The Nations

Conseil des Atikamekw de Wemotaci

Residents The term "residents" means that the persons reside in the community to which they are affiliated. ?

Non-residents The term "non-residents" means that the persons do not reside in the community to which they are affiliated. ?

1,446 476 1,922
The term "toponym" generally refers to reserves, Indian lands, establishments or other land bases. ?
Community Name:
" Community name " The choice of a name belongs to the community itself, which explains the unilingual presentation of certain names. ?
Conseil des Atikamekw de Wemotaci
Legal Name:
The corporate name of a company or a civil company (i.e. its name) is often made of credits, which name in a general way the company or the civil company, and of specific, which distinguishes this company from the others. ?
Conseil des Atikamekw de Wemotaci
Chief: François Néashit
  • Alexandra Awashish
  • Alfred Birothé
  • Guy Laloche
  • Lisanne Petiquay
  • Jean-Pierre Petiquay
  • Viviane Chilton
Adress: P.O. Box 221
Wemotaci (Quebec) G0X 3R0
Phone: 819 666-2237
Fax: 819 666-2209
Tribal Council:
Tribal Councils are defined as institutions established as a grouping of bands with common interests who voluntarily join together to provide advisory and/or program services to member bands. ?
Conseil de la nation Atikamekw
Type of Territory: Indian reserves
  • Wemotaci: 3,226 hectares (7,971.4 acres)
  • Coucoucache: 5.8 hectares (14.3 acres)
  • Wemotaci is located on the north shore of the Saint-Maurice River, 100 kilometres northwest of La Tuque.
  • Coucoucache is located on the north shore of the Saint-Maurice River and the Blanc Reservoir, 53 kilometres northwest of La Tuque (uninhabited).
Access: Year-round road access and located between 50 and 350 kilometres from the nearest service center.
Elections: Custom Code
Member of Parliament: François-Philippe Champagne, Liberal Party of Canada (LPC)
Provincial MNA: Julie Boulet, Quebec Liberal Party (QLP)

 Return to map