The Nations


Residents The term "residents" means that the persons reside in the community to which they are affiliated. ?

Non-residents The term "non-residents" means that the persons do not reside in the community to which they are affiliated. ?

1,592 595 2,187
The term "toponym" generally refers to reserves, Indian lands, establishments or other land bases. ?
Community Name:
" Community name " The choice of a name belongs to the community itself, which explains the unilingual presentation of certain names. ?
Legal Name:
The corporate name of a company or a civil company (i.e. its name) is often made of credits, which name in a general way the company or the civil company, and of specific, which distinguishes this company from the others. ?
Chief: Marcel Happyjack
  • Mandy Gull (Vice-chef)
  • Bianca Albert
  • Allan L. Cooper
  • Michael Grant
  • John Jolly
  • Marlene L. Kitchen
  • Marcel Martin
  • Andy Metabie
Adress: 1, Chief Louis R.Gull Street
Waswanipi (Québec) J0Y 3C0
Phone: 819 753-2587
819 753-2805
Fax: 819 753-2555
Tribal Council:
Tribal Councils are defined as institutions established as a grouping of bands with common interests who voluntarily join together to provide advisory and/or program services to member bands. ?
The Grand Council of the Crees (Eeyou Istchee)
Type of Territory: Lands of category 1A in accordance with the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement
Surface: 36,451 hectares (90,072.38 acres)
Localisation: The community is located 154 kilometres west of Chibougamau, on the banks of the Waswanipi and Chibougamau rivers.
Access: Year-round road access and located between 50 and 350 kilometres from the nearest service center.
Elections: Custom code (Cree-Naskapi Act)
Member of Parliament: Romeo Saganash, New Democratic Party (NDP)
Provincial MNA: Jean Boucher, Quebec Liberal Party (QLP)

 Return to map