified:

À propos d'Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada

Mission

Travailler ensemble pour faire du Canada un meilleur endroit pour les peuples et communautés autochtones et les résidants du Nord

Mandat

Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) soutient les Autochtones (Premières Nations, Inuits et Métis) et les résidants du Nord dans leurs efforts pour :

  • améliorer leur bien-être social et leur prospérité économique;
  • établir des collectivités saines et plus durables;
  • participer davantage au développement politique, social et économique du Canada — au bénéfice de tous les Canadiens.

AANC est l'un des 34 ministères fédéraux responsables d'aider le gouvernement à respecter ses obligations et ses engagements envers les Premières Nations, les Inuits et les Métis ainsi qu'à remplir ses responsabilités constitutionnelles dans le Nord. Ses responsabilités sont largement établies par un grand nombre de textes législatifs, d'accords négociés et de décisions légales. La plupart des programmes et des dépenses d'AANC sont exécutés dans le cadre de partenariats avec des collectivités autochtones ou d'accords fédéraux provinciaux ou fédéraux territoriaux AANC soutient également les Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain, les Métis et les Indiens non inscrits (dont bon nombre habitent dans des régions rurales).

Le mandat d'AANC est dérivé d'un certain nombre de sources, notamment :

AANC a également pour mandat de travailler avec les Premières Nations en vue de mettre en œuvre les dispositions législatives visant à leur conférer des pouvoirs à l'extérieur de la Loi sur les Indiens. Le mandat d'AANC est par ailleurs défini par des lois spécifiques qui mettent en vigueur des traités modernes et des accords sur l'autonomie gouvernementale. Apprenez-en davantage sur ces Lois et règlements.

Affaires autochtones

AANC négocie et met en œuvre, au nom du gouvernement du Canada, des ententes sur le règlement des revendications globales et particulières et des ententes et des processus sur l'autonomie gouvernementale, et il supervise la mise en œuvre des règlements sur les revendications. De plus, AANC :

  • soutient les services offerts dans les réserves, notamment au niveau de l'éducation, du développement économique, du logement, de l'infrastructure publique et de l'aide sociale aux Indiens inscrits sur les réserves;
  • administre le volet de la Loi sur les Indiens concernant les terres;
  • s'acquitte d'autres attributions réglementaires précisées dans la Loi sur les Indiens.

Le ministre d'Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada est également le principal intervenant fédéral auprès des Métis, des Indiens non inscrits et des Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain. AANC sert également de point central pour les questions relatives aux Inuit, ce qui comprend l'inclusion des préoccupations propres aux Inuits dans l'élaboration des programmes et des politiques au gouvernement fédéral.

Affaires du Nord

Dans le cadre de son mandat d’Affaires du Nord, AANC est le ministère fédéral responsable des deux cinquièmes de la masse continentale du Canada, avec un rôle direct dans le développement politique et économique des territoires et d'importantes responsabilités liées à la gestion des sciences, des terres et de l'environnement. Dans le Nord, ce sont les gouvernements territoriaux qui, de façon générale, fournissent la majorité des programmes et des services destinés à tous les résidants du Nord, y compris aux Autochtones.

La Loi sur la Station canadienne de recherche dans l'Extrême-Arctique, qui est entrée en vigueur le 1er juin 2015, a mis sur pied Savoir polaire Canada, une nouvelle organisation de recherche fédérale. Cette nouvelle organisation combine le mandat et les fonctions effectuées auparavant la Commission canadienne des affaires polaires et le programme de sciences et de technologie de la Station de recherche du Canada dans l'Extrême-Arctique, dirigé auparavant par AANC. L'organisation est chargée de faire avancer le savoir du Canada à l'égard de l'Arctique et de renforcer le leadership du Canada en matière de science et de technologie polaires.

Pour en savoir plus

Date de modification :