The Nations

Whapmagoostui First Nation

Residents The term "residents" means that the persons reside in the community to which they are affiliated. ?

Non-residents The term "non-residents" means that the persons do not reside in the community to which they are affiliated. ?

865 133 998
The term "toponym" generally refers to reserves, Indian lands, establishments or other land bases. ?
Community Name:
" Community name " The choice of a name belongs to the community itself, which explains the unilingual presentation of certain names. ?
Whapmagoostui First Nation
Legal Name:
The corporate name of a company or a civil company (i.e. its name) is often made of credits, which name in a general way the company or the civil company, and of specific, which distinguishes this company from the others. ?
Whapmagoostui First Nation
Chief: Louisa Mamianskum Wynne
  • John Shem (Vice Chief)
  • Jacob Dick
  • Rachel Kawapit
  • Patricia Kawapit George
  • William Kawapit
  • Rita Sheshamush Masty
  • Ruth Masty-Shem
  • Elijah Sandy
Adress: P.O. Box 390
Whapmagoostui (Quebec) J0M 1G0
Phone: 819 929-3384
Fax: 819 929-3203
Tribal Council:
Tribal Councils are defined as institutions established as a grouping of bands with common interests who voluntarily join together to provide advisory and/or program services to member bands. ?
The Grand Council of the Crees (Eeyou Istchee)
Type of Territory: Lands of category 1A in accordance with the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement
Surface: 20,465 hectares (50,570.12 acres)
Localisation: The community is located where the Great Whale River flows into Hudson Bay.
Access: Year-round road access and located between 50 and 350 kilometres from the nearest service center.
Elections: Custom code (Cree-Naskapi Act)
Member of Parliament: Romeo Saganash, New Democratic Party (NDP)
Provincial MNA: Jean Boucher, Quebec Liberal Party (QLP)

 Return to map