The Nations

Cree Nation of Wemindji

Residents The term "residents" means that the persons reside in the community to which they are affiliated. ?

Non-residents The term "non-residents" means that the persons do not reside in the community to which they are affiliated. ?

1,400 185 1,585
The term "toponym" generally refers to reserves, Indian lands, establishments or other land bases. ?
Community Name:
" Community name " The choice of a name belongs to the community itself, which explains the unilingual presentation of certain names. ?
Cree Nation of Wemindji
Legal Name:
The corporate name of a company or a civil company (i.e. its name) is often made of credits, which name in a general way the company or the civil company, and of specific, which distinguishes this company from the others. ?
Cree Nation of Wemindji
Chief: Christina Gilpin
  • Arden Visitor (Vice-Chief)
  • Elmer Georgekish
  • Bradley A.J Georgekish
  • Paul John Murdoch
  • Stanley Shashweskum
  • Ernest Tomatuk

21 Hilltop Drive
P.O Box 60
Wemindji, Quebec, Canada, J0M 1L0

Phone: 819 978-0264
819 978-0265
Fax: 819 978-0258
Tribal Council:
Tribal Councils are defined as institutions established as a grouping of bands with common interests who voluntarily join together to provide advisory and/or program services to member bands. ?
The Grand Council of the Crees (Eeyou Istchee)
Type of Territory: Lands of category 1A in accordance with the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement
Surface: 3,266 hectares (8,070.46 acres)
Localisation: The community is located on the eastern shore of James Bay, 50 kilometres south of Chisasibi.
Access: Year-round road access and located between 50 and 350 kilometres from the nearest service center.
Elections: Custom code (Cree-Naskapi Act)
Member of Parliament: Romeo Saganash, New Democratic Party (NDP)
Provincial MNA: Jean Boucher, Quebec Liberal Party (QLP)

 Return to map