Yukon History and Statistics


This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

The Yukon is home to about 33,000 people, based in 16 communities spread over 483,450 square kilometers. About ¾ of the population lives in the capital city of Whitehorse. All communities lie south of the Arctic Circle. All but one can be reached by road year-round. Old Crow has air access only. For Yukon at a Glance   provides more information about the Yukon's history, cultures and economy