The Nations

Cree Nation of Mistissini

Residents The term "residents" means that the persons reside in the community to which they are affiliated. ?

Non-residents The term "non-residents" means that the persons do not reside in the community to which they are affiliated. ?

3,618 374 3,992
The term "toponym" generally refers to reserves, Indian lands, establishments or other land bases. ?
Community Name:
" Community name " The choice of a name belongs to the community itself, which explains the unilingual presentation of certain names. ?
Cree Nation of Mistissini
Legal Name:
The corporate name of a company or a civil company (i.e. its name) is often made of credits, which name in a general way the company or the civil company, and of specific, which distinguishes this company from the others. ?
Cree Nation of Mistissini
Chief: Richard Shecapio
  • Gerald Longchap (Vice chief)
  • Noah Coonishish
  • William P. Macleod
  • Jerry Matoush
  • Alfred Coonishish
  • Shawn Iserhoff
  • Maggie M. Spencer
  • Lucy Trapper
Adress: Isaac Shecapio Sr. Administration Building,
187 Main Street
Mistissini (Quebec) G0W 1C0
Phone: 418 923-3461
418 923-3253
Fax: 418 923-3115
Tribal Council:
Tribal Councils are defined as institutions established as a grouping of bands with common interests who voluntarily join together to provide advisory and/or program services to member bands. ?
The Grand Council of the Crees (Eeyou Istchee)
Type of Territory: Lands of category 1A in accordance with the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement
Surface: 85,434 hectares (211,112.01 acres)
Localisation: The community is located 130 kilometres northeast of Chibougamau, on the shore of Lake Mistassini.
Access: Year-round road access and located between 50 and 350 kilometres from the nearest service center.
Elections: Custom code (Cree-Naskapi Act)
Member of Parliament: Romeo Saganash, New Democratic Party (NDP)
Provincial MNA: Jean Boucher, Quebec Liberal Party (QLP)

 Return to map