The Nations


Residents The term "residents" means that the persons reside in the community to which they are affiliated. ?

Non-residents The term "non-residents" means that the persons do not reside in the community to which they are affiliated. ?

296 2,166 2,462
The term "toponym" generally refers to reserves, Indian lands, establishments or other land bases. ?
Community Name:
" Community name " The choice of a name belongs to the community itself, which explains the unilingual presentation of certain names. ?
Legal Name :
The corporate name of a company or a civil company (i.e. its name) is often made of credits, which name in a general way the company or the civil company, and of specific, which distinguishes this company from the others.
Conseil des Abénakis d'Odanak
Chief: Richard O'Bomsawin
  • Claire O'Bomsawin
  • Jacques Thériault Watso
  • Alain O'Bomsawin
  • Florence Benedict
Adress: 104, Sibosis Street
Odanak (Quebec) J0G 1H0
Phone: 450 568-2810
Fax: 450 568-3553
Tribal Council:
Tribal Councils are defined as institutions established as a grouping of bands with common interests who voluntarily join together to provide advisory and/or program services to member bands. ?
Grand Conseil de la Nation Waban-Aki
Type of Territory: Indian Reserve
Surface: 567 hectares (1 401.1 acres)
Localisation: The community is located beside the Saint-François River, 32 kilometres east of Sorel and lies adjacent to the municipality of Pierreville.
Access: Year-round road access and located less than 50 kilometres from the nearest service center.
Elections: Indian Act
Member of Parliament: Louis Plamondon, Bloc québécois (BQ)
Provincial MNA: Donald Martel, Coalition Avenir Québec (CAQ)

 Return to map