The Nations

Mohawks of Kahnawá:ke

Residents The term "residents" means that the persons reside in the community to which they are affiliated. ?

Non-residents The term "non-residents" means that the persons do not reside in the community to which they are affiliated. ?

7,975 3,007 10,982
The term "toponym" generally refers to reserves, Indian lands, establishments or other land bases. ?
Community Name:
" Community name " The choice of a name belongs to the community itself, which explains the unilingual presentation of certain names. ?
Kahnawá:ke Band
Legal Name The corporate name of a company or a civil company (i.e. its name) is often made of credits, which name in a general way the company or the civil company, and of specific, which distinguishes this company from the others. ?: Mohawk of Kahnawá:ke
Chief: Joseph Tokwiro Norton
  • Gina Deer
  • William (Billy) Diabo
  • Carl Horn
  • Rhonda Kirby
  • Martin Leborgne
  • Kenneth McComber
  • Kahsennenhawe Sky Deer
  • Christine Zachary-Deom
  • Arlene Jacobs
  • Robert Jr. Patton
  • Clinton Phillips
Adress: P.O. Box 720
Kahnawake (Quebec) J0L 1B0
Phone: 450 632-7500
450 632-8766
Fax: 450 638-5958
Tribal Council:
Tribal Councils are defined as institutions established as a grouping of bands with common interests who voluntarily join together to provide advisory and/or program services to member bands. ?
Type of Territory: Indian reserves
  • Kahnawake Reserve: 4 811 hectares (11 888 acres)
  • Doncaster Reserve (uninhabited): 7 900 hectares (19 520.9 acres)
  • Kahnawake is located 10 kilometres southwest of Montréal on the south shore of Lake Saint-Louis.
  • Doncaster is located north-west of Lac des Îles, 14 kilometres from Sainte-Agathe-des-Monts; it is uninhabited.

Year-round road access and located less than 50 kilometres from the nearest service centre.

Elections: Custom code
Member of Parliament: Jean-Claude Poissant, Liberal Party of Canada (LPC)
La Prairie
Provincial MNA: Pierre Moreau, Quebec Liberal Party (QLP)

 Return to map