Treaty Guide to Treaty No. 10 (1906)

Treaty No. 10. Covers 220,000 square kilometres of northern Saskatchewan and Alberta. Unlike the land in southern Saskatchewan, the Treaty 10 lands were deemed unsuitable for agriculture and so the federal government did not respond to demands from the region's Native people for a treaty until the early 20th century, when the mixed-blood people of northern Saskatchewan began to demand compensation for loss of aboriginal rights and the Provinces of Saskatchewan and Alberta had been created.

Read a historical interpretation of the treaty in Treaty Research Report: Treaty Ten

Look at a typed transcript of the Treaties Ten text.

View a map of Canada in 1906 (PDF 2,027 Kb).

Find more resources in Bibliography by Treaty: Treaty Ten